We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 6 September 2010

In the past few years I have stayed at the Royal many times during my trips to the isle of lewis. I like the cosy feel of the hotel, the friendly staff and good choice of food on offer! The bar is a nice place to sit back and relax after a hard days work, the is no TV which is a good thing as local pubs show the football if you cant miss that match while away! The breakfast team do a good job in the morning with the crofters breakfast, you cant start the day properly without it. An all round good place to stay, although I was there for business I would certainly go for leisure. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Party1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Stornoway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

Reasonable hotel but room and bathroom was cramped. Who would think that the absence of double glazing on the front facing rooms would lead to us being unable to sleep until 3.30am due to the constant circulation of cars with "souped up" engines for several hours. Having had little sleep we went for breakfast and was equally disappointed. Would consider somewhere else on our next visit. Was meant to be a peaceful experience but sadly didnt turn out as we had wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

On checking in I was given room 19. This room had no shower, no desk and not even a chair to sit on. This despite the booking confirmation stating that there was a shower. I immediately went back to reception but as the hotel was full they could not move me. (Fair enough I was moved the following day). How they can charge £97-00 per night for a room with such poor facilities beggars belief. I ended up sitting on the bed to use my laptop and lying on the bed to watch the television and even then the TV was fixed to the wall at right angles to the bed - very difficult to watch in comfort. To anyone staying here, I would recommend that you specify in great detail the facilities that you expect for your money in this very dated hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Survey0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Booked over the phone and was impressed by very polite, helpful and informative receptionist. Turning up at the hotel late on a Monday afternoon, wasn't dissapointed. Hotel is clean, comfortable and well-run. HS1 cafe and boathouse restaurant offer a choice of atmosphere. Had booked a single room but was given a double (more space and larger telly (great as football was on that night). Room was fresh, spotless and difficult to fault (unless you suffer from an aversion to woodchip). Furniture and fittings older but in character with building, bed and linen clean and comfortable. Free wireless access. Very enjoyable stay rounded off by a great cooked breakfast and even better service in a very quiet boathouse restaurant.

Only quibble (an issue for some guests?) - room 35 on the second floor was very close to the cafe extractor flue which ran 'til after midnight and meant window could not be opened unless I wanted noise and cooking smells. However, with window closed, room was airy enough and still had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FluffyCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

As others have said, a little dated in terms of decor but none the worse for that. It's not expensive and has a charm all of its own.

The friendly staff more than make up for any minor shortcomings in respect of the slight outdated presentation of the accommodation, and we found the bed comfortable and breakfast very substantial.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The hotel, like others have stated, is a little ‘olde worlde’ it has seen better days, saying that the staff could not be more helpful , the room i had was spotlessly clean. The best feature about this hotel, apart from the location, is the food , they serve the most amazing food !!
Having been here for a week I have tried the menu every night and it’s not disappointed. Everything they serve has been cooked well and tastes great. They have a great range and you can tell its home cooked, not micro waved or boil in the bag !
I often find that a good evening service is let down by the breakfast service, but not here, the breakfast is delicious, a great selection and once again great service
Also free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed here with my mother and sister, and all the staff were very helpful. Such a comfortable hotel, and we had fabulous rooms overlooking Lews Castle. Mind you, the weather was great, which always helps. For the price we paid, we were very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
109 reviews
14.7 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Stornoway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Stornoway

Address: 81 Cromwell Street | Stornoway, Isle of lewis, Stornoway HS1 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel Stornoway 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stornoway's most historic hotel, the Royal nestles in the heart of Stornoway, beside the marina, where you can relax, enjoy the hotel's cosy character and enjoy dining in our Boatshed Restaurant or in HS1, the town's 1st cafe bar.If on business, you'll probably appreciate free wireless internet access available throughout the hotel.What matters so much more than bricks and mortar, though, is the warmth of the welcome and the friendly, easy service you'll receive - for the Hebrides has a great tradition of hospitality.While the Royal Hotel enjoys a delightful view over the colourful, bustling harbour to the splendour of Lews Castle and its grounds. The town centre is only around 200 metres walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel Stornoway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stornoway Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Stornoway Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing