We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Braighe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braighe House
Ranked #12 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had two nights here and found it a most comfortable and welcoming B&B which merited its 5 star rating. Our room was very comfortable, though not that large, with a good sized bathroom with lashings of hot water. The room had all the facilities you could want. The large sitting room with lovely views over the bay was a very pleasant place to spend a few hours. Breakfast was excellent. The owners, John and Allison, were very friendly and helpful without being in any way intrusive. Braighe House is only a five minute drive from the centre of Stornoway and we would have no hesitation in recommending It.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    8
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Braighe House. We had a very spacious and comfortable room with a superb en-suite shower room. Breakfasts were excellent and really set us up for the day. The proprietors were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The only thing I would warn people about is the bottom stair on the staircase to the bedrooms. This stair is deeper than the others which is not so noticeable on the way up but takes you by surprise on the way down! I nearly took a tumble twice coming down the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed with John and Alison for 2 nights and had the most wonderful time with them and their pair of spaniels. The rooms are spacious and all the furnishings are first class. A guest lounge is available where you can relax and reflect on the day's activities/adventure or contemplate the day ahead. Breakfast's are substantial and absolutely delicious. Thanks John and Alison for inviting us in to meet your friends to share a dram or 2.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for two nights and both Alison and John were fantastic hosts. Alison was very kind to organise dinner bookings for both nights for us and both proved to be worth while going to.
The morning after we arrived was Sunady when nothing is open on the Isle of Lewis so Alison sent us off with a lovely packed lunch which made it easy for us. She also lent us a book on walks around Lewis because we had planned to do a walk on the Sunday.
Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious. The room was beautiful and the bed was the best bed I'd slept in since leaving home 6 weeks earlier.
My wife and I loved this place and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcbar1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Braighe House is easily found a short distance from the centre of Stornoway on what counts as a main road on Lewis but we found it to be very quiet.The owners have gone out of their way to differentiate themselves from your normal B & B, so evrything about the place shouts quality. Spacious bedroom and en suite and everything you could ask for or expect was provided. There's a comfortable guest lounge overlooking the bay, wifi if you want it, and an excellent breakfast. Admittedly it's not cheap, but in this world you get what you pay for and that certainly applies here. We'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the property (we could still see the sea) so if you are concerned about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were warmly welcomed and very well looked after in an unobtrusive way for our one night stay. As it was a special anniversary, we had asked for some champagne to be provided for our arrival, and this was all laid on just as we asked. Our booking at Digby Chick was checked for us and we were given even given a lift into town. There were plenty of taxis for our return journey, which cost only a few pounds.

We thought that the location was perfect as it was so convenient for the airport and the town, but provided lovely views across the bay from our room, which was tasefully furnished and spotless.

Breakfast (chosen the night before from an extensive menu) was delicious and great advice was given for our next few days, with a phone call made to check whether seats were available for a trip to St Kilda. Without the enouragement of John and Alison, we might not have made that booking (or been too late) and would have missed out on a most amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We took ferry over to Stornaway for the weekend. Had read some reviews before going. The ones saying it was too far out of Stornaway didn't bother us as we came in our car. Others said it was a noisy road in front of property. We never heard a thing. We enjoyed the view from our front room. (lovely sea views) The couple who owns it (John & Alison) keep the house immaculate and are happy to help with any advice on recommending restaurants and sites to see. Breakfasts are up with best we have ever had. Fresh well cooked and piping hot. We would highly recommend to anybody

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAB5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
2.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braighe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braighe House

Property: Braighe House
Address: 20 Braighe Road, Stornoway HS2 0BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Braighe House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Braighe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braighe House Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing