We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iolaire Lodge Reveiw”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I visit Lewis regularly and I have chosen to stay at the Iolaire lodge on a number of occasion's. The lodge is ideal for our family with young children with all the practical stuff that us parents need such as washing machine, tumble drier, dishwasher, dining area and fully stocked kitchen etc. whilst also having a number of treats for the children such as Sky TV, free wi-fi and the surprise box of toys and books which were delivered on our arrival much to our children's delight. The lodge is spacious and warm with hot water always available and in short, has everything we need for a home from home (in addition to some extras such as the hot tub, spa bath and sauna!). The booking process was very professional and the owners make every effort to accommodate your needs and arrival times. This is an excellent accommodation choice in Stornoway and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a "home" experience rather than a hotel room whilst on a trip to the island. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spagan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed at the Craigroyston Lodge in November to celebrate a birthday. We were all very impressed with the high standard of the lodge, it was very spacious and clean and we also enjoyed the warm reception from Graham when we arrived. The kitchen was extremely well equipped meaning we could cook meals and we were also able to make a birthday cake with ease. The house was very warm and comfortable and we had an excellent sleep every night due to the amazing beds. The bathrooms were very clean but especially enjoyed the upstairs shower, which is definitely the best i've ever come across. We were hesitant to brave the hot tub in the cold november weather but it was well worth it!! Excellent touch and really made us feel like V.I.P.s!
The surrounding area was very quiet and peaceful but only a 5 minute drive from the town centre, perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Craigroyston met all our expectations and beyond! We enjoyed family Christmas and New year .... warm, cosy, clean, and well equipped. The house is very warm and well laid out.
Great to be able to take the dog ..... (could do with a secure gate on the driveway tho which would have meant the dog could have been left outside unsupervised). We cooked a full hearty Xmas lunch ... including large Turkey.... no problem! Spent most of my (mum) time in the luxurious shower (with radio and disco lights!!)! fab. Sitting room leather chairs/settees so comfortable and cosy! The outdoor Spa Tub was fabulous - very hot! just what we needed after walking the fabulous beaches! A heater/radiator in the main entrance foyer would help to dry wet coats! We had a lovely Christmas Tree waiting for us - and champers on leaving! nice touch Graham thank you. The showers are both very very efficient... & loads of hot water.
A fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muddy663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifiis, Owner at Hebridean Luxury Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi J, many thanks for your review and I hope that you can return and see the islands in the summer... the beaches are even more beautiful then. The hot tub is proving very popular with our guests as you would imagine. Re the missing gate, there is indeed a gate, but I have lifted it off the gate post. Unfortunately a couple of guests have left their dogs outside and unsupervised….. the gardener was not impressed when he strimmed the lawns the following week!! Best Regards, G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Have stayed in most of the lodges over the last few years, and continue to be impressed by the consistent high standard of these extremely well appointed and comfortable homes from home. Last visit, on a cold and wet December found the heating already on and the fire lit, Graham, the owner, called in to welcome us aboard and generally ensure all was in order. We have no hesitation in continuing to recommend the lodges as being very suited to couples and families of all ages.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Barraidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Just back from a wonderful and surprisingly relaxing Christmas at Metagama (stayed in Metagama twice before and Craigroyston too). House was spotless as usual with a very welcome fire already on for our arrival plus a gorgeous Christmas tree which was a lovely touch. Kitchen passed the ultimate test with cooking a Christmas dinner. Can sometimes be quite tricky cooking in self-catering properties but the kitchens are REALLY well equipped so it all worked out brilliantly. Weather was pretty rainy but that just made it all the lovelier for staying cosy indoors watching Christmas films with the family. We did venture out to the beaches of Harris for a bracing walk and to let the kids let off steam...a drive down to Harris is a must whenever you're on the island, as is dinner out at Digby Chicks in Stornoway itself. Can't wait to get back, hopefully in the summer.

Room Tip: Gorgeous bathroom in Metagama with lovely corner jacuzzi bath, sauna and twinkly ceiling lights that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Got-The-T-Shirt-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

What a disappointment from start to end. We find these reviews on here hard to believe in light of our experience. Let me preface this by saying that although we do not habitually stay in 5 star accommodation - we have for special occasions splurged and enjoyed some of Scotland's finest 5star places (croft 103 in Durness being our all time fav!). Metagama lodge failed miserably we are sorry to say. The space itself is good and has such potential. Potential that for us was not realised.
There's a list of things we felt were not in any way up to scratch:
The grubby hand (or maybe dog snout?) marks on the patio doors on arrival - remnants of the previous occupants.
The oven which did not work, and although they eventually managed to get a man out (a local joiner?) to see it, at 9pm on the Saturday evening, still did not work and was not fixed during our stay.
The dust on the floor in the bedroom which clung to any clothes dropped on the floor.
The filthy kitchen floor on arrival - first thing we did was get the mop out!
Horrifically there was blood staining on the top of the sheets when we got into bed on the first night - likely from a finger quick, but still!!!!!!
The piece de la resistance was the disgusting layer of scum that rose to the surface of the jacuzzi bath when we decided to us it on the last night. Needless to say the bath was abandoned.
The gas fire was not working properly, and despite calling help out it still did not work as the person who came out was not familiar with the facility, nor was the joiner who they also sent out. The fire did work on occasion, but it took ages to ignite, and was very hit and miss.
The whole place is in need of a lift- beds are not at all comfy.

On the plus side, Graham had arranged for a bottle of bubbly on arrival for us which was a nice gesture.

The island itself is beautiful, and well worth a visit.

Hebridean "luxury" villas, probably best avoiding them.

Upon returning home we emailed Graham, To express our disappointment at our stay and outlined the issues noted above. Our email was not met with any grace, or apology. He had the audacity to say that he had good cleaning staff (really!), and that they had been recently reviewed by visit Scotland who had awarded them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifiis, Owner at Hebridean Luxury Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Don't argue with idiots. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience. Mark Twain.
How very true in this instance. From the first ridiculous e-mail of complaint I received from these two it was immediately clear that I was out of my depth and hence took the unusual step of reporting myself to Visit Scotland’s standards department. All correspondence was relayed to them and the name of the officer dealing supplied to my erstwhile guests.
On the Saturday of their arrival, the fan oven failed. A man was found and it was repaired and remains working today. Getting someone out on a Saturday evening was I think a pretty good effort. Fan ovens are not liable to maintenance and this failure was unpredictable and hence unavoidable. The igniter on the gas fire had been replaced six weeks PRIOR to their arrival. Obviously there were operator problems, perhaps I need to provide detailed instructions. Never a problem before but nothing is completely idiot proof.
NO FINANCIAL REFUND, either in full or in part is due. This is where my dealing with the complaint fell down, ie I was not willing to make any refund. Not that the complaint wasn’t dealt with, but that the result wasn’t what was hoped for. Again, NO REFUND was due.
On the Saturday you arrived, the guests in the sister lodge next door departed. They left a TA review, (25th October 12) saying that the lodge was “spotlessly clean”. This from a reviewer with 60 posts!! A very different picture to the one you have painted on this, your first TA review. Pure defamation from you, as the other 80 excellent TA reviews bear witness to.
By posting your review you seem at last to have understood that NO REFUND is coming to you and assume you have not received satisfaction from Visit Scotland either. Over the past eight years I have had several thousand guests, many return each year. There are only two or three that I would have any doubts about welcoming back. But the two of you are the pick of the bunch by the proverbial country mile, I would not wish you on my worst enemy, you deserve to me miserable in each other’s company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Extremely clean with all the amenities you could ever need for a short or long stay (sauna, power shower, Jacuzzi, dishwasher, full sky package, broadband). Would definitely recommend and look forward to returning early next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
0 mi away
Stornoway Bed and Breakfast Ltd
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Luxury Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Luxury Holidays

Address: 29 Kenneth Street | 5 Lower Sandwick HS20AE, Stornoway HS1 2UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Visit Scotland 5 star graded lodges, two with outside hot tubs., and two 4 star graded houses. Jacuzzi baths and IR Saunas are found in both "Iolaire" and "Metagama". These timber clad lodges boast cathedral ceilings and timber flooring and are ideal for both family holidays and romantic getaway breaks. We have many honeymoon couples visit each year. The two properties rated 4 star are ideal for both holiday visitors and corporate guests staying longer term. All properties have wi- fi internet access and most have Sky TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebrides Self Catering Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Luxury Holidays Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing