We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay very nuch and would recommend it to friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabarfeidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
Caesarea, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay very nuch and would recommend it to friends”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We thought the hotel was under rated for what we received there and we hope they will get the fourth star that they deserve. the restaurant was very good and the two dinners we had there were excellent. staff are helpful and nice. rooms very convenient and big. loved it.
Ruth and Shai Toister
Israel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    139
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
32
95
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed 4 nights as part of a Brightwater tour. We have to say the staff was truly outstanding. Pleasant, accommodating, helpful, polite, etc. The hotel itself was pleasant enough, and very clean. Because we were part of a tour, our dinner menu was limited, but the food quality was excellent. Breakfasts were also very good. We really cannot comment about the value, since this was included in the tour. We would stay there again. And what a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbyrnefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We arrived at the hotel to a warm and friendly welcome but were immediately given a poor impression by the torn carpets on the staircases. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and clean, although rather impersonal, but I have never stayed in a hotel room with such a dreadful view! it overlooked an ugly flat roof and a warehouse with a yard full of old cars. The restaurant was very poor and, although we stayed two nights, we only ate there once and braved the dreadful weather in Stornoway to find an alternative restaurant on the second night. The food was overcooked and tasteless. Breakfasts were not much better.
We stayed here while touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland and this was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed in. It was also the most disappointing and represented poor value for money. We would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Arrived late but the staff ensured that we had a good late dinner and relaxing time in lounge. Apart from it's slightly out-of-town position I could not fault this hotel. In room facilities also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Sayed at the hotel for 4 day, from the moment we arrived the staff and service was great. We were given a family room although only booked a double. The room was bright and clean the bed was comfortable.

Location of the hotel was great for touring the island or leave the car and walk around Stornaway and check out the other local facilities. If you stay at this hotel you must treat yourself to meal in the Solar restaurant the food is amazing and rather large portions. We even tried the Light Bite menu and found the portions very generous.

Would like to thank all the staff for a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone, would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed for one night in the Caberfeidh, and thought it was a pleasant hotel, with good food, a good bed and nice staff. Our first thought on arrival was that the entrance was a bit scruffy, but the following day renovation was starting on it, as we left. One or two other areas still need a lttle attention, but the attitude of the staff was first class, and we would stay again.
We did think it rather expensive, but did not compare it with other Stornoway hotels, so cannot really comment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tintagel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

As a large group we arrived around 7.30 pm but the Reception staff were so welcoming. The food was first class and nothing too much trouble for them. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean.

The public areas of the hotel were clean and spacious. Drinks at the bar were very reasonable compared to the prices some hotels think they are entitled to charge!

The whole atmosphere of the hotel and staff was very relaxed and we enjoyed our 2 night stay. Would certainly recommend this place and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckettsTintagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarfeidh, Front Office Manager at Cabarfeidh Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We work very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay at the Cabarfeidh, and the entire team appreciates your kind feedback.

While we would like to respond to every review we get, sometimes this just is not possible, but we thank all of our reviewers, past, present and future, for their feedback, both good, bad and indifferent, as it helps us to continue striving toward giving all of our guests a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarfeidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarfeidh Hotel

Property: Cabarfeidh Hotel
Address: Manor Park Perceval Road South, Stornoway HS1 2EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarfeidh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within in its own attractive gardens, this modern 3-star hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of Stornoway, just across the road from the golf course leading onto historic Lews Castle grounds. Rightly known as 'Stornoway's finest hotel', the Cabarfeidh (pronounced cab-ar-fay) provides a relaxing base for both business and leisure travelers. It is also bookable for functions or meals in the Solas Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabarfeidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarfeidh Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing