We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second chance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed here two years before and been rather disappointed with the hotel, I decided to give it a second chance. The food had improved but I thought the taster dinner menu rather overpriced. I had booked two double rooms at the same time and thought these might have been near to each other. One was in the furthest away corner of the hotel. During the first night my brother and his wife had to change rooms because the bed was falling apart. Perhaps this was the reason it was pushed against the wall, meaning one would have to climb over the other if they needed to rise in the night. Not an ideal situation! The room they were in was supposed to be a double but it only had a single wardrobe, one chair. Initially they were told that there was no other room available but they persisted and were given keys to another as the guest had not turned up. This was after midnight. No offer of help to move but next day they were offered a free bottle of wine. Small recompense for such a disturbed night. A free night's accommodation would have been better. Our room was a double but again only one chair and one bedside cabinet. Looked for electrical socket to use for hairdryer - found these behind the bed. Again not ideal.
The toilet bowl was cracked. The wall and curtain at the left hand side of the window were badly stained. Sounds like same room used by Joean, Edinburgh. Good points were clean towels and bedding, and most of the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Meals are fresh and tasty but expensive as are drinks, for example: pint of beer £3.95 and large glass of white wine. We had a good cooked breakfast but had to wait a while for our coffee. All in all the hotel is very good with pool ect; may be back again for over night stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room below where the garden walk is, it's lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked through "ItisOn" for 2 nights with 2 free spa treatments and £40 towards a meal in the bar. We arrived during a heat wave on the ferry from Oban (tickets included in the deal) and got directions at the tourist info. to the hotel. The hotel was in an ideal location on the bay and only 10 minutes walk from the ferry. Although the hotel wasn't the most attractive from the outside, the interior was nice- I really liked the photos of villagers and it was really comfortable. The food is really good and we both enjoyed a mini facial in the spa expertly done by the very friendly therapist. The room was comfortable and clean with excellent views over the bay. I would definately recommend!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank ParmaViolet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It is quite a treat looking out over the Sound of Mull as you swim in the heated pool of this hotel. Breakfasts too, are truly memorable. They are served in a buffet style, help yourself fashion with a good selection of cereals, fruit, and pastries on offer. The hot items are of excellent quality and beautifully cooked with the chef regularly topping up the hot trays with small, freshly cooked batches. The Stornoway black pudding is always superb, the bacon and eggs were top notch but I think those sausages were the best I have ever had. The dining room waitresses are friendly and attentive. They are helped by the Maître d’I who carries out her task in an unobtrusive but incredibly friendly and efficient manner.
We did not try the gym or other facilities in this hotel but can agree with other reports on the hotel’s lay-out. The hotel does seem to be one long corridor. I think this design has been an attempt to give as many rooms a sea view as possible. Our room did have the sea view but it was at the end of this long corridor and, while it had all the facilities one could want, it was a bit cramped.
The receptionists seem a bit flustered and unhelpful. They are not of the same calibre as the other members of staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I and my wife, were on a motorhome holiday to the Isle of Mull, and the end of the week whilst we were waiting for the ferry, we decided to use the Isle of Mull Hotel Spa and pool, we were greeted by a cheery soul, who explained the different price options and provided us towels, whilst in the spa area I took unwell, and this was quickly noticed on the CCTV whereby the Spa manager (Morag) came to assist, and offered a quiet area for me to sit, and relax with a cold towel, and a glass of water and sat chatting to myself and my wife whilst I recovered, later that day she stopped in her car to ask how I was, Sometimes staff go way above the call of duty and should be Highlighted for outstanding service to there employer, Thanks again Morag your kindness shown will remain in our memories of the Isle of Mull.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mariner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were disappointed. Our welcome was not the most friendly and as your receptionist is the first point of contact we feel that a smile a least would not go amiss. The room was strange it seemed to have been at one point a family room as there was a double and single headboard attached to the wall but the beds had been put together to make a large double. There was only one bedside cabinet. The only accessible socket for using the hairdryer was the low socket for the television and as the hairdryer did not have a long flex it did not reach the mirror, all other sockets were blocked by the bed. The left hand side of the wall at the window and the curtain were very badly stained which was a bit 'off putting'. The toilet pan had a very bad crack down the back and the front was chipped there was also a tile missing from the back of the wash-hand basin. We had to go and ask the girl who did the room to give us tea bags as she had omitted to replenish them. We were disappointed the we were unable to use the pool due to a 'technical fault' which was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel as on our first stay the pool was excellent! On saying all the above we cannot fault with the excellent food and service in the dining room, the staff worked very hard and were friendly and should be commended by the management for all their hard work and we would like to thank them for their excellent service. Not sure if we would use this hotel a third time unless we knew that some of the 'facilities' had been updated.
Joean.Edinburgh

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our group was booked for two nights here as the second stop on our Scotland tour. Our first night was at a sister hotel in Loch Lomond which had been lovely. Unfortunately, our experience here did not go as smoothly.

My biggest personal complaint is that, to get to our rooms from the front door, we had to walk through a doorway, down a flight of stairs with a landing, another doorway and through a bar/lounge area that never appeared to be in use, another doorway, down another flight of stairs, still another doorway, down a corridor, and then up yet another set of stairs. Not such a big deal for meals or when meeting the group to go out for the day's tours, but at arrival and departure, carrying suitcases, with no lifts and no porter service... it was excessive, just a horrible and nonsensical layout for a hotel, really. I realize there is only so much anyone can do about how a structure is built -- but then have staff available to assist guests, and make that an automatic part of services which are offered.

The main floor lounge area was comfortable and overlooked a beautiful view of the water, but was always overcrowded because it was the only place anyone could get a wifi connection. The rooms were decent-sized, but sound transfer from other areas was some of the worst I've ever experienced -- people upstairs, people next door, people in the hall... I could hear everything! They changed/made an error in the time of our dinner reservation the night of our arrival (the desk attendant argued with our tour leader about it!); they hastily threw together some sandwiches and potato chips and juice boxes for our supposedly pre-arranged "to go" breakfast on our departure day (they knew weeks ahead of time we had to be at the ferry at 6:15am, their regular breakfast didn't begin until 7), and when we arrived at our next destination, there was an indignant and rather rude message for our tour leader saying my roommate had left without paying for her incidentals (she had the credit card receipt to prove that she had).

The views were lovely and the food was good, but these are the only nice things I can say about this hotel. All of us, including our tour leader, were very clear that we would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glimtwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments, and I am sorry for any disappointment you experienced. With tour bookings, we are instructed by the tour company about meal times, and if porterage is required and in this instance it was not booked by them for your party, Having said that, we would certainly have made arrangements to assist anyone who asked for this. The hotel design does mean some rooms have steps and are along a corridor, but again the tour company is informed of this in advance. I can only apologise for any disappointment you had.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
715 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
10.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing