We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun!”
Review of Segway Hebrides

Segway Hebrides
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway Hebrides provides tours in Lews Castle Grounds in Stornoway. Travelling on the off-road Segway X2, we glide over terrain and tracks including coastal paths, riverside and woodlands. Your guide will provide historical, wildlife and local information in line with each group's interests. Tours start and end at the Woodlands Centre cafe.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a great experience that had us all grinning from ear to ear. Our 12 year old daughter loved it. We started out with some very good instruction that was worth the time to do. Lovely views and interspersed with some interesting info about the Castle and area. We had so much fun - would definitely recommend. Book ahead. Somewhat hard to find but located in the Woodland Cafe on the Lews Castle grounds. Free parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBrinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M, Owner at Segway Hebrides, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your Segway experience with us! Thank you for the feedback about about finding us in the Lews Castle Grounds. We are hoping to add more signage soon and will review the location information on our website too to help customers with finding us in the future.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the Outer Hebrides!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the whole family...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A fantastic experience that let 3 generations have a great time together while exploring the area around the castle. From 16 yr olds to 69 yr old gran, we all had fun while learning a new skill on the Segways. The tuition was excellent and we enjoyed it so much we went back for a second day. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Best fun ever , amazing staff so friendly & helpful . Can't wait to do it again. It's the way to see the grounds in a very relaxed way. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience as part of our hen day. We had a few not so young with us and they also thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Scarletviolet775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Brilliant way to see the castle grounds and lovely views, so much fun. The guide was fab too. Would recommend this to everyone, will def do it again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louisegibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Gentle Segway”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The day was dry and this first try on a real Segway was great fun and as good as I could have possibly hoped. (The only Segway I had ever been on was courtesy of Nintendo via a balance board in my living room. This electronic version proved to have been a very realistic impersonation of the real thing and a good introduction to the balance skill required.)
We had 2 or was it 3 hours and the time flew by. First the initial acclimatisation on the level green. Then some small slopes. Then off on the path to explore the estate as a group. One in our party was a little slow so we did not go as far as our Instructor originally intended. Not to worry on this minor detail, it was a most memorable pleasant experience.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway Hebrides also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Segway Hebrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing