We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired, but very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Teesside
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Bit tired, but very good!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Decent hotel, beautiful rooms (albeit a bit cold and jaded), excellent food and service. Would stay again if they improved the heating system (it's very cold up there). We asked for more heating and an electric fire was placed in our room. This improved the temperature slightly! Pleasant bar areas with two restaurants to choose from. Breakfast and dinner were very good and served in a cosy restaurant by friendly, helpful staff. Very reasonably priced. Stornoway is a great base for exploring Lewis. Would definitely recommend-but take some woolly nightwear!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bay windowed room overlooking the harbour-very spacious with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INTREPID357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    118
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
29
109
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having stayed in wonderful B&B accommodation on the previous 4 nights the Royal proved to be a "tired old hotel" in comparison. Surely a hotel in Stornoway should be prepared to offer a full breakfast for early departures, not a help yourself Continental offering, especially at the room rate charged. To speed departure in the morning we asked to pay the evening before - credit card terminal down, "can you go to a cash point and draw cash?" asked the receptionist!! We paid by cheque!! All a bit like Faulty Towers!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Royal Hotel Stornoway, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the Royal. While it’s lovely to receive so many reviews with glowing praise, it’s also helpful to receive critical reviews such as this, because they sometimes lead us think about ways in which we further improve the hospitality we offer to our guests.

The Royal Hotel is over 150 years old and situated in a conservation area. When we carried out major restoration works on the hotel recently, it was necessary to liaise closely with the local authority to gain agreement to the quality and style of external work, ensuring that the hotel would retain its character. Internally, while adding modern ensuite shower rooms, flat screen TVs, wifi, etc., we have used fabrics and décor sympathetic to a period building. It’s not our aim to destroy the comfortable warmth of an old building’s heritage.

Cooked breakfasts at 5.00 am or thereabouts, for guests requiring to check-in to the early ferry at 6.15 am, has always been a subject of debate for guests in Stornoway hotels. I’m not aware that any hotel in the area has found it reasonably possible to bring staff in to do this.

However, the provision of an early continental buffet is welcomed by most travellers. In the light of your comments, we will review this service again to see if we can find a suitable solution.

I realise that it was annoying for you to be unable to pay by credit card – bank computer failures have been well publicised recently and when they fail, unfortunately the card terminals will fail, too.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future – perhaps for a long enough period that you’ll be able to experience the personal service, quality catering and comfort that so many others have praised in their reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to the Outer Hebrides. We had a very spacious, comfortable room, freshly painted and with pretty fabrics, which overlooked the harbour. The bathroom was rather small but clean and adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful and suggested the early bird menu, which was very good value at £18 for two courses. We ate in the Boat Shed and the food was good - my husband had venison and I had fish, both of which were delicious. Parking is restricted to an hour in the road in front of the hotel but there is a small car park at the back, which we managed to find once we had been given directions by the receptionist. I would certainly stay again, particularly as the hotel is so convenient for the ferry port.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the sea and the castle park opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a total of eight nights in July. The staff were very helpful as we had to change bookings and add extra nights due to ferry cancellations. The view from our window was beautiful. All meals were very good. Would definitively stay again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good quality hotel rooms with excellent food served in the restaurant. Our only slight disappointment was that our room did not look onto the harbour and we were next to the extractor fan going from the kitchen which was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Royal Hotel Stornoway, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s good to know that, in the main, we were able to provide you with a good stay.

It’s a shame that the harbour may only be viewed from front rooms, so we would agree with you that, if you want to be sure of the view, please book as early as possible, requesting a front facing room.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at Royal Hotel for a couple of nights. Booked a single room, requesting a harbour view. All single rooms at back of hotel, but as there was availability, I was given a room at the front with great view of harbour and castle. All staff I came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. Good breadfast, served in lovely venue of Boatshed restaurant. Dinner menus for both Boatshed and cafe bar HS1 wide-ranging - seafood pasta excellent. Highly recommend and will certainly revisit.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have lovely views of harbour and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairiInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in the Royal Hotel for 1 night. It's a really sweet oldie worldie hotel and our room on the first floor had a great view facing the harbour and castle. The room was very large and comfortable with excellent Wifi. The only slight drawback was the bathroom which was very small and would have benefited from a shelf or two. There was absolutely nowhere to put our toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver and toiletries. Good breakfast with lots of cooked options. We also had lunch in the hotel's cafe and dinner in their restaurant The Boat-shed. In both cases the food was very fresh and tasty. If you eat early at the Boat-shed there is a really good discount. We found everyone in the hotel extremely friendly and helpful.
The best meal I had in Stornaway was in the Solas restaurant which is in the Cabarfeidh Hotel. My husband's favourite restaurant was Digby Chic, both places were very good
If you like walking there is a beautiful circular river walk in the castle grounds (about 4 miles) and you can end up in the Woodlands Centre for a cup of tea and a delicious scone or cake.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the harbour as the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander M, General Manager at Royal Hotel Stornoway, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the Royal. It’s lovely to see that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

The en-suite shower rooms at the front of the hotel do vary in size, as we have had to make the best of spaces created 150 years ago, balancing the guests’ desire for spacious bedrooms with bathroom requirements that would have been unheard of when the hotel was built in the mid 1800s! We'll look at the possibility of increasing shelf space in the en-suite shower rooms.

If TripAdvisor members have particular wishes, then we suggest a conversation about them with our receptionist, when booking, may result in us being able to pick just the right room to satisfy those wishes.

As a footnote to your comment about the four mile walk around the Castle Grounds, I would like to make it clear that, for less energetic guests, there are also several walks that include the river waterfalls and are a good deal shorter.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
14.7 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Stornoway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Stornoway

Property: Royal Hotel Stornoway
Address: 81 Cromwell Street | Stornoway, Isle of lewis, Stornoway HS1 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel Stornoway 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stornoway's most historic hotel, the Royal nestles in the heart of Stornoway, beside the marina, where you can relax, enjoy the hotel's cosy character and enjoy dining in our Boatshed Restaurant or in HS1, the town's 1st cafe bar.If on business, you'll probably appreciate free wireless internet access available throughout the hotel.What matters so much more than bricks and mortar, though, is the warmth of the welcome and the friendly, easy service you'll receive - for the Hebrides has a great tradition of hospitality.While the Royal Hotel enjoys a delightful view over the colourful, bustling harbour to the splendour of Lews Castle and its grounds. The town centre is only around 200 metres walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Stornoway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stornoway Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Stornoway Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing