We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
135
177
54
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
177
54
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach party modern hotel dinner menu coach trip public areas first class two nights decent size two night stay outer hebrides high standard late ferry plenty of parking black pudding comfortable bed couple of nights town centre
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food offering in this hotel is overpriced. £4 a scallop is unrealistic. As a regular hotel user across the highlands I find the food overpriced for the quality and ambiance on offer. Hand dived scallops deserve to be sold at a premium, but this leaves a feeling of extortion!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at this hotel as part of a tour of the Hebrides. From the moment we arrived the services was excellent. We were greeted by the manager and from then on her was ever present and sensitive to our needs. We were late arriving because of the ferry but a three course buffet meal of excellent quality (hot and cold dishes) was awaiting us. Since I had previously declared several food allergies, the manager was anxious to help and offered alternatives if necessary. The breakfast buffet was excellent - a wide variety of tastey and good quality food was on offer and cheerful staff were on hand to help. The evening meals were also good and the service excellent. The room was clean and comfortable and well supplied with tea, coffee, biscuits, toileteries etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. There was no swimming pool or fitness centre hence low rating

Room Tip: A room at the front has a view over nice gardens
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threecolouredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent introduction to Outer Hebrides. Comfortable, welcoming, warm and efficient. Good food and service throughout. Thank you for hospitality and service. Thoroughly recommended as a base for exploring Lewis.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here many times on business. Expensivre but good. Great food and comfortable sleep. Getting a bit more upmarket as the years go by. Worth dining in the dining room . Have many dishes prepared from food sourced locally

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurmeseDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a two-night stay here as part of a five-night tour of the Highlands and Islands. I had read that it was the best hotel in Stornoway but, since that does not necessarily put it on a par with the best hotel in Paris, my expectations were not particularly high. Straight away on our arrival we were impressed when the friendly young manager, very hands-on and smartly dressed, met us as we got off our coach and efficiently handed us our room keys. All staff were friendly and helpful and albeit we were part of a coach party we were made to feel that as individuals we were valued guests. Meals were included as part of our tour package and I had an issue with the dinner menu: of the three mains one was fish (don't eat it), one was vegetarian (I am not a vegetarian) and the other was chicken, fine except it was stuffed with black pudding which is a local speciality but which I don't like. The staff took this on board with no problem: I could go a la carte, paying any difference from our package allowance, or they would do me a plain piece of chicken at no extra cost. I opted for the latter and it was very good, as were all our meals, two dinners and two breakfasts, served by friendly and attentive staff in the pleasant restaurant. On our second evening there was a display of Scottish dancing in the reception area before we went in to dinner. Our room was spacious and well designed and that goes for the hotel generally. Stornoway is a pleasant town, main centre on the Island of Lewis and Harris, which was deservedly voted by Trip Advisor reviewers the most beautiful island in Europe. Even Capri has to take a bow!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidofepsom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews