We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed for two evenings through a groupon special offer. Having read some previous reviews we were slightly apprehensive about this hotel, but we had nothing to be concerned about. Yes, if you are expecting a posh 4 star spa resort, then you may be disappointed, however, if you like a basic, but spotlessly clean room, very friendly staff, and views to die for, then you will be very happy here.
We found the lounge area with huge picture windows and comfy seating a perfect place to sip a few drinks (reasonably priced) and watch the beautiful scenery that surrounds this hotel. Where else can you look out your window to find a stag and his doe grazing serenely in front of you?
Rooms are of a generous size, with a new flat panel television, and as I said previously spotlessly clean. As stated in other reviews walls are thin,however, this did not cause us any problem, as the hotel was quite quiet - this may be an issue in the height of the season. I did find the mattresses quite old and not exceptionally comfortable, but for the two nights I slept fine. Bathrooms could do with being updated,but are very clean, and we had ample hot water.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evening, preferring to walk into Craignure to the Inn, but the breakfasts were very good, with good quality produce - nice thick bacon, meaty pork sausages, haggis, black pudding, eggs and tomatoes, as well as cereals etc.
The swimming pool and spa facilities were very nice, and the lady at the spa reception was exceptionally friendly. The foot spa especially was fantastic, I could have sat on this cozy tiled seat, with my feet in the frothy water all day long.
Overall, we loved our stay here, and will certaibly be back at this hotel for some more rest and relaxtion.

Room Tip: Higher room facing the lovely sound of Mull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LelBFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to all of our team.

I certainly do hope that you will return soon.

Kind Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We all have different experiences of hotels and, if you are used to some of the modern chains, you might find some aspects of the Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa hotel disappointing. Possibly because less money is spent of elaborate fixtures and fittings, the hotel is able to offer excellent value for money, especially if you can take advantage of the Crerar special deals. This hotel offers wonderful views, a fantastic swimming pool which seems greatly underused, great food and a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are fresh and have TVs that receive all the digital channels - although the en-suite plumbing can be a bit ropey! Our recent visit did raise a few minor issues however, which we assume to be teething troubles associated with the reopening of the hotel after the winter.
My wife had booked this break early in February and requested a sea facing room. On arrival, we were allocated one of the few rooms that doesn’t have a sea view. When we tried to contact reception to report the problem we found that the ‘phone in the room wasn’t working. After traipsing back down to reception to explain the problem we were told that a change of room this could only be accommodated if we were to accept a twin room. I find this odd as most hotels nowadays have flexible accommodation that can be made into a twin or double as required. We reported the ‘phone at this point but it still wasn’t working on the day we left!
Although a good size, access to the swimming pool is restricted to the hours between 10:00hrs and 19:00hrs, which means that you can’t have a swim before breakfast and have little time for one before dinner if you’ve been out exploring the island all day. There are swimming lessons for children from the local school during the week but information about this arrangement is not readily available to guests. Consequently, we found ourselves turning up at the pool on the morning of our last day only to suffer the embarrassment of being turned away because the local kids were in for their lesson. If the girl at reception was ever aware of this arrangement, she omitted to tell us when we enquired about the availability of the pool that morning.
I agree with some of the comments left by previous visitors. There is no hotel information available in rooms - otherwise we would have made different arrangement for our last day. The constant bagpipe and country dance music would drive you nuts - can it please be stopped? The WiFi does run slow. 22Kb/sec is slow by any standard. Apart from all that, we had a great time.
One final plea! Please have the piano tuned. A few people sat down to play, including myself, but quickly rose again when they realised it was so badly out of tune.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel. As you will appreciate feedback of any kind is essential to our business.

Please accept my apologies regarding your bedroom telephone, the problem was not with the telephone itself but the connection to the room which could not be rectified in house, I do apologise that this was not explained to you during your stay.

Our swimming pool is also the community pool for the Isle of Mull & Iona and subsequently holds school swimming lessons throughout the week, during this time the spa and gym are still available for use. I do apologise that you were not made aware of this, throughout your stay.

I do apologise that the wifi in the hotel can be slow; however internet connection speeds over the whole island are slower than that of the mainland.

The piano in the lounge is used purely for decorative purposes, however as you have stated some of our guests may like to play this on occasion so getting it tuned is something that we may look in to.

I am pleased that you did enjoy your short stay with us, and do hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future, when we will have ironed out all the issues that you have highlighted in your review.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our whole experience was disappointing. The staff and management lack attention to detail. Rooms not cleaned to an acceptable standard, restaurant disorganised especially in the evening, food poorly presented and bland. The managers offer excuses rather than improvements. The spa seemed closed. The pool staff were good and many of the waiting staff tried hard and were friendly.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank eleganttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on tripadvisor. Feedback is essential to us if we are to monitor and improve on any areas which our guests feel let us down.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your short break with us and I am also disappointed that you did not receive the standard of service that I expect all of our guests to receive.

I have discussed your comments at length with our team and aim to ensure that comments such as yours remain isolated.

Once again please accept my sincerest apologies, and I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and giving us the opportunity to provide you with the high standards, of which we normally strive to achieve.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned from 4 nights stay at Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. Staff very welcoming and friendly - could not do enough for us. The pool and spa are delightful as are the views from the lounges. Food was very nice and staff were keen that your every need was taken care off. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room with a view is a definite if only to watch the stags meander about the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Isle of Mull Hotel & spa again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Staff very welcoming and helpful on arrival,room spotless with lovely view.Very relaxing atmosphere, food and service very good.Enjoyed spa facilities .This is our third visit highly recommend will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor.

It was lovely to see you again, on your third visit with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel 9-12 April 2012.

Although the outside looks very worn the inside is much better. Spacious lounges looking over a magnificent view of the sea and mountains extending to Ben Nevis.

The hotel has long corridors to rooms on two floors. Our top floor room had a great view, with very squeaky floorboards. It would be noisy in the lower rooms. Very spacious, with bath/shower, new tv, coffee/tea making facilities. Walls were thin but luckily no riotous neighbours. Windows were not double glazed and condensation a problem but with no passing traffic a good nights sleep guaranteed.

The pool, gym and steam/sauna were all clean and well looked after by the leisure staff. The outdoor tub was great but unfortunately only one jet appeared to be working.

The dining room, on the second floor also had great views to the sea. Two stags also appeared twice which was an unexpected bonus.The breakfasts were good, served buffet-style. The evening meals were adequate, but based on the money the chefs must have to work with they did pretty well. The mackerel pate, salmon fillet, melon dish showed there was flair in the kitchen.

We were on the Easy-breaks Wine Deal which allows one bottle of house wine per night. We were offered the option of a white and a red on the first night with the wine remaining served on the second night. A lot of trouble for the staff but it worked. Unfortunately, in our opinion, the house wine at £14.95 was of poor quality. On the third night we paid an extra £3 for a beautiful Chilean red, again arranged with the minimum of fuss and a smile.

The good points include the staff, especially Jennifer on reception and the dining room manager. The bad points: the corridors had not been hoovered after our arrival. The same piece of orange skin was still there when we left. After breakfast a lounge table still had two beer glasses, crisp packet and straw from the previous night spoiling the view.

Our find on the holiday, in almost constant sunshine, with the occasional shower was the Island of Ulva. Turn left at Salen and later veer right (signposted). Park at the end of the road and take the small ferry £5 return, 3 minute voyage!!. Walk as far as you like but return to the Boathouse at the pier for fabulously fresh seafood at reasonable prices or just coffee/tea.

We fell in love with the wildness and beauty of Mull and will certainly return . . . and to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor, for better views and to avoid squeaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelK991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel, our team here prides itself on providing our guests with the highest standards of service. I must apologise that you had noticed a few errors on our part such as the corridors not being hovered, it is certainly not standard procedure and not the standards of which we expect our guests to receive and again I apologise.

I am pleased that you did enjoy your short stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I think we must have been lucky because we had great food when we stayed here. I will admit there is a musty smell as you come in to the reception, but the place was very clean. Our room was well furnished and spotless. The staff were very efficient and friendly, especially in the restaurant. Our food was very well cooked and presented, and tasted great. Good choice at breakfast always replenished. I wouldn't hesitate to come back or to recommend it. We never used the spa or gym so can't comment on them but the rest of the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: all rooms look out on a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemahG, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We were very pleased to read your comments regarding your short stay with us, and appreciate the time that you have taken to write your review, as you will appreciate feedback is essential for us.

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you to the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
725 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
438 reviews
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
10 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing