We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern spacious hotel In Stornoway”
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good quality hotel in Stornoway - stayed 1 night in very comfortable room . Reception girl was very helpful but breakfast serving staff need training on how to clear tables, serve guests and take breakfast orders ( one girl left to do too much on her own) - overall a good stay and yes I would recommend it !

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking carpark were quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlenLoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed around a week in this very pleasant hotel, in a very remote location -- the Outer Hebrides. Our ferry boat was an hour late, and then we had an hour's drive at night, and I was afraid we would arrive at the hotel too late to get any dinner. I called the hotel, and they were so reassuring. "We won't let you go hungry," the receptionist said. We arrived nearly 10:00, and we were able to get a very adequate meal sitting in the lobby.
The elevator was out of order, but someone carried our considerable luggage upstairs for us, and we didn't mind climbing the stairs several times a day.
Breakfast was included in our price, and a very nice breakfast it was, with a buffet and hot dishes such as omelets to order. \
The staff were always pleasant and very helpful, and helped us explore Stornoway on foot as well as find other destinations to explore, such as the Callanish standing stones.
I thought we would have to have dinner at the hotel every night as Stornoway had very little else to offer, and the one or two good restaurants tended to be fully booked. But the menu was so good, and so varied, that I didn't mind. As it turned out we did find one other place to have dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After staying at one or two other hotels on our journey, this one was like an oasis in the desert! We stayed here for two nights. The hotel manager/restaurant manger was so helpful. The room was light and airy and had very comfortable beds. Bathroom and room was very clean. We stayed on the second floor with easy lift access. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardsfamily5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped as two of just under forty on a half board basis. The evening Table d'Hôte meals were very good with more than enough choice to keep us happy. The breakfasts consisted of an extensive hot & cold buffet. With fruit juice, tea & coffee.
The spacious bar & reception areas were clean & welcoming.
Our second floor room. Accessed via the lift was very well furnished & along with the bathroom very clean. Every thing we tried worked & the courtesy tray was topped up during the room service.
The shower did not have hard to fathom controls. It also had more than enough flow to shift seagull deposited hair conditioner.
The hotel is less than twenty mins. pleasant walk from Stornoway's shopping centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great hotel. We travelled part of a coach tour, on arrival our group was greeted by staff and assisted off of the coach.
Our room for two had a double and single bed, great shower, and roomy bathroom.
Plenty of room to sort out our cases, and the first night of our tour where we were going to stay two nights!!.

The trouser press was a blessing great to refresh your travel weary trousers!!
The service cannot be faulted by the staff, when we stayed there were two coach parities in and were very busy. The food was wonderful, and good choice of food. Nice seating areas for resting before or after your meal.
Good choice for breakfast.

Tip the Outer Hebrides does not open on a Sunday - definitely a day of rest!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food offering in this hotel is overpriced. £4 a scallop is unrealistic. As a regular hotel user across the highlands I find the food overpriced for the quality and ambiance on offer. Hand dived scallops deserve to be sold at a premium, but this leaves a feeling of extortion!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at this hotel as part of a tour of the Hebrides. From the moment we arrived the services was excellent. We were greeted by the manager and from then on her was ever present and sensitive to our needs. We were late arriving because of the ferry but a three course buffet meal of excellent quality (hot and cold dishes) was awaiting us. Since I had previously declared several food allergies, the manager was anxious to help and offered alternatives if necessary. The breakfast buffet was excellent - a wide variety of tastey and good quality food was on offer and cheerful staff were on hand to help. The evening meals were also good and the service excellent. The room was clean and comfortable and well supplied with tea, coffee, biscuits, toileteries etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. There was no swimming pool or fitness centre hence low rating

Room Tip: A room at the front has a view over nice gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threecolouredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Address: Perceval Road South | Manor Park, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £98 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing