We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but pity not all rooms as you would hope for price paid”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just had a couple of days staying at Caladh Inn. The restaurant buffet is fabulous and the £7 take away option a great and popular idea. However regarding the accommodation we did have the tiniest bathroom ever aside from being disappointed there was no bath. I did enquire about this and there are better rooms than ours (room 36). The decor and the comfort of the bedroom were very average too - sorry - because the customer service - aside from our initial welcome (none too informative) - and delicious food was great. I would only use the accommodation again if I could be assured of a better standard of room. This is a popular, well located hotel, for tourists so clearly the latter depends on the seasonal demands. One last thing it would be good if the doors were fixed so they don't slam shut when guests are entering or leaving in the wee hours - otherwise very peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and also book direct with hotel as it should be cheaper despite the so called...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedavybreaksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Caladh Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had four nights at The Caladh Inn. The manager and staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the location is excellent for touring Lewis and Harris.

The Inn is being renovated; the downside of this is that it looks and feels a little tired, and in need of some additional loving care. Fair value overall

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The position of the room, which looked out on a strange dark void, was the only real negative we found at this hotel. While the room itself was a good size and had a decent bathroom with shower over the bath and slightly soft but comfortable bed, it was dark and really not fit for purpose due to the lack of light and depressing outlook. Food was varied, with good quality ingredients and well prepared. Staff throughout were very efficient, friendly and engaging. The building itself is a bit soulless but close to the harbour and can easily be reached on foot if travelling without a vehicle.
There is not a lot to recommend Stornoway itself. It could have been anywhere really, but it's a good starting place for working your way round Lewis and down through the other Islands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnthhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in a single room at the Caladh. The room was very brown and the only window overlooked a central service shaft, full of fans and air con type units. As a result the room was very very dark, but it was clean and warm.
The bathroom was modern in the '70's but now showing its age, the shower above the bath alternated between warm and cold.
Not really very inspiring and I can't really complain as part of group of friends staying in Stornoway for a couple of nights I was literally using the room for sleep and a shower. I suppose as a compromise the room was relatively cheap.
Stornoway itself was very dull and as a consequence of failing to find food in town we ate at the hotel. The food was ok, a nice salad and salmon; perfectly edible. I would recommend the food, but if you want a luxury hotel, then the Caladh may not be for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Caladh Inn for five nights recently whilst attending a conference in Stornoway, which included use of several of the hotel's larger rooms for conference events. I stayed in a single room which was basic yet serviceable. The hotel decor is slightly dated but as several people have already pointed out, there is a limit to what luxury one might expect from a 2* hotel. Rooms were very clean and tidy, and all facilities worked without problems. The staff were extremely courteous and efficient, and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome during the conference. Breakfast facilities were available from 5AM, which was very convenient for those of us catching the early ferry back to Ullapool. The hotel is conveniently close to Stornoway city centre as well as the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SB42SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nothing wrong with this hotel, but just all "average". Friendly reception, clean and warm room, but small single bed. Tea making facilities. Probably oldest TV I can remember seeing, so old it didn't show the pictures in the right format, but there are worse things in life!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank AH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst exploring Isle of Lewis and Isle of Harris.
Room very clean and tidy, very quiet, staff polite and courteous, evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. Not far from the ferry terminal which was convenient at 5am!!

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are the same
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
109 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing