We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a 1 night stay here this weekend. Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Food (Breakfast and Dinner) SUPERB!

Rooms were dated and heating is only switched on overnight which was only downfall but beds were still comfy and clean and good shower etc.

Great for a stay on the island!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reccy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    142
    41
    16
    4
See reviews for
36
102
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tayside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel as it was near to the hospital where we had meetings over several days. The hotel was also just a short walk from the town centre and a few nice restaurants.

The rooms were modern and comfortable with free wi-fi which was a bonus. Plenty of space to work in the evenings as well. The entrance hall with table, chairs and a log fire was pleasant to sit in and the restaurant staff were happy for us to relax and be serve our evening meals there rather than having to sit in the restaurant, which was busy with pre-Christmas festivities. We ate dinner twice and on both occasions it was very nice, well presented and the staff were attentive. Breakfast in the restaurant was of a high quality. Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazW951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I last stayed at the Cabarfeidh exactly 2 years ago, several minor items which I noted then have been rectified. As before the service is second to none in the Hospitality Industry, this is the type of service I would anticipate at 4/5 Star city hotels, a special mention must go to the Hotel Manager, a gentleman wearing a pinstripe suit and glasses, who was at all times, above professional, courteous, friendly and well presented. On this occasion, the tired, threadbare carpets have been replaced (there is still a slight whiff of new carpet smell around them so would suggest this was recent), the rooms were well presented, comfortable, clean, modern, spacious with a good standard of appointment. Free Wi-fi is supplied throughout the hotel, I would suggest that they rename the Wireless Access Points to the same name (for example "Cabarfeidh Hotel") which would allow devices to roam through the hotel without changing router points manually.

One bar person let down the hotel, she spent an exuberant amount of time talking with customers who "She hadn't seen in ages" that service was resultantly suffering, however it was abundantly clear she was an exception as every other staff member we made contact with was outstanding.

Unfortunately we left too early to again sample what I recall was an excellent cooked breakfast in the morning as we had to drive down to Tarbert to catch the morning ferry, however the staff ensured a continental selection, hot drinks and toast was ready for us instead in the morning, and this sufficed well until we could get some hot food on the ferry.

Helpful, Friendly, Attentive, Professional, Clean, Quiet, Modern, Comfortable, Ambience are all buzz words which you rarely find together for one single property, this time though they all go in without issue. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorFash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to place such a comprehensive review – it’s lovely to see that returning guests notice the little differences, as we put a great deal of time and effort into refining our service and facilities.

Your sense of smell did not deceive you – the carpet was recently replaced and we also have plans for some unique new furnishings in the lounge.

Good point about the wifi. We’ll ask our IT expert to take a look at how to make this more seamless.

It’s a shame you missed the Cabarfeidh breakfast – we reckon it’s now even better than you would have sampled two years ago. While it’s impractical to have staff in at 5am to cook breakfast for early ferry passengers, we’re happy to arrange a suitable ‘continental’ selection.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Cabarfeidh again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here on business, having stayed previously, a couple of years ago. My room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Unusually for hotels these days, the lighting was bright and ample for reading and working on the laptop in the evenings. Wi-fi was free, with a strong signal. The food in the restaurant was very good, albeit the service was slow at times. I had breakfast in my room, which arrived promptly each morning and was delicious. We had an all-day meeting in the hotel and the staff couldn't do enough for us. In fact, the staff were helpful and cheerful at all times. Whether for pleasure or business, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAlpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked through work for a recent overnight business trip to Stornoway.

It seems to be the place to go on Stornoway as there were lots of very well dressed people out for family or work functions.

We were advised to book, but opted to eat in the bar instead. We were in work gear so more comforatbale here in any case.

Food was good to very good, a lot of effort went into presentation, the quality and taste didn't matcht he look, but was still good. Very good breakfast. Sensibly priced soft drinks, a bonus! Lots and lots of Gins, decent enough selection elsewhere in terms of wines and beers.

The decor is a bit Ashes to Ashes, although everywhere was well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomStrathmore, Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review – we’re pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel was constructed in the 1970s and the architecture reflects that period.

As you noted in your review, we recently completed an extensive refurbishment of the restaurant and bedroom areas of the hotel, and we are currently refurbishing the lobby and lounge area. While some more modern touches are part of the plan we will retain some of the 1970s features to keep the hotel’s history alive.

We look forward to offering you our best hospitality again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

super place super hotel; refurbed, clean, good staff and really nice atmosphere, food choice and quality great. Breakfast particularly enjoyable. bar good and not too expensive either, great location and surroundings, really worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to the island. This was my second visit!! Clean spacious room, friendly and ver helpful staff who will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Don't bother to go out for a meal the restaurant is excellent. Need to expand their hand-pulled real ale selection but that was about it. Good wifi connectivity. Would visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BFview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Property: Cabarfeidh Hotel
Address: Manor Park Perceval Road South, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing