We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
31
40
26
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
40
26
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurryindian foodnaan breadeuropean menugreat mealreturn visitroom was spaciousstayed for two nightsa great stayminchcorridorkettlemargaret
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Be warned- if you are the only guests on a Saturday night the hotel will become mysteriously "full" and you will be asked to leave as the owner doesn't believe in working on Sunday

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

While we are not open to the general public on a Sunday, we certainly cater for guests of the
hotel and have never refused to accommodate anyone if we had the rooms to let. We will not insist that a member of staff works on Sunday, but we have a many staff who have no objection to doing so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

lovely food,and staff, no where for guests to sit and relax,rooms dated but clean and tidy,clean towels everyday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Great hotel in a great location with fantastic food,

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caggymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As we checked in we were told that breakfast finished at 9am on a Sunday, this is where it all started to go wrong. We went up to our room and it had that classic old hotel musty smell in it. It looked like the last time it was decorated was when it was built in the 40's or 50's. To be fair though the room was spacious and the shower was excellent and we were just looking for a place to chill for the night and watch telly. The real surreal experience was when we went downstairs to check out in the morning. It was approx 10:30 and there was no one anywhere. The reception was in darkness. After us searching around and after about 10 mins we heard some movement but it was some other guests. One of them suggested we ring the hotel and see what happens. We did and a sleepy chef answered the phone and came down to check us out. In his own words there should be some staff about and we could probably of got away without paying. In all honesty, not paying was probably not far off a fair price for this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The County Hotel made us feel welcome. In our stay over two nights they provided two meals - an excellent & unique curry on one night. Another benefit was they served food on Sunday - which is a big deal on the Outer Hebrides! Free WiFi worked well. Breakfast was good, with veggie sausages. The room was comfortable and clean. They even had a pile of paperbacks for you to swap.

(More details on my website http://www.twabikers.co.uk/)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyswarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews