We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay Get away”
Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Sayed at the hotel for 4 day, from the moment we arrived the staff and service was great. We were given a family room although only booked a double. The room was bright and clean the bed was comfortable.

Location of the hotel was great for touring the island or leave the car and walk around Stornaway and check out the other local facilities. If you stay at this hotel you must treat yourself to meal in the Solar restaurant the food is amazing and rather large portions. We even tried the Light Bite menu and found the portions very generous.

Would like to thank all the staff for a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone, would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed for one night in the Caberfeidh, and thought it was a pleasant hotel, with good food, a good bed and nice staff. Our first thought on arrival was that the entrance was a bit scruffy, but the following day renovation was starting on it, as we left. One or two other areas still need a lttle attention, but the attitude of the staff was first class, and we would stay again.
We did think it rather expensive, but did not compare it with other Stornoway hotels, so cannot really comment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloydUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

As a large group we arrived around 7.30 pm but the Reception staff were so welcoming. The food was first class and nothing too much trouble for them. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean.

The public areas of the hotel were clean and spacious. Drinks at the bar were very reasonable compared to the prices some hotels think they are entitled to charge!

The whole atmosphere of the hotel and staff was very relaxed and we enjoyed our 2 night stay. Would certainly recommend this place and would happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckettsTintagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarfeidh, Front Office Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Thank you for your kind comments. We work very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay at the Cabarfeidh, and the entire team appreciates your kind feedback.

While we would like to respond to every review we get, sometimes this just is not possible, but we thank all of our reviewers, past, present and future, for their feedback, both good, bad and indifferent, as it helps us to continue striving toward giving all of our guests a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I went with friends to the Pudding Night which the Cabarfeidh Hotel was promoting this week. For little over a fiver each we were treated to as much delicious pudding cuisine as we could manage, a superb display of deserts and fruit and veg sculpting and a demonstration by two of the chefs on how to carve flowers etc out of carrots and beetroot! It was excellent. The staff were on the ball, welcoming, professional and nothing was too much trouble.
The whole team had gone to an enormous amount of trouble to make the evening work and it idid. Well done to the Cabarfeidh. I should imagine that Stornoway is buzzing today with talk of last night's 'Pudding Club' debut.
And as if all that delicious confectionary wasn't enough on the night, the staff prvided doggie bags for anyone wanting to take home a selection of their offerings. I say again, well done.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sundaydriver09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This hotel needs a good cleaning but the front desk service was excellent, the room was nice and quiet, and the buffet breakfast was great

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Exterior suggests tired corporate box. Inside it could do with a lick of paint too. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant good. Definitely better than first impressions suggest.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Don't be put off by the outside of this hotel - the staff are exceptional in their welcome and help throughout our stay - nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and thought the food was of a very high standard.

The room was very well made up and free wireless was useful.

The hotel is located out of town which is ideal if you're arriving by car - you could probably walk to Stornoway, but easiest to drive. This is an ideal base for seeing Lewis and Harris.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Address: Perceval Road South | Manor Park, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing