We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant and bar great but accommodation poor and dated”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant and bar great but accommodation poor and dated”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed overnight in Feb 2011, could not fault the food and drink, service was first class and the restaurant has been nicely refurbished, HOWEVER the accommodation was not of the standard expected for the price and the rooms require a major upgrade, which would make this premises by far the top venue in Stornoway.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveKathBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
29
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hebrides
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Be warned- if you are the only guests on a Saturday night the hotel will become mysteriously "full" and you will be asked to leave as the owner doesn't believe in working on Sunday

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
While we are not open to the general public on a Sunday, we certainly cater for guests of the
hotel and have never refused to accommodate anyone if we had the rooms to let. We will not insist that a member of staff works on Sunday, but we have a many staff who have no objection to doing so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2010

lovely food,and staff, no where for guests to sit and relax,rooms dated but clean and tidy,clean towels everyday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Great hotel in a great location with fantastic food,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caggymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As we checked in we were told that breakfast finished at 9am on a Sunday, this is where it all started to go wrong. We went up to our room and it had that classic old hotel musty smell in it. It looked like the last time it was decorated was when it was built in the 40's or 50's. To be fair though the room was spacious and the shower was excellent and we were just looking for a place to chill for the night and watch telly. The real surreal experience was when we went downstairs to check out in the morning. It was approx 10:30 and there was no one anywhere. The reception was in darkness. After us searching around and after about 10 mins we heard some movement but it was some other guests. One of them suggested we ring the hotel and see what happens. We did and a sleepy chef answered the phone and came down to check us out. In his own words there should be some staff about and we could probably of got away without paying. In all honesty, not paying was probably not far off a fair price for this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stornoway hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The County Hotel made us feel welcome. In our stay over two nights they provided two meals - an excellent & unique curry on one night. Another benefit was they served food on Sunday - which is a big deal on the Outer Hebrides! Free WiFi worked well. Breakfast was good, with veggie sausages. The room was comfortable and clean. They even had a pile of paperbacks for you to swap.

(More details on my website http://www.twabikers.co.uk/)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyswarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Badly dated hotel, cluttered layout in the restaurant, seems like maybe they are only interested in filling the restaurant, waiter service not attentive, no manager available, could hear chefs shouting service repeatedly. but that is the bad bits. My room was fine, i was expecting worse but it was perfectly comfortable, my food was delightfull, Rob Roy Chicken was juicy and the creamy sauce complimented it nicely on the first night, my friend said the curry was fine although it was a small a portion they could easily of eaten more. Second night the steak was a beaut. Overall i would recommend the food to most people but the restaurant is desperate for some more leadership and service and some more atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandlover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
14.9 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hal O' the Wynd
Hal O' the Wynd
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 12-14 Francis Street, Stornoway HS1 2XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing