We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“online treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“online treat”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got a great deal online and after reading some recent reviews went with open minds about what to expect. The wee walk along the road is certainly not arduous even for people in their 70s. It takes about 15 minutes,No need to wait for a bus or taxi. We did discover the path from the hotel to the ferry on our second day and used it thereafter. It is a pleasant seashore and wooded walk, Just guard against midges. We found the staff helpful and cheerful and the room clean and comfortable . We had dinner in the hotel on the first night. The service was efficient and the food very good. We had several visits to the swimming pool and spa. No problems here. The pool water is a perfect temperature and the sauna and steam room added to the overall pleasant experience. My only criticism is that the showers are public. It would be nice to have an enclosed shower.
The bar and lounge areas in the hotel are comfortable. Wonderful views from the lounge and dining room add to the relaxed atmosphere. The outside appearance of the building is slightly off putting but we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review following your recent stay with us, your feedback is welcome and I am sure will assist others considering a stay with us,. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    455
    296
    173
    104
See reviews for
225
708
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Bar menu never changes service slow background music in the bar never changes they play the same 5 CDS every night thought some of the bar staff very ignorant while waiting my turn to get served the head barman served the customer before me then ignored me and started emptying bags of change into the till rooms are bog standard walls are paper thin only thing good about it is checking out

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the bar service, poor comment about the staff and service is very rare, as you will see from other reviews. The music, well we can never please everyone, although as a Company we are having new systems in all our hotels over the coming months, so hopefully this will improve. We do our best to satisfy all our customers, and I am sorry that the couple of things you mention, meant your stay was depressing. Kind regards
Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Craignure hotels

onMull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been to the Isle of Mull hotel regularly over the last 6 months for lunch, evening meals or just to chat with friends for a drink in the bar. Food is always superb & service excellent. Steak night is a great night either for couples or with a group of friends. Neal always makes an effort to come and say hello and make sure we are happy with everything. Thanks Neal you've certainly made a difference. Not managed to do Sunday lunch yet but that's on our list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review, which I have shared with all the team. I am sure your comments will aid others when considering a visit to the Isle of Mull Hotel and Spa. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I visited the hotel from 2nd-4th June 2014. Our first impressions of the hotel from the outside were not great, it really looks as if it could do with a lick of paint.

Check in was speedy, however there seemed to be confusion with our second name and another guest. Due to this we were given a twin room instead of a double and without our requested cot (even although I had telephoned the day before to ensure this request had been met). We were moved rooms without any hassle and a cot arrived pretty quickly. We have a 4 month old baby, hence the cot, however we were given a room quite a distance away from the reception and down 2 flights of stairs - far from ideal.

After unpacking we headed to the pool and the changing areas are one area of the hotel which is in dire need of a facelift. The changing facilities look dated and dirty. We used the family changing area and we thought it was absolutely filthy. The toilet brush had obviously been used to clean the toilet and had excrement all round it, we actually left the room because of this - enough to make you feel sick. There is also a 20p charge to use the hairdryer - seriously?!! I am paying £175 a night and I am being charged 20p to use a hairdryer, which did not even last long enough to dry my hair!!

We booked our meal for later that evening and the food was probably the best thing about the entire stay - lovely on the 2 occasions we had dinner and with good service.

On my second day I had a back massage at the spa which was really good and highly recommended.

To sum up - not a patch on Loch Fyne, not even in the same league. We will be back to Mull, but we won't be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a baby ask for a room upstairs - we were down 2 flights - not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review. I am sorry there if there was any confusion on arrival with your booking, this can sometimes happen when there are guests with the same or similar surnames, but I am pleased we sorted it out quickly as you say.
I have passed your comments about leisure to the that department, honestly I have never before seen a complaint about the changing facilities in that area, and your comments have been taken seriously and dealt with. As for the hairdryer, the pool is a community pool and open to all and hence the charge. However I have taken your comments on board. So pleased you enjoyed the food and that you enjoyed the massage.
Loch Fyne, is a fabulous hotel and I am sorry you felt overall we were not as good, although you do seem to have enjoyed much of your stay and a lot of what we had to offer. Perhaps in time you will re consider your decision not to stay with us again, and give us another try. regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We got an online offer, but were offered an upgrade (with dressing gowns and slippers and ipod dock) to one of the sea view rooms for our 2-night stay.This was well worth it. We arrived on a glorious day, and it was only too easy to just sit and gaze out of the window. Externally, the hotel is not an architectural gem, but inside very attractive, with a pleasant bar area enjoying sea views, as does the restaurant area. There is also a garden area available for a stroll outside midge hours, and paths down to the seaside. . There were one or two wee hiccups, but nothing to detract from enjoyment of our stay. We could see how checking in might be a bit of a hassle should you arrive at the same time as, or as part of, one of the coach parties. However,the (one) Receptionist kept her cool, and was very pleasant. We were to find this a feature of all the Staff. The offer included a pair of pedestrian return tickets on the Calmac Ferry from Oban to Craignure, but it is about a 20 minute walk from the pier; there is no readily available taxi when you get off the boat. However, we found out that there is a bus stop at the hotel road end (about 5 minutes walk away), and you can get the Tobermory bus which connects with at least some of the ferries either coming or going - just one stop. Otherwise you may be able to prebook a taxi; enquire via the hotel. Food at the Isle of Mull was outstanding: we had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. We always have to take care with my wife's allergies, and our Staff had the Chef come to our table to ensure that there was no problem. For our anniversary dinner, we were given.a corner table looking out over the sea - lovely. The afternoon tea on our second day was also a treat, with the three-tiered presentation of freshly made sandwiches and cake. This was arranged for us a little later than the booked service, as we were coming back after a day out on bus and boats.Other guests coming in and seeing us relaxing with it in the lounge were quite impressed. We didn't have time for the spa, but would be happy to return to the Isle of Mull hotel.

Room Tip: We had an east-facing room with a great view towards Craignure pier, and away beyond you can see Ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitcaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review and comments. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay, and I am sure your comment and feedback will assists readers who are considering a stay with us. Thanks again kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked a couple of nights B&B and for the price it has to be said it was value for money, however having said that there are a couple of things which make this hotel average as opposed to very good or excellent.
Firstly the room, which was clean and tidy, was also very noisy. Squeeky floorboards upstairs, apparently thin walls, a constant noise from people walking up and down the staircase next to us and our bed which made noises which would put the most proficient of porn stars to shame if we merely sat on it made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.
Secondly the restaurant, the staff, all foreign, seemed as happy at their work as a turkey may do in the lead up to Christmas and to be honest the food was less than inspiring. My partner ordered Steak Pie which on it's first visit was cold and appeared without any veg. It was exchanged for a warmer version, still no veg but to be honest I've had a lot better. My spicy chicken stir fry was OK, nothing more nothing less. The staff did offer us free drinks though for our inconvenience which was appreciated.
Next was breakfast, which was a bit of a shambles. The food which was served buffet style was fine, no complaints other than the microwaved scrambled egg being worthy of any rubber factory, but the service was chaotic with orders for tea, toast etc being either forgotten or ignored and the amount of uncleaned tables building up by the minute and the afformentioned staff looking like they would rather be anywhere else on the planet than here.
Overall it was cheap but I would far rather have paid more and had a better experience.
Finally, the hotel is located about 15-20 mins walk from the ferry which is fine for myself as I'm in my 40's but there didn't seem to be any transport to and from there for the older guests of which there were quite a few and taxi's seemed to be pretty thin on the ground.
As I say, I've been there now, done it, but most probably that's enough for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper level away from the staircase as I assume these will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcgiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was traveling with a a group and a person with handicap. There is too much to say to make this review really specific. We booked a handicapped room but was put in standard room. The groups reservations and the meal times were not properly booked and the staff was both discourteous about it and baffled by how to fix it. 1.5 hours before a room change then walk in shower leaked out through the bathroom door because the drain did not work. Service in the Restaraunt was terrible and wait staff couldn't remember to bring things that were asked for. I will return but will not stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your review. I am sorry that you appear to have been disappointed with the service we offered. When a group booking is taken, we are reliant upon the information from the operator of the group in connection with room requests, meal times etc and can only act upon that information. It would appear that we were able to assist with a room move, and I am sorry this took a period of time, I suspect we have to get the room ready for you. I am not sure what issues you had in the restaurant and can only apologise. I do wish that you had taken a moment of your time to ask for me, when perhaps I could have assisted or offered explanation at the time. I can only at this time, apologise for any issue and assure you that all customer feedback is welcomed, and used and discussed to improve our product and service standards where possible, However I would state again that with a group booking, we are only able to work on information given to us, regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
10.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing