We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, dirty and needs work.”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Bar and restaurant quite well modernised and staff nice. Hotel rooms are dire. 1970's decor done at low cost. Not maintained. Grubby. Small rooms. Everything seems to be tired and worn out. Bed lumpy and soft. Do not stay here unless no choice. Restricted parking too. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gbleakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Because we are well aware that an upgrade is required, we are extremely careful to keep the hotel clean.
The first stage of our refurbishment has begun and the hospitality extended to guests is as good as anywhere in the UK. Our rate of return business is at the high end of the occupancy spectrum
and not once has anyone stated the hotel was dirty or considered it to be so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed overnight in Feb 2011, could not fault the food and drink, service was first class and the restaurant has been nicely refurbished, HOWEVER the accommodation was not of the standard expected for the price and the rooms require a major upgrade, which would make this premises by far the top venue in Stornoway.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveKathBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Be warned- if you are the only guests on a Saturday night the hotel will become mysteriously "full" and you will be asked to leave as the owner doesn't believe in working on Sunday

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

While we are not open to the general public on a Sunday, we certainly cater for guests of the
hotel and have never refused to accommodate anyone if we had the rooms to let. We will not insist that a member of staff works on Sunday, but we have a many staff who have no objection to doing so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

lovely food,and staff, no where for guests to sit and relax,rooms dated but clean and tidy,clean towels everyday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Great hotel in a great location with fantastic food,

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caggymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As we checked in we were told that breakfast finished at 9am on a Sunday, this is where it all started to go wrong. We went up to our room and it had that classic old hotel musty smell in it. It looked like the last time it was decorated was when it was built in the 40's or 50's. To be fair though the room was spacious and the shower was excellent and we were just looking for a place to chill for the night and watch telly. The real surreal experience was when we went downstairs to check out in the morning. It was approx 10:30 and there was no one anywhere. The reception was in darkness. After us searching around and after about 10 mins we heard some movement but it was some other guests. One of them suggested we ring the hotel and see what happens. We did and a sleepy chef answered the phone and came down to check us out. In his own words there should be some staff about and we could probably of got away without paying. In all honesty, not paying was probably not far off a fair price for this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The County Hotel made us feel welcome. In our stay over two nights they provided two meals - an excellent & unique curry on one night. Another benefit was they served food on Sunday - which is a big deal on the Outer Hebrides! Free WiFi worked well. Breakfast was good, with veggie sausages. The room was comfortable and clean. They even had a pile of paperbacks for you to swap.

(More details on my website http://www.twabikers.co.uk/)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyswarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
14.9 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: 12-14 Francis Street, Stornoway HS1 2XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £81 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing