We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Second visit here on business, very good location. Outside of hotel does not do justice to the interior. I had a large double room, very comfortable and clean.

Restaurant ok but nothing to write home about. Started with the infamous black pudding pakora followed by the pork vindaloo which was deliciously spicy but loaded with coconut which somewhat detracted from the taste. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, hot items and bread to toast.

I would recommend the Caladh Inn for location and room quality but there are better places to eat locally.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    106
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
29
78
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent one night here, myself and my wife.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful, and check in was quick and efficient. our room was large as we had notified in advance that my wife has mobility problems and uses a wheelchair.

The bathroom had a shower over bath which my wife could not use but the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

The only real problem was during the night when i was awoken by my wife who had visited the bathroom and tripped over a threshold strip across the bathroom doorway and hit the wall opposite and ended up on the floor... so a memorable night for the wrong reasons.

All in all this hotel is in a great location for visiting the town and as a base to explore further, good motivated staff and lots of potential for future development i would certainly go back for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keefo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. welcome was warm but the rooms as the hotel is aware was in need of a refurb. our room 34, was ok but very much in need of updating. the front fell off the trouser press onto my foot when i tried to use it. i was woken very early the first morning by chronic back ache and realised that the mattress was sagging so much that it was impossible to lie flat. the next night i slept with 2 pillows down the middle of the bed to try and counteract the roll. i slept better that night! the food was excellent and the restaurant is much used by the locals always a good sign. was it not for the mattress which needed throwing out i would have rated the hotel a bit higher.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently spent four nights at this hotel, it was very clean, very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The food was excellent, could not fault it. Thank you for a lovely stay, I will be back again soon x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arriving here I thought "ugh another drab UK hotel". Not so! While the decor is most definitely drab the rooms are nice, though not spacious, the bathroom has a roomy shower/bath and plenty of space which is unusual in this neck of the woods. Would be even nicer if there were wash cloths and kleenex!

Restaurant is good with cafeteria style bkfst and supper with decent assortment of foods to satisfy just about anyone.

Front desk staff and restaurant staff were uniformly pleasant.

Location is convenient to anything you need to see in Stornaway although not particularly scenic. Supermarket right around the corner and walking distance to the limited number of sights.

We're with a group so have no idea of the hotel rates but our overall experience has been very good as has everyone's in our group.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Here on business for an overnight stay. Staff helpful and welcoming. Free wifi. Room fine and bathroom clearly has been recently refurbished, which was good. Breakfast was fine. Yeah - as it says in the title, a perfectly pleasant hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

‘Caladh Inn’ Stornoway – Western Isles of Scotland

A large low building, this hotel is one of the few on Stornoway. As you go in you notice that the décor is very 70’s, but everything is clean and tidy. Unfortunately the location of the Hotel is next to a building storage site, so views are not an option. The hotel is on a main road, but this goes quiet at night.

The food is absolutely superb. There were lovely fresh joints of lamb and scotch beef for carving, and perfectly cooked vegetables to serve for yourself. Breakfasts were equally very good.

There is a very large residents lounge, with comfortable sofas - also a snooker table – and very large TV.

The hotel is keen to attract local residents into their restaurant, and with the quality of food served being so good, they have no problem with extra customers.

The rooms are a bit tight for space, but the en suite’s are much larger than usual

This is a homely hotel offering excellent food with a friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanDWarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
184 reviews
14.5 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Property: Caladh Inn
Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing