We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage with amazing views. The owners...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of THE BARN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Kitchen
bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
showeroom
beach'
lounge
Lounge
Bedroom
Hallway
Showeroom
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul J
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage with amazing views. The owners are fantastic”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our second visit to The Barn. Everything was perfect. The accommodation was spotless on out arival and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. There was a nice welcome package waiting in the fridge.

The beds are very comfortable and the lounge is well stocked with books and DVDs. The WiFi is better than we get at home.

Lilian and John are perfect hosts and were happy to accommodate our little dog (she loved it too).

Hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Oh thank you so much for all your positive comments-were overwhelmed and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look
forward to welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Lilian & john.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999Jim999
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well appointed Holiday home”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Owners very helpful and friendly. Wonderful View of Broad bay. The house is very well equipped. Kitchen has a good sized fridge freezer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We do appreciate guests finding the time and effort to write a review. We try our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed hosting you both and wish you well.

Kind regards
Lilian & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEM61
1 review
“Cosy comfortable cabin”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a lovely week staying at The Barn.
It may look small from the outside but it is surprisingly roomy inside and is very well equipped with everything you might need for your stay.
It was warm and cosy inside, we had fantastic weather so didn't need to put any heating on but there are plenty heaters should it get a bit chilly outside.
The hosts, Lillian and John, were very friendly and helpful and are only too pleased to help with tips on where to visit etc. They also provide a nice welcome basket of goodies to start you off when you arrive.
We found The Barn to be in a very good location, handy for Stornoway but in a nice countryside area with some lovely beaches just a few minutes drive away.There were also some nice walks from The Barn and a relaxing view across fields to the sea from the livingroom.
I would certainly recommend The Barn and it's hosts as providing a great base on a beautiful island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Aww...thank you so so much for your kind and wonderful comments. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay.As long as our guests are comfortable and happy-thats all we want. It makes everything all worthwhile!. It was a pleasure hosting you both and we wish you well and would welcome you back anytime in the future.
Kindest regards
Lilian & nohn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah c
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely wee cabin with views across the sea”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in Lilian and John's cabin last week and had a lovely time. Both were very welcoming and provided us with some lovely, free goodies! Lillian and John are very hospitable and are more than happy to provide information about the local area and the islands in general. The Barn is very cosy with ample heating and protection from the often harsh weather! The view from the living room across the sea is particularly lovely, especially during a beautiful sunrise/sunset. The Barn is about 15-20 minutes drive from Stornaway and there is a shop/garage within a couple of minutes drive (or a wee bit of a walk), which stocks plenty of produce and also has the cheapest fuel on the island. There are also a couple of beaches within a ten minute drive and a driving range. I would have no hesitation in recommending and hope to pop by and say hello again to Lillian and John when I'm up next time visiting my friends (who were unable to accomodate me this time, hence staying at The Barn).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay in "The Barn" We do appreciate guests taking the time to leave reviews.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind reards
Lilian & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misrepresentation of accommodation it was not a large place but a portacabin”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Too small for 3 people. Not disabled friendly shower had high step plus no grab rail. Kitchen was very small room only for one person at a time. Hallway could only accommodate one person at a time. Price did not reflect the accommodation. We were not told about toileteries meant for other guests! Furniture not suitable for me had to be assisted out of chair - too low. Would not recommend this property to anyone. Really disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
THIS IS A FOLLOW UP ON THE PREVIOUS REVIEW BY "SUZANNE"
THIS IS NOW THE MOTHER "HELEN" DOING ANOTHER REVIEW.

We have already responded with our comments in the previous review and have no further comments to add as all been said and documented.

FINAL NOTE TO FUTURE GUESTS:-

As already stated in the previous review-we have been fortunate and blessed to have hosted such wonderfull people from all over the world, without any problems or negativity. We have repeat Guests so that lets you know the TRUE and HONEST opinion of genuine people. We just reiterate to future viewers-just check previous reviews in order to get a true and factual opinion.
To Helen(Mother) Suzanne (Daughter)- i do hope you get over your "problems" but, if at a future date you wish to return for another visit- we would be more than delighted to welcome you!!
Good Luck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzane D
1 review
“Average by Suzane”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really wanted to like this place. However, LIllian acted as though it was an inconvenience to host us, we never met the husband and we only spoke to LIllian 3 or 4 times in the week we were there. She denied all knowledge of the dog although we filled in all the forms, there was some discussion about the cost of having him there. I have been over the site since and cannot see anything about a refundable deposit.I wanted to get a better measure of Lillians character so I took some tat, that is now in the post back to her, to gauge her reaction. She was beyond rude to my mum and upset her.
Regarding the accommodation itself
1 its a converted portacabin, with cladding. The name the barn is misleading.
2 it is so small inside that there is no privacy, it is so close to the main house that there is no privacy outside.
3 the kitchen is well stocked but can only really fit one person at a time.
4 the internet is patchy.
5 it is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues.-the shower has a step and no handles, the chairs are too low, there is a step Into the portacabin.
6 the parking is on the main road.
7 its a 20 minutes car journey and 45 minutes bus ride to town.
8 the welcome hamper was for 2 people, our party was for 3

Overall we feel ripped off and would recommend the hostel in Stornoway itself for better facilities and value for money.We wish LIllian and the husband all the best for the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your comments. So sorry you didnt enjoy your stay at "The Barn". Unfortunately, you departed in the morning before we had the chance to wish you a safe journey home! Fortunately, this has never happened before. As the saying goes - "You can please everybody some of the time but, you cannot please everybody ALL of the time. Perhaps when you recover from your "Health Issues" you would enjoy another return to the "Hostelry" in Stornoway

OH by the way, we still await the return of the "TAT" as you refer to, in your review-the items taken from our premises, without our consent.
We do wish Helen, Suzanne and her son HEALTH and happiness in the future.

FOR FUTURE REVIEWERS/GUESTS;-

Anybody who has stayed in "The Barn" and who knows john and I, will appreciate the above Review- is totally out of charachter, lenient with the truth, and unfounded.
We ask future guests to view ALL our prevous reviews where they will find honest and positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillwalke...
tayside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wee place”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very cosy and comfortable place to stay in the lovely Isle of Lewis.
My husband and I enjoyed our few days break and Lilian was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed.
One thing to remember is that you have to be organized for meals unless you want to spend your time driving to and from Stornoway instead of relaxing and enjoying the view!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you so .much for your kind words about your stay in The Barn. It was a pleasure having you stay and if in the future you would like a return visit-you would be more than welcome.
Appreciate you spending the time to give us a review.
Kind regards
Lilian & john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing