We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shop”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stornoway VisitScotland iCentre
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Shop”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

WE visited as I wanted a Harris Tweed handbag - got the one I wanted, what a great little shop, full of useful info for the Hebrides and beyond

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    5
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We telephoned prior to our visit to the Outer Hebrides for help with accommodation - had to leave a message on the answerphone and they never returned our call

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Who do they help?”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As in most towns we visit, the Information Centre is quickly spotted,by its distinctive logo. They are often a disappointment and Stornoway certainly was. On entering the nicely laid out shop,neither assistant looked up,or spoke . They were sorting out some problem they had. We browsed round the shelves for about 10 minutes,keeping an eye open for local walks leaflets. Eventually,I asked the girl. Very offhandedly,she said we could walk in the grounds of the castle. We left the shop after buying 3 postcards. During the 2 weeks we were on the island we walked 100+ miles,amazing coastal walks,some road walks,,spectacular scenery and views,much enjoyed.
An interested assistant could have shown an interest in 2, new to the island tourists. How long did we have?,Where were we staying?, Could have given info on getting to the historic sites,Where to eat,Where to buy lunch,good cafes,opening times, Public toilets,local bus services. After a few days,we found out all these things by asking. When newly off the ferry,Information Centre sounds like a place to get info of the kind we needed. As another reviewer says,"stick to the internet if you want to know anything." Sorry Visit Scotland,you don't seem to be doing it for tourists nowadays.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbalbans
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unhelpful”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Sorry did not rate the help in here at all. Better off sticking to the Internet if you want to know anything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Flory44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Local's View”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I often visit to get leaflets for freinds proposing to visit. They have a comprehensive stock & go out of their way ti=o help locals & visitors alike. They also have a reasonable gift selection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainwiththeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stornoway VisitScotland iCentre also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Stornoway VisitScotland iCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing