We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay in Stornoway” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overnight stay in Stornoway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked on-line and thought the cost was relatively high. Arrived shortly after 9.00 and during check-in I asked if i could go through for dinner. Told quite clearly that the restaurant had finished serving or taking new tables. Thought this was a little strange as the restaurant was clearly busy with diners at differing stages of their meal. If you are proclaiming to be one of the leading hotels in Stornoway you must surely be able to serve dinner to residents, at what in the rest of Europe, is just the time most people start their evening meal

All was not lost, the hotel provides a list of local restaurants and take aways... I wonder why!!! Canny Chinese family opened a great take away which is only 30 seconds walk from the reception. I wonder why they opened there.........

Waken up and start treating your guests who are regularly paying in excess of £100 for B&B with the hospitality that Scottish hotels should be known for,

Room was OK but nothing special, a little dated with huge plastic corner bath, fake gold taps and poor shower. Stick to what the budget chains offer, good powerful shower in very simple (and presumably less expensive) shower room.

Marked down due to not being able to have dinner at 9.15pm....

As an aside - I had a great stay in a small local bar/inn the night before in a diff part of the island and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating, even offering me supper from the bar menu at 9.30. That makes all the differnce. Small in most cases can be better

Would I stay again - No

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy 'Fresh food, beautifully prepared and presented in Solas Restaurant, TripAd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cabarfeidh and for your review.

We're really sorry that your stay was spoiled by this experience.

Our policy is that, if requested, we will always provide food for an arriving guest, regardless of the time of day or night. If there is time for a very quick one or two course meal in the restaurant before our kitchen closes, then we are happy to arrange this.

If restaurant service is finished and our kitchen team has gone home, our duty manager would at the very least provide soup and sandwiches.

Upon looking into this lapse in our usual customer service standards, I find that you were checked in by a recently trained receptionist who I am afraid did not seem to retain this policy or follow it by passing your request on. Our staff recruitment and training is very thorough but, unfortunately, occasionally someone turns out to be unsuitable for the job.

Regarding the takeaway menu in the bedroom – this is a puzzle. Naturally, it is not our policy to promote takeaway food from next-door.

It's really unfortunate when something like this happens; understandably, it does colour a guest's perception of the rest of the hotel and services offered.

Over 80% of tripadvisor reviewers rate us excellent or very good, praising the quality of rooms, service, cleanliness, etc., but infrequent critical reviews, such as this, are extremely useful to us.

I hope you'll stay with us again and discover just how well we really can provide for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    137
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
31
94
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have stayed at the Cabarfeidh many times before but not in the last 4 years and they have certainly upped their game with comfortable modern bedrooms and a very good restaurant offering a variety of local and international dishes. We stayed 4 nights and had intended eating out on 3 of them but ended up eating at the hotel every night.
Friendly staff and a first class and very attentive manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cabarfeidh and for your review.

It’s always a pleasure to welcome returning guests we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed the improvements that have enabled our team to earn a four star award for the hotel during the period since your last visit.

We hope you’ll stay with us again soon – we’ll always aim to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

on arrival one notes outside a scottish three star badge as well as a 4 star badge
the hotel not in the town centre was ideal for our two day stay
excellent room 4 star and with good lift
downstairs rooms and bars very good
friendly staff spoilt by a 150 wedding party upsetting food arrangements which caused the evening meal to take over two hours to complete. Added to the delay on this party night we all felt that the chef had accidentally dropped a tin of spice in the soup causing us to have hot mouths.
joking apart this definitely a 3.5 star hotel if not 4 star
well enjoyed and recommended

Room Tip: all rooms seem modern and great but perhaps room 44 is little of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glamis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

did a one night stay here recently and have to commend the staff on going the extra mile.
didn't have time to get to the butchers to buy a supply of the world famous stornoway black pudding, but when mentioned to a staff member, she organised a delivery to the hotel and kept it in the fridge overnight without any hesitation.
they were full of friendly chat and made us feel right at home.
bedroom clean and functional with good biscuits!
breakfast had an excellent selection and was just the tonic after a rather heavy day boozing in stornoway.
all in all a good value hotel and we will be back next time on the island.
thank you caber.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledonia1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We live half the year in the Western Isles and the other half in Wales but had never previously used the Cabarfeidh until our last stay but we found it so good that we ate there several times and were never disappointed. The interior is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient. It was interesting to see that although there didn't seem to be hoards of staff the service was better than some venues where they have many more waiting staff. The meals were lovely. My husband was a little disappointed on our last visit as the choice of beer was limited but this was probably due to the Heb Celt festival so not a real criticism. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel during June as an alternative to an overbooked hotel (I think ) in the same group. The stay was part of a coach trip to the Western Isles.

I have stayed in a wide variety of hotels and I rate this one very highly. The welcome was very professional, staff were friendly, food was very good, and the accommodation was clean and very comfortable.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank david_taylor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and part of a coach tour to the Western Isles. We stayed at three other hotels and this was by far the best. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the Manager.All the staff were helpful and unfailingly polite at all times.

Our room was large with flat-screen tv, desk and comfortable chairs. The best were extremely comfortable with clean, white linen. We had an immaculately clean and modern bathroom with good quality complimentary soap/shower gel etc. The main, public rooms, including hall, landing, stairs and reception had obviously undergone a recent refurbishment and were clean, bright and modern.

Food at the hotel was excellent. Plenty of choice and of a very high quality, there was something for everyone and we were not disappointed. Just a couple of negatives. Waiting times between courses were simply too long and it appeared at times the hard-working staff were overwhelmed. Also, on two occasions we had a long wait with others in a queue for a drink in the bar with no bar staff available, only to find when they came there were no glasses which meant another absence whilst they had to go in search of some. Only two minor niggles in an otherwise great, two night stay.

Room Tip: We asked in advance for a quiet room and that is what we got, though the view was not the best, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 7 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 7 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Property: Cabarfeidh Hotel
Address: Manor Park Perceval Road South, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing