We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lunch”
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Went here for lunch on the last day of my holidays and the food was first class. Service was fabulous and the staff very pleasant and helpful would certainly return. Situated at the far end of town but easy to find was a great ending to a fabulous holiday in Uig.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ronaldc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

we stayed here on the way to the outer Hebrides.. the room was great value for money, bathroom was really nice and the bed very comfortable.. team were really friendly and welcoming.. the food was delicious I had the burger.. the best I have had!!! and with a view of loch Lomond.. all very LOVELY.. x we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Your comments describe our team admirably, but rather than confuse other TripAdvisor members, I should point out that Loch Lomond is a 260 mile drive from the Cabarfeidh and may not be viewed from the hotel.

Perhaps that was the view you enjoyed from another hotel on your journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Myself and my colleague both arrived here by bicycle from Tarbert Harris on the evening of the 27th of July 2013 for a one night's stay, having pre-booked in advance. The hotel was easy to find as we entered the town. We had earlier cycled from Portree to the Uig ferry terminal in Skye and then sailed across to Tarbert. After the day's 50 miles cycle, including an epic climb over the Clisham, we were pretty wound up and tired by the time we arrived in Stornoway. We received a warm welcome at the hotel reception and were shown to comfortable rooms. Our two solo cycles were afforded a nice anti-room area for cover. Later after showering and changing we were looked after most commodiously by the head waiter who arranged for our dinner later on in the evening. He sat us down in the comfortable lounge for refreshments which were brought to us. It was really nice to be afforded such a level of attention, interest and cordiality at a time when we were tired after our journey. The dining room service was first class and the surroundings of the best I have seen in a long time. Rooms were very comfortable and of a high standard with en-suite bath to soak away the strain in the legs. Breakfast next day was a deliciously generous full Scottish and the Stornoway black pudding.....need I say more! However there were loads of choice for other folk's requirements as well. I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would think, by the impression I got on our arrival, that all the rooms in this hotel are of a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent accomodation made very welcome on arrival, nice food well presented.perhaps some variation on the main dinner menu although there was a choice. Room was very clean and excellent. Staff were very friendly, it can be quite expensive as are all the hotels in town.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank SkyeBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the cabarfeidh for one night.
We arrived off the Tarbert ferry in the evening and were therefore a bit late for dinner. We had advised the hotel in advance and they made sure that the chef was on duty when we arrived.
There was a small problem with the food which was immediately rectified by the excellent Aberdonian manager. The room was well appointed the bed most comfortable. It can't be easy running a very good hotel in what is probably regarded as a relatively remote part of the country but the Cabarfeidh does it.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Run of the mill utilitarian hotel which could have been anywhere. From the outside it looks quite sparse but much better inside.Clean simple rooms and bathroom.Particularly annoying guests next door waking us up at 2am with the TV blaring out.Not much sleep with a 6.15am ferry to catch.The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesnt overlook the bins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely room and spacious corner bath. Asked for a quiet room - room 3 - and it was until late night reveller started singing around 1am on the Saturday night - would have been good if someone had gone out and quietened them. Solas restaurant lovely and service from all staff excellent. Would suggest that the ripped sofa in the main area off reception is removed as it doesn't reflect the overall standard of the hotel. Enjoyable stay but we had wished for better value for money overall - all accommodation prices however were more than we would have normally paid. However the kindness of people in the community and the relaxing atmosphere of the islands made it all worth while.

Room Tip: A room nearer the front is definitely quieter as work is being done close by. We found the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedavybreaksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Address: Perceval Road South | Manor Park, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £98 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing