We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Let Down By The Room's Position”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Let Down By The Room's Position”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The position of the room, which looked out on a strange dark void, was the only real negative we found at this hotel. While the room itself was a good size and had a decent bathroom with shower over the bath and slightly soft but comfortable bed, it was dark and really not fit for purpose due to the lack of light and depressing outlook. Food was varied, with good quality ingredients and well prepared. Staff throughout were very efficient, friendly and engaging. The building itself is a bit soulless but close to the harbour and can easily be reached on foot if travelling without a vehicle.
There is not a lot to recommend Stornoway itself. It could have been anywhere really, but it's a good starting place for working your way round Lewis and down through the other Islands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnthhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    108
    73
    31
    18
See reviews for
30
83
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in a single room at the Caladh. The room was very brown and the only window overlooked a central service shaft, full of fans and air con type units. As a result the room was very very dark, but it was clean and warm.
The bathroom was modern in the '70's but now showing its age, the shower above the bath alternated between warm and cold.
Not really very inspiring and I can't really complain as part of group of friends staying in Stornoway for a couple of nights I was literally using the room for sleep and a shower. I suppose as a compromise the room was relatively cheap.
Stornoway itself was very dull and as a consequence of failing to find food in town we ate at the hotel. The food was ok, a nice salad and salmon; perfectly edible. I would recommend the food, but if you want a luxury hotel, then the Caladh may not be for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Caladh Inn for five nights recently whilst attending a conference in Stornoway, which included use of several of the hotel's larger rooms for conference events. I stayed in a single room which was basic yet serviceable. The hotel decor is slightly dated but as several people have already pointed out, there is a limit to what luxury one might expect from a 2* hotel. Rooms were very clean and tidy, and all facilities worked without problems. The staff were extremely courteous and efficient, and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome during the conference. Breakfast facilities were available from 5AM, which was very convenient for those of us catching the early ferry back to Ullapool. The hotel is conveniently close to Stornoway city centre as well as the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB42SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nothing wrong with this hotel, but just all "average". Friendly reception, clean and warm room, but small single bed. Tea making facilities. Probably oldest TV I can remember seeing, so old it didn't show the pictures in the right format, but there are worse things in life!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst exploring Isle of Lewis and Isle of Harris.
Room very clean and tidy, very quiet, staff polite and courteous, evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. Not far from the ferry terminal which was convenient at 5am!!

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel , it's very basic but it is a 2star hotel so can't expect luxury. My room was a double and of a decent size , the heating could have been a tad warmer but it was tolerable and not cold , my room faced the front and I thought wasn't noisey even though it faced the main road. Inside the room was most things that you would need my only gripe was the folding iron press didn't work. The toilets are a bit irritating with the noise after flushing and the extractor makes a bit of noise. The resteraunt was very good , the carvery is a good idea and seems to be popular with guests. The staff are friendly enough and willing to help . Overall would I go back , no I don't think I would the hotel looks a bit dated and needs tarted up , having said that there's not too much wrong with it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McIntosh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here a year ago while they were upgrading. It seems that the only thing upgraded were the doors to the rooms. The furniture and decor is tired and dated. There was only one available socket in the room - which stank of smoke - and the television was a 4:3 version so old that it had no remote control. It was impossible to get a signal on the free wifi. Extremely disappointed, but at least the food was good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view, rather than one that looks onto another wall 4 feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stornoway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
186 reviews
14.5 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Property: Caladh Inn
Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing