We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Lunch.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County

The County
Ranked #23 of 39 Restaurants in Stornoway
Cuisines: Indian, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Also a hotel, but I want to be able to review it as a restaurant - without details of a stay
highlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Four of us had lunch last week in the hotel restaurant. Service was noticeably quick and efficient, and before long we enjoyed a choice of food. We each chose something different, and we were all satisfied with our own selection. It's the sort of place I wouldn't hesitate to use again, should I have freinds in town. If I was to be a little critical of just one thing I wasn't exactly blown away with the choice of a House white wine, the Sauvingion Blanc. But, Hey! I'm a red drinker anyway. Yes I'd go back here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siarachHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    11
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh dear, nothing nice at all!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Decided against going with the curry menu as we were due on a flight. What a mistake! We ordered the cheeseburger and chicken fajitas from the very hard to locate waiting staff. The cheeseburger was cold, and the fajitas were ...horrible. The sauce was full of crunchy fajita mix. Couldn't find anyone to complain to. Finally managed to settle the bill and made a run for it.

Helpful?
3 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Andrews
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good fallback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The County Hotel is centrally located in Stornoway, and offers its diners tables within a converted pub setting. First impressions might not offer much expectation of fine dining, but this is deceptive. The County has a recommended curry menu which I have not tried, but my own experiences involve booking a standard dinner with business colleagues when other locations were fully-booked. As a result, I have been surprised by the reliability and quality of its ordinary menu. Nothing too exotic, but well-cooked and well-presented fresh local produce: the fish is highly recommended. Service is attentive and the wine list satisfatory and reasonably priced, as is the food. You would perhaps not want to choose this restaurant for a special occasion, since the atmosphere is always quite busy, but as a relaible fallback the County Hotel provides an excellent standby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee - the lobby is a nice place to relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very enjoyable place to have a coffee or a drink in the lobby. The hotel is away from the main shopping area. The only drawback I can see is the smell - Indian dishes form part of the hotels menu and there is a strong odour of Indian spices. Which some people may find off putting. I cannot comment on the rooms as I haven't stayed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 426Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very average Indian. I've eaten in many Indians and to be honest the taste of the food is very different to others. I would not choose this place if eating with friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank findals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The County also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing