We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch in Stornoway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County

The County
Ranked #27 of 40 Restaurants in Stornoway
Cuisines: Indian, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Also a hotel, but I want to be able to review it as a restaurant - without details of a stay
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch in Stornoway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The county attracts a varied cliental, so appeals to locals and visitors. Average pub grub with a nice chicken and vegetable curry sold here after 2 pm.

Slow service but this will be due to a very hard working dark haired young lady in here, while her other two workmates moved at an exceptionally slow pace,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fawkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    11
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The County, Stornoway, August 2014.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, so ate here each night. Very impressed with the Curry menu. I had the Garlic Chicken curry on the first night, and a Chicken Dopiaza on the second night. Both were delicious. The 3rd night (Sunday) was a small traditional menu so I had the Cheeseburger which was alright but nothing special. Definitely come here for the curry though, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Four of us had lunch last week in the hotel restaurant. Service was noticeably quick and efficient, and before long we enjoyed a choice of food. We each chose something different, and we were all satisfied with our own selection. It's the sort of place I wouldn't hesitate to use again, should I have freinds in town. If I was to be a little critical of just one thing I wasn't exactly blown away with the choice of a House white wine, the Sauvingion Blanc. But, Hey! I'm a red drinker anyway. Yes I'd go back here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siarachHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Oh dear, nothing nice at all!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Decided against going with the curry menu as we were due on a flight. What a mistake! We ordered the cheeseburger and chicken fajitas from the very hard to locate waiting staff. The cheeseburger was cold, and the fajitas were ...horrible. The sauce was full of crunchy fajita mix. Couldn't find anyone to complain to. Finally managed to settle the bill and made a run for it.

Helpful?
3 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Andrews
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good fallback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The County Hotel is centrally located in Stornoway, and offers its diners tables within a converted pub setting. First impressions might not offer much expectation of fine dining, but this is deceptive. The County has a recommended curry menu which I have not tried, but my own experiences involve booking a standard dinner with business colleagues when other locations were fully-booked. As a result, I have been surprised by the reliability and quality of its ordinary menu. Nothing too exotic, but well-cooked and well-presented fresh local produce: the fish is highly recommended. Service is attentive and the wine list satisfatory and reasonably priced, as is the food. You would perhaps not want to choose this restaurant for a special occasion, since the atmosphere is always quite busy, but as a relaible fallback the County Hotel provides an excellent standby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The County also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing