We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the views”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited the hotel for 3 days at the end of July. Our room was a twin with good views down the Sound of Mull towards Duart Castle. Although it was a little small, it was well presented, clean and perfectly comfortable. The door to room had been been 'kicked in' at some point so that is something that needs sorting. There was footfall noise from the floor above as people moved around the dining room but it quitened after 22:00 as guests finished their meals. We were on a half board basis and have to say that the food was very good particularly at dinner where we enjoyed their 6 course taster menu. The restaurant staff were a delight and very efficient under the supervision of the restaurant manageress who worked tirelessly to ensure service standards. The kitchen staff were obviously very efficient too as the food was well presented and brought to the table very quickly. Lastly we would praise the bar staff who provided good service with a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms are on two levels. I believe that the upper level rooms would afford a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calorieburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and many thanks for your comments and review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    455
    293
    173
    103
See reviews for
225
706
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights at end of July on an inclusive DBB and Spa package. Overall impression of hotel was that it was in need of some renovation.
Long walk to our room along a maze of corridors as unfortunately our rooms were at far end of building. On entering room, was greeted by strong stale odour. Phoned reception and reported this, they said someone would come along, but no one did! Rooms rather tired looking with old furniture.
As we were on a package, had to eat in the dining room both nights. First night the restaurant was very noisy as there was a bus group staying, think hotel caters to this trade. The restaurant staff need to be trained better in customer service, very brusk manner, think they were under pressure dealing with bus party.
The meal was a six course taster menu, but they should cut out the small taster courses and concentrate on better quality. Breakfast Ok , cooked items kept heated on warm trays!
We used the pool and spa facilities which were good.
The hotel is well positioned for the ferry and exploring the island.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on upper floor to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and thanks for your comment and feedback following your stay. Our staff are trained and do work hard to satisfy customer requirements, as can be seen on many of the reviews, and I am sorry if this did not happen in your case. The Hotel does not mainly deal with groups although we do a few, the majority of our guests are private, it would seem there were groups whilst you were here. Our 6 course taster is very popular but I have noted your feedback on this. Thanks again for your comments, Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was my first time on the Isle of Mull. I can't disagree with much of what's written here (I can with some of it though), but my impressions were:
Plus:
Location - walking distance from the ferry and the shops and pub in Craignure (even though we had the car). Lovely views from the bar/restaurant and (if you're on on the upper level) your room. Good base for Mull - I went around the whole island (and through the middle) in a couple of days.
Staff - some negative comments here, and some were a bit stand offish, but actually the people we dealt with couldn't do enough for us - e.g. moving us to a better room when we asked for one. 'Ray' in particular was a top man.
Food and drink - only had the bar menu in the evening, because I absolutely loved it. Breakfast (restaurant) in the morning was excellent - piping hot and (the hot plates were topped up regularly) and the sausages were 'bang' on. Beer was very good, which was a bonus after my previous hotel further south.
Negative: Yes ok, it's a bit of a walk to your room if it's not near reception, and extraneous noise is very noticeable. Didn't bother me though (but it would if I had mobility problems or was a light sleeper).

Room Tip: Ask in advance for the upper level and close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello and thanks for your comment and feedback which seems very fair and I am glad you enjoyed your time on the island., I am sure your feedback will assist others thinking of a visit Kind regards Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Isle of Mull Hotel is in a fantastic location with views of the Pier to watch the ferry come and go. Staff were all incredibly friendly and food was good. Rooms are a bit tired and could do with a revamp. However they were of a decent size and clean.
Swimming Pool was always quiet so plenty of room to work off the coffee and cake enjoyed at a number of lovely cafes on the island of MULL. We had great weather which was the icing on the cake.
Would certainly go back

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea view but this is an absolute must. Probably ask for a 1st floor room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
hello and thanks for taking the time to post your comments . So pleased your enjoyed your stay. As with all hotels there is a constant programme of refurbishment and renewal and like the old fourth bridge painting contract, this will continue., thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff here were very helpful and attentive. Our room was very comfortable and there are several lounges to relax and have drinks/bar meals. Breakfast was very good. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment but our stay here was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: the wifi, although free is intermittent. But that's to be expected. Our room was spacious and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Hello and thanks for your lovely feedback. So pleased your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in the hotel and had dinner on 3 nights. Menu and food in restaurant superb, using locally sourced produce. Be prepared for a fair walk to the rooms which are on 2 levels with no lift available, and a maze of corridor to walk along. The bedroom itself was clean and well presented, but the bathroom had a very leaky shower with poor water pressure, which although reported, was not attended to at during our stay. It is a "dog friendly" hotel with excellent grounds and costal footpath for walkies, and dogs can join their owners in the bar/lounge areas. The overall impression of the hotel was that it is tatty round the edges - peeling paintwork on interior bedroom window, scuffed and marked bar/lounge decor etc. We got a good deal through an internet site, but given the general standard of presentation, would have been unhappy had we paid full rates for our stay. Can't comment on the spa - didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate wings from public areas, so ask for one close to reception/bar/lounge if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having recently spent a week at the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa on the Isle of Mull, I would say the whole experience was surprisingly amazing.

The short (45 minute) ferry journey over from Oban to Mull was good fun for our family of 3 and the very short drive from the dock at Craignure to the hotel was easy as easy gets. Turn right off the ferry, take the first right and we had arrived. Granted, the exterior of the hotel is not going to win any design awards, but this place is deceiving. Through the front doors and there's a large open plan reception lounge bar area and the first thing to notice is the views back across the bay to the mainland with Duart Castle jutting out from the shore line.

Check in was easy and friendly and it was easy to find out room. A family room with a double and single which was clean, very comfortable and had one of the best views we've had from any hotel we've been to. The decor is subtle tartans, earthy tones and of a good standard for a 3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and tidy with toiletries and towels provided.

First thing we did was (as you do with a 5 year old in tow) go and use the hotel swimming pool. The swimming pool was newish (there's a plaque saying opened in 2008) and modern. It's a community pool but is joined directly onto the hotel. The child pool is a little small but more than suitable and the main pool is a good size with the same amazing views out of the sound to the mountains behind Oban. I ventured to the outdoor hot tub for a brief try and it was great. All clean and in a lovely sunny spot. There's other spa facilities but we didn't use these. Noticed there's a hairdressers there as well.

We stayed for 4 nights and throughout we were shown the kindest, friendliest service from the restaurant staff to reception, everyone was very helpful.

A big bonus to the location of the hotel is the path that leads straight down to the shoreline. There's rock pools for the kids, and when the tide is out, the beach is sandy. Not the best beach on Mull, but Mull (as we discovered) has some of the best beaches in the whole of Scotland!

Over the days that we were in the hotel, we saw a lot of the island, beaches that you wouldn't believe existed in Scotland, craggy mountains, rivers, glens, fishing villages and a great days trip on the ferry over to Iona a day at the beach there. The beaches on the south of Mull were a highlight for us. Wild, empty and water as blue and clear as anywhere. The sun did shine for the majority of our trip so I guess we were lucky, but when the sun is out, I can't think of many other places within the same size area that offers the breadth of panoramic views of mountains, coast and villages.

Mull is simply a fantastic island to visit and the Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa is in a great location for being able to tour to a different part of the island each day of your stay. One big thing was on the morning we were leaving to catch the 10:30 ferry back to the mainland. It takes over one hour to get to Craignure from the south west tip of Mull. The fact that it is one minute from the hotel on leaving morning meant that we were able to enjoy a relaxed breakfast taking in those views, go for a walk along the beach and still be in the ferry queue with plenty of time to spare.

A cracking 3 star hotel, clean, nicely decorated, brilliant food (including local seafood), friendly and giving access to the wonders of Mull. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M, General Manager at Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
wow, what a great review both of the Hotel and this amazing island. I am sure your comments will assist others thinking of visiting. Hope you return. Many thanks Neal Goldsmith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
9.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
16.8 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
10.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa

Property: Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Address: Criagnure, Craignure PA65 6BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craignure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the crescent of Craignure Bay with gardens that stretch to the water's edge, spectacular views across to the mainland can be enjoyed from every room or close by there are views of castles, beaches and the abundant sea life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Mull Hotel And Spa
Isle Of Mull Hotel Craignure
Hotel Isle Mull
Isle Mull Hotel
Isle Of Mull Hotel & Spa Craignure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing