We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellant Location & Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach 2012 Our cottage and beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach 2012
Our cottage and beach
Kitchen
View from bedroom 1
Lounge
Sunset from our beach
Master ensuite bedroom
Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom
Walk in power shower
Inner hall
Jackie & Scruffy on beach
Local beach
Cottage from the rear
Dining area
Cottage taken from beach
Sunset from our beach
walk from cottage
Sammy seal at ferry near cottage we feed him fish we catch
Sunset from our beach
Bedroom 1
View of cottage in the distance from Iona
Sunset at cottage
View of cottage from Isle of Iona
Cottage from side 2007
Cottage from left
Local 'Market beach'
Local beach near Erraid
View from right of cottage beach July 2012
Sunset from cottage July 2012
Beach & good find !!
Sunset on our beach from garden
Lounge
Dinning area - double doors to garden/beach
View from bedroom
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NAdeNovem...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellant Location & Relaxing”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a fantastic week, weather was very kind to us. Views from the cottage stunning, overlooking Iona. Mull is a beautiful Island.
The cottage very well equipped and a very good information pack from the owners for the cottage and the island.
Great - many thanks to Colin & Jackie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Sorry for our late reply to your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paisley
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Sorry for our late reply to your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ele173
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunny Mull”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A very comfortable cottage in a beautiful spot. The cottage was well equipped with plenty of room for 4 adults. Right beside a lovely beach with views over to Iona - there was always something to watch on the water. Enjoyed a great trip to Staffa, visits to Iona and lots of walks. We were lucky and had great weather! Had a good meal at the Keel Row bar - just don't rely on their takeaways!
We had a great week and would recommend the cottage ( and Mull)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Sorry for our late reply to your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbio
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Perfect location, splendid accomodation, weather cool”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Cottage on the Beach, and its neighbour, occupy probably the best site in Mull for a holiday rental. The view is across the garden, across the beach, across the harbour and to the island of Iona. The beach is surrounded by wonderful pink granite rocks, good for climbing and there are lots of sheep (sometimes in the garden) The cottage is very well equipped and was immaculate when we arrived. The main, en suite, bedroom is perfectly fine, the next bedroom is a bit cramped, plenty of drawers but no wardrobe. Bedroom three is kitted out for four children in two bunk beds - a bit tight. The kitchen is very well equipped and easy to work and clothes wash in. The main lounge /diner has beach views and has some very comfortable sofas.There is a Sky TV offering Freeview, which needs a bit of getting used to - especially to a Virgin Media customer. The small fire was useful on one or two cooler evenings and the weather in Mull is, self evidently, not what you would expect if the cottage was in the Med or the Tropics. You can watch the Iona ferry shuttle back and forth and there is a very useful local general store/post office/souvenir shop with excellent croissants when it opens (9.00 or 11 on Sundays) The cottage is well located for plenty of walks and boat trips. It is fitted out with a good wi-fi but there is no land line telephone. The only mobile phone service that works there is 02, but I had vodafone so got no signal. The road journey is along a long single track road, 90 minutes to the Ferry Port for Iona and two hours to Tobermoray. for Kilchoan .Driving etiquette is to observe the plentiful passing places and keep a special watch out on bends and blind summits

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from a comfortable lounge
Liked least: No telephone, and poor Mobile service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Sorry for our late reply to your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Sorry for our late reply to your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
timback2h...
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful satisfaction guaranteed.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When one rings Colin and Jackie ( the owners) for a pre holiday chat - one cannot but be impressed by Colin's bubbling enthusiasm and desire for you to get the most out of your stay at 'The Cottage of Welcome'.
The owners and the cottage itself in its idyllic location ensure that aim is achieved.
We took advantage of the owners' inside knowledge of beaches and coves that exist on your doorstep and the carefully constructed Guide book and local maps which are available at the house . We were a family group of three generations ( age range 62 down to 3 years) and we l equally loved our stay.
In brief - we defy you not to enjoy your stay . The location - the friendly local people - the stunning landscape - the comfortable cottage and Colin and Jackie ensure it is nothing but a hugely successful holiday far away from the madding crowds.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2014
Thanks for the lovely review.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing