We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel, out of place on Stornoway”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you're looking for a traditional restaurant serving good local food/produce, go somewhere else. The black pudding served at breakfast is drowned in oil. It is a modern hotel and restaurant and fine if you like that sort of thing. The room I stayed in had no view other than a dark enclosed area and noise from other rooms and in the corridor seemed like it was coming from inside my room. Staff though, were really friendly and always pleased to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Please be aware this hotel has a 4 star rating and I can tell you it does not even get a 1 star ! Moved from room to room because of the staff making noise at midnight. I eventually was given a "refurbished"" room. I was at a loss to see what had been refurbished . There was no curtain on the bathroom window which over looked the roundabout and a main road,and the "view " out the other window was a huge skip which the staff late at night used to throw rubbish in! The furniture was stained as well as carpets. I don't mind basic hotels but as it is advertising as a 4 star I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesleyb456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. While it’s lovely to receive many good reviews such as those further down the page, critical comment is equally welcome if it helps us to improve service.

Firstly, it’s important for me to correct a factual error in your review, so that TripAdvisor members are not misled. This hotel does not have a 4 star rating and is never advertised by us as 4 star. The hotel does, in fact, hold a 2 star VisitScotland rating. We inspect and maintain our rooms to that standard, so that we continue to receive the rating from VisitScotland .

We are in the process of refurbishing bedrooms – currently 20 rooms are being modernised with new bathrooms and replacement windows as appropriate and others will follow.

I would like to make a more thorough investigation into the matters raised in your review and would appreciate an email from you with a little more detail, if you would be kind enough to write to me at Christina@calahotels.com.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim. However, on this occasion we appear to have failed and I offer you my apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As a traveling business man I am looking for a quiet, comfortable sleep in a clean and cared for environment, a hot shower in the morning and a good breakfast. This hotel doesn't offer that.

If you like a hotel cardboard internal walls, creaking floors, single glazing with ill-fitting drafty windows, loads of noise from outside, beds that are way too small, mildew in the bathroom, dirty towels, flaking paint, old and tired decor, loads of interesting, but unhelpful features (like the mirror about 6 feet away from the sink), then this hotel is for you.

I gave it 3 out of 5 because there are two things that are really standing out, and that is that most of the staff is helpful and friendly and breakfast is excellent.

Although the hotel is located close to the centre of Stornoway (and thus really handy for that), its setting is rather off-putting (in the middle of an industrial yard of sorts).

Good WiFi connection in the room.

Despite that, i find it too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room with number 12 or higher. These rooms are quieter and more recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boxercollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. While it’s lovely to receive many good reviews such as those further down the page, critical comment is useful if it helps us to correct shortcomings.

From your description of the bathroom, it’s possible for us to identify the group of rooms you stayed in, as the large mirrors are indeed on a wall at right angles to the basin, about four feet from it.

Because the wash-hand basin is directly below the window, it’s not possible to have a wall mirror directly above it. We are now looking for an alternative shaving mirror with a sufficiently long arm to be fixed to the wall at the side of the window – you’ll appreciate that we cannot place mirrors in bathrooms if they are not fixed, as this could present a hazard.

As part of our current refurbishment programme all rooms now have bath and shower, apart from one, which has shower only. We have just completed the replacement of a good number of windows (including the section of the hotel in which you stayed, where the ensuite bedrooms already provided showers).

Currently, 20 rooms are being freshly decorated and modernised with new bathrooms, while others will follow soon.

I was a little surprised to read that you felt your bed was small, as all of our beds are at least standard double or single size and it appears you had single occupancy in your double room. If we are advised on booking enquiry that a guest is especially tall, we would normally suggest that he or she stay at our sister hotel in Stornoway, the Cabarfeidh, where super king and ziplink doubles are available.

The hotel is situated on a mainly residential section of a street comprising Victorian villas, not far from the town centre and around 100 metres from the Council Offices and the Nicolson Institute secondary school. After about 11pm, nearby roads are generally quiet, so disturbance by passing traffic is unusual. Stornoway’s main trading area is directly to the rear of the hotel – which is in easy walking distance if you have business there and don’t choose to bring your car on the ferry.

Having the convenient proximity of the trading area does mean that rear facing rooms overlook it, so if the view from a bedroom window is important, we suggest that guests ask for an appropriate room when booking.

According to Booking.com the Caladh Inn is the least expensive hotel in Stornoway (double room, 27th January 2014) – also, when you deduct VAT, which is not chargeable by many B&Bs, it’s much the same price as a B&B. Prices here may be a little more expensive here than on the mainland. It costs substantially more to run an accommodation business on an island, with relatively low winter occupancy levels, higher transport costs and high maintenance requirements following harsh winter conditions.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim. Although, on this occasion we appear to have failed to please with your room, I’m happy to see that our staff have been helpful to you and that you’ve enjoyed the ‘no limits’ breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Caladh in Stornoway. A nice quiet room was warm and comfortable. The crowning memory will be the food, which is absolutely excellent. This, combined with friendly and helpful staff, puts it top of the list if I ever have to return to Stornoway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s lovely to read that the efforts we put in to pleasing our guests are appreciated.

Glad that you enjoyed the food – we use as much fresh local produce as we can and our Eleven restaurant is also very popular with people who live here – you know what they say, “Eat where the locals eat!”

I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

World class breakfast. great staff, Good Stornoway welcome. Great location short walk into the town centre. Big carpark next door. No noise in the room so a good nights sleep, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim.

Glad that you enjoyed the ‘no limits’ breakfast buffet - I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Made very welcome by the staff, food choices even over 6 nights very good, rooms are clean and warm. In short nothing to moan about. Car park large enough for all types of vehicles with good access, easy walking distance from ferry and town centre.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Garryxlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated and it looks as if we’ve been successful in our aim to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases.

Glad that you enjoyed the food choices – we cook from fresh using as much local produce as we can- I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

An excellent hotel in the heart of Stornoway. Very good and helpful staff, good clean rooms. Buffet meals were disappointing as I don't like DIY. but otherwise I would certainly stay here again. We had the services of a local guide to take us around the island, he was very knowledgeable and made our stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

The carvery and buffet restaurant concept has proved very popular in Stornoway with guests and local residents alike – two changes of menu each day and we use as much fresh local produce as possible. So there’s always something different.

Sorry that you didn’t prefer the buffet - we appreciate that some prefer not to choose their meals this way, so we offer (at extra cost) an a la carte menu option, too, with everything cooked fresh to order.

Glad that your guide was interesting – The Isle of Lewis has lots of history, scenery and wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing