We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Very good and fun

Instructor was very friendly and helpful. Walked us through ever step and repeated anything we... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
highwayhebrides
,
Fife, United Kingdom
via mobile
Awesome way to tour the Castle grounds

I took my boyfriend for his birthday and we had an absolute blast. Findlay was a great instructor... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
Cat C
via mobile
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
124
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fun castle grounds pot holes great tour great instructor fantastic views visiting stornoway findlay exhilarating lews safety jaunt grips beginners nerves activity terrain
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My first ride on a Segway and it really was a blast. The most fun I had in ages. The Rangers were friendly and helpful in getting you started and you get the hang of the machine very quickly. The route that we took was a warm up ride initially before heading onto more challenging terrain.

Riding a mixture of footpaths, trails and dirt tacks, the Segway handled all with ease and I was grinning like a lunatic the whole time I was out. I would imagine the route and speed of the tour is tailored to suit the group at any one time therefore the experience is suitable for all ages from teenage upwards. The Rangers can quickly pick up on each individual's ability during the short induction.

Small children are excluded for obvious reasons, the risk of injury would be an issue.

These things can get up to a fair speed and I found as a motorcycle rider that the key to getting the most out of a Segway is to stay focused on your surroundings and become one with the machine and let it be an extension of your body.

Great fun for locals and visitors alike. If you are a visitor to the island I highly recommend this experience as it's a fun way to see the vast area that is the Castle Grounds. It is a truly beautiful and tranquil environment. Being battery powered the Segway does in no way detract from this.

A Ranger rides ahead as a scout to alert us of people ahead, many walkers, joggers and cyclists use the paths. The puzzled look on a dog's face as I slowly passed by it was priceless. Leaning slightly forward and we were off again, the acceleration is surprisingly quick.

Before I knew it we were back at the Woodland Centre and I was truly exhilarated by the ride. I wanted to go again. I will certainly be back for another go soon.

For the benefit of visitors I would point out that the Woodland Centre has a decent cafe that you could perhaps unwind at afterwards.

Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank davehal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Positives:

1) Friendly guides - cheerful & helpful
2) Good instruction - guides patient & kind
3) Castle grounds beautiful
4) Website nice & clear to use*
5) Great fun going cross country through woodlands etc
6) There is café nearby afterwards for lunch :-)

Negatives:

1) My ears got a bit cold just wearing the helmet so would advise wearing a hat too if you suffer from cold ears while outdoors like I do!
2) Would have been good to have gotten more information on the different buildings/monuments etc on the tour
3) * Didn't say on website where to meet - had to phone to find out
4) Over too soon! Time passed so quick!

- All in all, a great activity. Would recommend to friends visiting the island. Cost was £25 per person payable via the website before attending.

Date of experience: September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank RayCalebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Segway Hebrides, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hi RayCalebex, we are pleased you enjoyed your Segway experience! We have updated the 'Find Us' section on our website with walking, driving, and satnav instructions for how to find the tour start location in the Castle Grounds. Thank you for the feedback on locating us and the information needed on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great place to try out a Segway, good mix of small tracks and road surfaces to go on. Segway Ranger very helpful in setting you up, showing the ropes and getting you on your way. Recommended fun time out.

Date of experience: August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tapman299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews