We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
135
177
54
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
177
54
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach party modern hotel dinner menu coach trip public areas first class two nights decent size two night stay outer hebrides high standard late ferry plenty of parking black pudding comfortable bed couple of nights town centre
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked on-line and thought the cost was relatively high. Arrived shortly after 9.00 and during check-in I asked if i could go through for dinner. Told quite clearly that the restaurant had finished serving or taking new tables. Thought this was a little strange as the restaurant was clearly busy with diners at differing stages of their meal. If you are proclaiming to be one of the leading hotels in Stornoway you must surely be able to serve dinner to residents, at what in the rest of Europe, is just the time most people start their evening meal

All was not lost, the hotel provides a list of local restaurants and take aways... I wonder why!!! Canny Chinese family opened a great take away which is only 30 seconds walk from the reception. I wonder why they opened there.........

Waken up and start treating your guests who are regularly paying in excess of £100 for B&B with the hospitality that Scottish hotels should be known for,

Room was OK but nothing special, a little dated with huge plastic corner bath, fake gold taps and poor shower. Stick to what the budget chains offer, good powerful shower in very simple (and presumably less expensive) shower room.

Marked down due to not being able to have dinner at 9.15pm....

As an aside - I had a great stay in a small local bar/inn the night before in a diff part of the island and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating, even offering me supper from the bar menu at 9.30. That makes all the differnce. Small in most cases can be better

Would I stay again - No

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy 'Fresh food, beautifully prepared and presented in Solas Restaurant, TripAdvisor’s highest rated restaurant in Stornoway......' just make sure you are seated by 8.59 pm!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RegularTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Cabarfeidh and for your review.

We're really sorry that your stay was spoiled by this experience.

Our policy is that, if requested, we will always provide food for an arriving guest, regardless of the time of day or night. If there is time for a very quick one or two course meal in the restaurant before our kitchen closes, then we are happy to arrange this.

If restaurant service is finished and our kitchen team has gone home, our duty manager would at the very least provide soup and sandwiches.

Upon looking into this lapse in our usual customer service standards, I find that you were checked in by a recently trained receptionist who I am afraid did not seem to retain this policy or follow it by passing your request on. Our staff recruitment and training is very thorough but, unfortunately, occasionally someone turns out to be unsuitable for the job.

Regarding the takeaway menu in the bedroom – this is a puzzle. Naturally, it is not our policy to promote takeaway food from next-door.

It's really unfortunate when something like this happens; understandably, it does colour a guest's perception of the rest of the hotel and services offered.

Over 80% of tripadvisor reviewers rate us excellent or very good, praising the quality of rooms, service, cleanliness, etc., but infrequent critical reviews, such as this, are extremely useful to us.

I hope you'll stay with us again and discover just how well we really can provide for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have stayed at the Cabarfeidh many times before but not in the last 4 years and they have certainly upped their game with comfortable modern bedrooms and a very good restaurant offering a variety of local and international dishes. We stayed 4 nights and had intended eating out on 3 of them but ended up eating at the hotel every night.
Friendly staff and a first class and very attentive manager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Cabarfeidh and for your review.

It’s always a pleasure to welcome returning guests we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed the improvements that have enabled our team to earn a four star award for the hotel during the period since your last visit.

We hope you’ll stay with us again soon – we’ll always aim to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

on arrival one notes outside a scottish three star badge as well as a 4 star badge
the hotel not in the town centre was ideal for our two day stay
excellent room 4 star and with good lift
downstairs rooms and bars very good
friendly staff spoilt by a 150 wedding party upsetting food arrangements which caused the evening meal to take over two hours to complete. Added to the delay on this party night we all felt that the chef had accidentally dropped a tin of spice in the soup causing us to have hot mouths.
joking apart this definitely a 3.5 star hotel if not 4 star
well enjoyed and recommended

Room Tip: all rooms seem modern and great but perhaps room 44 is little of a walk
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We live half the year in the Western Isles and the other half in Wales but had never previously used the Cabarfeidh until our last stay but we found it so good that we ate there several times and were never disappointed. The interior is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient. It was interesting to see that although there didn't seem to be hoards of staff the service was better than some venues where they have many more waiting staff. The meals were lovely. My husband was a little disappointed on our last visit as the choice of beer was limited but this was probably due to the Heb Celt festival so not a real criticism. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel during June as an alternative to an overbooked hotel (I think ) in the same group. The stay was part of a coach trip to the Western Isles.

I have stayed in a wide variety of hotels and I rate this one very highly. The welcome was very professional, staff were friendly, food was very good, and the accommodation was clean and very comfortable.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank david_taylor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews