We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good coffee shop”
Review of The Blue Lobster

The Blue Lobster
Ranked #5 of 6 Quick Bites in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
Description: opened in July 2017 we are a small family run business in the heart of Stornoway. A small coffee bar selling a delicious selection of Barista coffees and fresh homemade baking with just a few seats to sit in or takeaway available. A small shared courtyard is available to enjoy the views of Stornoway inner harbour, marina & Lews Castle grounds with it’s seals and Herons. Also a well stocked interiors and gift shop with interesting items from current popular design companies and local artisans.
Restaurant details
Description: opened in July 2017 we are a small family run business in the heart of Stornoway. A small coffee bar selling a delicious selection of Barista coffees and fresh homemade baking with just a few seats to sit in or takeaway available. A small shared courtyard is available to enjoy the views of Stornoway inner harbour, marina & Lews Castle grounds with it’s seals and Herons. Also a well stocked interiors and gift shop with interesting items from current popular design companies and local artisans.
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We only had coffee but it was lovely sat on the outside tables watching the coming and going s in the local harbour
They also have a nice range of candles and other home wares

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank LydiaM615
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

The coffees are great and I cannot compliment the baked produce enough. Absolutely incredible. I only met with 2 members of staff (I'm not 100% sure how many people are employed there) but both members of staff were polite, friendly and attentive. Very nice surrounding views and shop within the premises.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Scenic741315
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Struggled to find a decent coffee shop in the centre of Stornoway and came across this place by chance.
Right on the harbour front with an enclosed outside seating area and west facing so a great view of the harbour and the sun too.
Modern shabby chic interior and window and bench seating with a range or quality souvenirs and nic-nacs on sale.
The coffee is first rate and the range of scones and cakes to go with it is great. I can recommend the macaroon cakes!
Not long opened (Mid 17) and finding their way but wouldn't be out of place in the posher big city environment.
I cannot compliment the staff enough. I only had two days in Stornoway on a cycling trip but their attentive and interested nature made me feel very welcome and looked after, indeed my late afternoon arrival on the second day meant there were no scones left, but they manged to find a couple out at the back and they were delicious.
A visit here will ensure a great cup of coffee, and a decent size too at a very reasonable price and if you're lucky with the weather a great seat looking at the boats in the harbour.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Blue Lobster also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to The Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.