We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendiferous spa and marvellous massage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to this hotel and spa with three friends for a spa day treat. Spent a wee while in the hot tub overlooking the sound of mull which was breathtaking and ultra relaxing, as always, nothing beats
this area for scenery.

We all had treatments, I had a head and shoulders massage which was expertly delivered and of the highest standard.

We had an afternoon the with the spa deal, it was well presented, freshly made and delicious.

All in all a great day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello and thanks for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your treatments and have passed this on to the team in our leisure area. Thanks again and do visit soon. regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - nice comfortable rooms with views over the loch and landscape, and well placed for the ferry and exploring Mull. The food was also reasonable at breakfast.

However, why oh why have a gym and spa that closes at 8pm and doesn't open until 9am?? Especially when breakfast is only served until 9.30am. This meant that when we arrived at 7pm I had to race to the gym and use the pool briefly, and that I couldn't use the facilities in the morning before showering and going for breakfast (and not a great idea to go after breakfast!). This is a shame as these were the nicest spa facilities in a week if touring the West coast. I've marked them as excellent because they were, it was just the times that weren't.

If gym/pool aren't your thing then this won't matter to you, but it did to me - especially when it could be solved so easily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello and thanks for your review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry if you were disappointed with the opening hours of the leisure facility, It is open from 9am to 8pm every day which is a considerable amount of time, and I really do apologise if this did not suit you. This is a very rare comment, but not to say that we don't take this on board for future consideration. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again soon, Kind regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Hotel is excellent for using as a base to explore Mull and Iona. The food is very good, the bedrooms are well fitted out although the moving W.C. is a bit off putting. The decor in the dining room which is the tables and chairs badly need replaced or even a tablecloth to hide the wear and tear of the Restaurant furniture. The staff are very efficient ensuring service is swift.
Ideally positioned for either the Oban ferry to Craignure or the Lochaline ferry to Fishnish, the latter ferry affords a wonderful drive through Morven once you come off the Corrin ferry which is 5 miles north of Glen Coe village.

Room Tip: Coming to Mull has to be for a minimum of 2 nights to cover so many interesting places, and the Isle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello and thanks for your review. So pleased to see that you enjoyed your time on the island and your stay with us. I have noted your comments in connection with the restaurant tables. As with all hotels there is an ongoing refurbishment and replacement programme, but this is always on a rolling programme and does take time. Thanks for your comments about the staff and I have passed these on. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this hotel with sea view , watching boats coming in and out . Loved the pool , not too busy . The food was great , different menu each night . Room was nice and big as was the bed . Can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello, thanks so much for your review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon, we are proud of the menu and food quality and its great to see you enjoyed it. regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we stayed at the crerar hotel and spa for four nights as a cheap getaway for our anniversary. we received a deal on our bed and breakfast and paid a small amount extra to ensure that e received a sea view room. Im so glad we did! The view was absolutely fantastic - we could see the ferry coming and going, we could see the sunrise, we could see the stunning mountains in the distance. what a way to start the day! The food was good - fairly basic - but nice and good portions. staff were friendly and helpful though there was a mix up in our reservation and it was difficult to communicate with the reception staff. This was resolved without issue. The whole hotel had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The spa was great. good sized pool and really well looked after sauna and steam room. The outdoor hot tub was a real treat. We also had a relaxing massage whilst there. we would definitely recommend going there if you're looking for a relaxing break and a hotel that you feel comfortable to lounge in. however, I'm not sure we would pay more than we did.

Room Tip: its worth requesting a sea view room and paying the extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed it and I am sure your comments will assist others thinking of coming to stay. thanks again regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visited hotel with friends as part of a Sunday DBB deal, bottle of wine in room included. Lovely, as we were celebrating a birthday. We arrived early and were able to leave our luggage in reception whilst we went for a walk. Security obviously not an issue as bags still there when we returned 4 hours later. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, however beds are very soft. Be aware there appears to be little sound proofing so you can hear everything that is happening above you and next door. We visited the spa which was very nice, modern appearance - contrast to the rest of the hotel, however, hot tub did not seem to work properly and the door slammed behind us which meant one of the party had to walk through the hotel to open the door. We notice a stone next to door which we assume was meant to be used to wedge open. Also the garden could do with being tended as the view from pool and hot tub was basically a field of weeds.
At dinner we opted for the tasting menu included in the price - we felt the food really was the highlight of the stay and was delicious, however portions were on the small side. The dining room is dated and piped music horrendous. We lowered the age demographic considerably (and I was celebrating my 50th birthday!). The staff were all very friendly, but due to early in season, had not had a great opportunity to practice their english. Breakfast was also delicious with plenty of choice.
Unfortunately the good service did not carry on through to the next day where I was charged for free champagne and eventhough pointed out and assured had been removed from bill, on checking credit card receipt, had indeed been over charged and had to phone to request a refund.
One of my friends also chose to lie in till checkout time - 11am - after that you are charged £10 an hour. We left her with our bags agreeing she would meet us at ferry point, with them, thinking it would be easy enough for hotel to assist with getting bags there. How wrong were we? Friend was told there was nothing they could do. They made no alternative suggestions. Fortunately, the local postie offered her and her bags a lift as he could see she was in a bit of a predicament. Thanks soo much that man! Also noted was the debris in the lounge area from the night before had still not been cleared away by midday the next day.
We had a nice visit however the feeling was hotel was jaded at edges, caters for an older market or coach tours, and appeared to have no management. Would I go back? Probably not. Although it will suit many.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Despite the very odd & dated1970's building, we had a lovely 2 night stay here. The views are fantastic, the pool and outdoor hot-tub are great fun and the food was really enjoyable. Some of the reviews here are quite negative but I think you just need be careful not to put off by the architecture that is not ageing very well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello and thank you for your review following your stay. You are so right, the design of the hotel is not a building of beauty, but the views are great as you say, we work hard to provide a great welcome, great food etc, so its not really about the exterior of the Hotel, Thanks again and I am sure your comments will aid others. regards Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
724 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
436 reviews
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
131 reviews
9.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing