We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoundingly good service”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed 30 April 2006

We usually avoid two-star hotels, but this was a pleasant surprise. Sure, the room was in need of fresh decor, but it was very clean and had all the basics you expect in a hotel room. The TV did only have four channels, but that's more to do with the fact that it's in the Western Isles. Who goes to Lewis to watch television, anyway? The bathroom had been renovated, with fresh tiling, a new heated towel rail and a shower over the enormous bath.
The new restaurant, Eleven, serves some of the best seafood we've come across. It's a carvery style, with some a la carte dishes and can be noisy if there are a lot of kids in, but the food is worth it.
The thing that made this hotel stand out was the quality of the service. All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, working as a team, even though this early in the season there were obviously some staff shortages.
The only minus during our stay was the lack of hot water on our last morning. This should be sorted out. Apart from that, this hotel (staff and management) is obviously working hard to improve and gradually renovating the rooms. It was well above the standard we have previously experienced in two-star hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 320 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dundee, Scotland
114
Reviewed 9 October 2005

I also stayed in this hotel on business. It has now been renamed The Caladh - so beware. I too found the reception area and other public areas fine but the guest areas were a disgrace. The extractor fan in the bathroom was caked in fluffy dust. It's a long time since I had to fix a rubber shower attachment onto the bath taps in a hotel and finally on the day I was leaving THERE WAS NO HOT WATER! The room was also cold, this is the far north of Scotland in winter for goodness sake. At 830 in the morning the hot food at the breakfast buffet had clearly been lying out for some time - rubbery fried egg syndrome. The only plus was the staff were very friendly and helpful but they're struggling in the face of very poor guest facilities. The hotel is ugly and frankly the architecture is an embarrassment to the town. Pull it down and start again folks.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Stayed here on business for one night only. The reception area was beautiful and has clearly been remodelled recently. The rooms however were dismal. Furniture was basic and chipped, bedding stained and shabby, rooms were cold with no way of adjusting temperature. The TV did not have a remote control and only 4 channels. Basically a hotel room from the 1970's which has not been updated since.

On the plus side I ate in the restaurant and was plesantly surprised. The decor is awful, reminded me of a very tacky, cheap Indian restaurant however the food was first class and the wine list had some decent choices.

I wouldn't choose to stay here again, the hotel were keen to stress that the Cabarfeidh (sister hotel) was much nicer which I feel spoke volumes.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maalfrid1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bmsjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Magpie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pascaldecarcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
15 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing