We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Am Birlinn

Am Birlinn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dervaig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$52
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very fresh seafood and fish.
£20 lobster is more than a fair rate, the whole meal was good but given the raving reviews I was expecting a bit more.
Service was very very slow (as in many places in Scotland actually) but very kind and kids orders were a bit mixed up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECarmichael, Manager at Am Birlinn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing Am Birlinn.
I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and the team.
We appreciate that our prices may not suit all tastes, but we do price them competively.
Our lobster, crab, langoustines and oysters all come from less than a mile from the restaurant, for which we do pay a considerable amount more to receive such exceptional shellfish.
We do strive for excellent service, and I do apologise that you didn't receive this.
Thank you for your review.
Eilean Archbold
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    127
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

we enjoyed a lovely meal. very helpful staff and able to accommodate dietary needs
lovely setting and decoration

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECarmichael, Manager at Am Birlinn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks from all at Am Birlinn.
We want to accommodate all of our customers' dietary requirements. The staff are always happy to go extra mile to ensure all of our guests receive the high quality dining experience we aim to deliver.
I do hope you visit us again in the future.
Eilean Archbold
Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“'New local'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've recently moved to the area and am a (fussy) vegetarian.

On May 8, my 30th birthday, my family showed up for a surprise visit. So 6 of us were looking for a last-minute dinner plan. We callled Am Berlinn and were picked up by Ian at 20.15 (which is a GREAT service to provide!).

Long story short, the food was A-MA-ZING. My family had never eaten 'proper seafood' before and my fiance and I were extremely pleased with our vegetarian meals. And to get a wee 'happy birthday desert' with a candle was just super.

Thank you all for a great birthday meal, it really meant a lot to me. See you around! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusyQGlencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECarmichael, Manager at Am Birlinn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you from all of us at Am Birlinn for your kind review.
We really appreciate your comments. At Am Birlinn we pride ourselves on producing quality food, and the team always endeavor to provide service with a personal touch. We are very happy to hear you appreciated your Birthday dessert.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Many thanks,
Eilean Archbold
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The food was delicious. It was a great dining experience. Everything served was clearly local (indeed the menu even described where everything was from which was an interesting read) - an excellent model for restaurants to look to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailL788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECarmichael, Manager at Am Birlinn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good afternoon,
From all of us at Am Birlinn, thank you for your review. We want our guests to appreciate how spectacular the produce from Mull can be, and have built our menu around the amazing product available.
Furthermore, we want nothing but to please our customers, and we appreciate the time you have taken to review us.
Many thanks, and best wishes,
Eilean Archbold
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Local at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

To eat such well presented food in such friendly surroundings is a real pleasure. As local residents we really appreciate this restaurant especially with the free inclusive local door to door transport. The top quality food and drink is reasonably priced, carefully prepared and presented with excellent portion sizes. Another bonus is that most of the food is locally sourced being farmed on Mull or caught within the nearby waters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DervaigHostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECarmichael, Manager at Am Birlinn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at Am Birlinn.
We take satisfaction in pleasing both our tourists, and our locals.
I do hope we see you back at Am Birlinn this season.
Many thanks,
Eilean Archbold
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Am Birlinn also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Am Birlinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing