We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis!”
Review of Library Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Library Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: This cafe is tied to the main town library
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An Oasis!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Modern and attractive building, near the Quay.
Upstairs and to the Restaurant overlooking the Harbour and Ferry Terminal.
Had the soup and sandwich deal ( excellent )served by charming staff.
There was no rush for us to leave, and our water jug, constantly replenished.
Well done!

Helpful?
Thank Perersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For the 8 years I have been in Stornoway, this is by far my favourite place to come for an inexpensive bowl of soup and some bread. Additional sarnies with sumptuous fillings are available for quite a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,580 reviews
639 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 725 helpful votes
“What a great idea - a cafe in a library.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Having been here a couple of times and seeing how popular it is with the locals, I can't understand why more libraries don't provide this sort of amenity.

The cafe is centrally located, bright and airy, and serves a good selection of reasonably priced snacks as well as teas and coffees. A great place to meet up with friends or simply to take the load of your feet.

Says it all really!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Only visited once as the location is uninspiring but found it well worth while and will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy soup and cakes”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We went after a few recommendations on trip advisor, wanted a simple lunch - there's not a lot in Stornaway, this was fab, lovely friendly staff I had soup which was delish, hubby had cheese toastie, loadsa cheese. Kids came in and we all had cakes which were really really good. Would def go back .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicinix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Library Cafe also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing