We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff here were very helpful and attentive. Our room was very comfortable and there are several lounges to relax and have drinks/bar meals. Breakfast was very good. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment but our stay here was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: the wifi, although free is intermittent. But that's to be expected. Our room was spacious and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dilee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Hello and thanks for your lovely feedback. So pleased your stay was enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in the hotel and had dinner on 3 nights. Menu and food in restaurant superb, using locally sourced produce. Be prepared for a fair walk to the rooms which are on 2 levels with no lift available, and a maze of corridor to walk along. The bedroom itself was clean and well presented, but the bathroom had a very leaky shower with poor water pressure, which although reported, was not attended to at during our stay. It is a "dog friendly" hotel with excellent grounds and costal footpath for walkies, and dogs can join their owners in the bar/lounge areas. The overall impression of the hotel was that it is tatty round the edges - peeling paintwork on interior bedroom window, scuffed and marked bar/lounge decor etc. We got a good deal through an internet site, but given the general standard of presentation, would have been unhappy had we paid full rates for our stay. Can't comment on the spa - didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate wings from public areas, so ask for one close to reception/bar/lounge if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having recently spent a week at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa on the Isle of Mull, I would say the whole experience was surprisingly amazing.

The short (45 minute) ferry journey over from Oban to Mull was good fun for our family of 3 and the very short drive from the dock at Craignure to the hotel was easy as easy gets. Turn right off the ferry, take the first right and we had arrived. Granted, the exterior of the hotel is not going to win any design awards, but this place is deceiving. Through the front doors and there's a large open plan reception lounge bar area and the first thing to notice is the views back across the bay to the mainland with Duart Castle jutting out from the shore line.

Check in was easy and friendly and it was easy to find out room. A family room with a double and single which was clean, very comfortable and had one of the best views we've had from any hotel we've been to. The decor is subtle tartans, earthy tones and of a good standard for a 3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and tidy with toiletries and towels provided.

First thing we did was (as you do with a 5 year old in tow) go and use the hotel swimming pool. The swimming pool was newish (there's a plaque saying opened in 2008) and modern. It's a community pool but is joined directly onto the hotel. The child pool is a little small but more than suitable and the main pool is a good size with the same amazing views out of the sound to the mountains behind Oban. I ventured to the outdoor hot tub for a brief try and it was great. All clean and in a lovely sunny spot. There's other spa facilities but we didn't use these. Noticed there's a hairdressers there as well.

We stayed for 4 nights and throughout we were shown the kindest, friendliest service from the restaurant staff to reception, everyone was very helpful.

A big bonus to the location of the hotel is the path that leads straight down to the shoreline. There's rock pools for the kids, and when the tide is out, the beach is sandy. Not the best beach on Mull, but Mull (as we discovered) has some of the best beaches in the whole of Scotland!

Over the days that we were in the hotel, we saw a lot of the island, beaches that you wouldn't believe existed in Scotland, craggy mountains, rivers, glens, fishing villages and a great days trip on the ferry over to Iona a day at the beach there. The beaches on the south of Mull were a highlight for us. Wild, empty and water as blue and clear as anywhere. The sun did shine for the majority of our trip so I guess we were lucky, but when the sun is out, I can't think of many other places within the same size area that offers the breadth of panoramic views of mountains, coast and villages.

Mull is simply a fantastic island to visit and the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa is in a great location for being able to tour to a different part of the island each day of your stay. One big thing was on the morning we were leaving to catch the 10:30 ferry back to the mainland. It takes over one hour to get to Craignure from the south west tip of Mull. The fact that it is one minute from the hotel on leaving morning meant that we were able to enjoy a relaxed breakfast taking in those views, go for a walk along the beach and still be in the ferry queue with plenty of time to spare.

A cracking 3 star hotel, clean, nicely decorated, brilliant food (including local seafood), friendly and giving access to the wonders of Mull. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

wow, what a great review both of the Hotel and this amazing island. I am sure your comments will assist others thinking of visiting. Hope you return. Many thanks Neal Goldsmith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I think this hotel is nice - great location, amazing views and it's nice to have the spa but it is really let down by poorly trained staff. The restaurant staff were more concerned about getting set up for breakfast than serving - our meal was accompanied by the cleaning of tables and the clatter of crockery being set which didn't make for a relaxing experience - and this was before 9 pm. Staff are very basic in their courtesy and come across as indifferent and poorly trained. Shame as the food is good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HidoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fairly basic hotel, with no lift to the maze of corridors below. Food ok, rooms unmemorable with small bath/shower facilities. Staff are clearly trying hard to meet the demands of what seems to be a busy hotel (groups or coach parties?). Really, need to address air circulation and cooling as wedging fire doors open isn't a good idea.

Excellent views over the Sound of Mull should really be exploited by the management by trimming up the garden foliage and placing a few more tables outside !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TayHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

ok there are problems. but for the price this place is a fine place to stay. booked on itison, nice rooms, 30 min massage, outdoor jacuzzi and breakfast all for a very reasonible price. staff (even though there was some struggles with language) were plesant and made the stay a fun experience. Due to our bus times we need an early breakfast which was provided ( they didnt need to but went out the way). the massage was nice and the gym was a nice addition. it is perfect for buses to all attractions and the location is beautiful, however byob the bar is crap :P

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatLuckyOldSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great hotel overall apart from the man in reception being a bit unfriendly on arrival and the room layout being a complete maze with a long walk and two flights of stairs to get to the one I was in. I had a lovely garden view with birds singing outside. The bathroom and bed were fine. Food was of a very high, modern standard for quality, variety and presentation. But avoid the special coffee- yuk. The hotel looks out over the sea; the restaurant has the best view in the house.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank budge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
721 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
9.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
10.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range: £65 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing