We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Nearby Hotels
Cabarfeidh Hotel(Stornoway)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Twenty Seven(Stornoway)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Stornoway)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hal O' the Wynd(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandwick Bay(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
97
137
53
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
137
53
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe barno liftone way systemfront facingoverlooking the harboura small car parkboat shedmonkfishcomfortable hotelheating systemsteak piefirst floorouter hebridesgreat roomsunday nightwould stay againtrouser press
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Two night stay in ths friendly hotel. Warm welcome at reception with helpful guidance on how to get to the car park at the rear of the hotel ( bit tricky given the one-way system). We had been upgraded and our Bedroom was spacious and came complete with its very own turret window with wonderful views. Bathroom had a full set of toiletries and there was tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits and a couple of bottles of sparkling water for good measure. !9th century prints on the wall completed a classy feel.

There was a spacious lounge bar downstairs which offered food from several menus and the starters we ordered were all excellent. The 'Boatyard restaurant' was the venue for breakfast and this was substantial - one unusual option was the scrambled egg and smoked salmon on crumpets - well worth a try. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Stornoway.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6 - has to be the best hotel room in Stornoway !
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Royal Hotel is conveniently located just on the edge of the centre of town overlooking the inner harbour and lifeboat station.
This is a comfortable quality hotel, clean well appointed rooms and a busy bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a large room for two nights that did face the water. The room was comfortable and clean. These are our top requirements. Be aware that there are was not a lift. If this is important ask for a lower floor.

I would stay here again. The reception are was quite friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed one night in The Royal Hotel on 27th May. Our evening meal in HS1 was the best bar meal we have ever had. If staying longer would happily have eaten here every night.

Our room,31, at the front of the hotel had a beautiful view but was the smallest hotel room we have stayed in.The bathroom was so small that even someone slightly overweight would have difficulty using the toilet as the sink is so close.

I can't recommend the staff highly enough.Everyone we met was so friendly and helpful.I would definitely not recommend staying in this hotel or anywhere in Stornoway on a Saturday night.The town was full of 'boy racers' and very drunk people. Could not sleep until after 3am because of the constant stream of loud,abusive drunk people passing the front of the hotel or stopping outside to hurl abuse at each other.
Would probably visit the island again as there are so many beautiful places to visit but we were put off by the number of young people driving dangerously away from the town as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a good friendly hotel with excellent staff. The room on the top floor overlooked the bay and was very comfortable. Free wi fi was a bonus especially as the signal strength was excellent. Had dinner in HS1 and food was excellent and staff helpful. Breakfast was excellent too and the Stornoway black pudding is definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews