We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, thoughtfully equipped house”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach 2012 Our cottage and beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Sea view from Cottage window over to The Isle of Iona. Regular Dolphin sightings.
Cottage from beach 2012
Our cottage and beach
Kitchen
View from bedroom 1
Lounge
Sunset from our beach
Master ensuite bedroom
Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom
Walk in power shower
Inner hall
Jackie & Scruffy on beach
Local beach
Cottage from the rear
Dining area
Cottage taken from beach
Sunset from our beach
walk from cottage
Sammy seal at ferry near cottage we feed him fish we catch
Sunset from our beach
Bedroom 1
View of cottage in the distance from Iona
Sunset at cottage
View of cottage from Isle of Iona
Cottage from side 2007
Cottage from left
Local 'Market beach'
Local beach near Erraid
View from right of cottage beach July 2012
Sunset from cottage July 2012
Beach & good find !!
Sunset on our beach from garden
Lounge
Dinning area - double doors to garden/beach
View from bedroom
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fionnphort, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CathyGilm...
London
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Stunning location, thoughtfully equipped house”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This house is right on the beach, with constant wildlife to watch- we loved the baby bunnies in the garden- and spectacular sunsets. Nearby is the best restaurant on the Island, Ninth Wave, a pub Keel Row with great local produce, and the seafood shack on the Iona Ferry jetty, where they will cook fresh lobster and langoustine while you wait. The local shop is well enough equipped for you not to worry about food and wine while on holiday, they're very friendly and even let me order weekend papers to make sure I didn't miss them if we were our exploring.

The house is very well equipped, even with a scope to view the wildlife and having been in a very wet Uist a couple of years ago without washing machine and dryer, we especially appreciated this. There are beds to sleep 8, as there were only 2 of us we were very comfortable indeed, 8 might be a bit cosy, but there are 2 bathrooms and I guess it depends what you are used to !

Lots to see and do in the area, we saw otters on Iona, which also has the fascinating abbey, lovely flowers and amazing cream teas at the Argyle Hotel. We saw eagles over the hills and seals near the campsite as well as pretty much every seabird there can possible be.

A special place, where you really do not need to stray very far at all if you don't want to- but there's lots more to see and do on Mull too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The decor is a bit dated, but it doesn't affect the quality of experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunsets and lovely cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week at the start of June. Was greeted at the gate on arrival by a group of sheep and their lambs! Lovely cute cottage, and was pleasantly surprised as the photos don't do it justice...
Scenic walk from the front door to a gorgeous hidden bay over the hill to the left of the cottage.
Do research the beaches around the area as they are all crystal clear waters and very soft sands, and such a beauty to chill and have a picnic.
Would definitely come back if we hadn't already have exhausted the island. Would also recommend the cottage to anyone who wants to visit Iona, it is literally a 2 minute walk from the front door to the Iona ferry.
Lovely!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, excellent facilities.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a weeks stay in the cottage. Absolutely lovely, so relaxing, stunning view. Plenty of places to visit, saw plenty of wildlife and seals basking at Carsaig. The Keel Row at the top of the road had great food at reasonable prices. The cottage had everything you could possibly need. Immaculate with lovely fresh bedding. The Owners have two folders full of information on places of interest, beaches, places to eat. They have even put in Phone numbers for emergencies i.e.. Dr's, dentists vets etc. They have done everything possible to make the stay memorable. Thank you Jackie and Colin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view
Liked least: can't think of anything that didn't like.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBWalkers
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this wonderful little cottage On the beach. It boasts Amazing views of Iona across the waters and plenty of nearby walks. Weather was kind to us and we managed several walks with glorious scenery and wildlife in abundance. Owner Colin very helpful . The cottage was very homely, very warm, with local amenities at hand. Would most definitely recommend it and will be planning to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grafton77...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will not find a better location.”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My father and I first spotted this cottage on a previous visit to the island and both said we would love to stay there and soon as the opportunity arose we made a booking.The cottage is warm,cosy,well equipped and family friendly.We enjoyed the views of Iona from the cottage and easy access to the beach from the garden gate.Wildlife spotted: Sea eagle,otter and mountain hare.This cottage is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonytiger...
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I and our two dogs stayed in this fabulous property in November 2014. The cottage was very spacious and very clean. The garden, which lead straight onto the beach, was superb for the dogs. My wife and I intend to return to the cottage later this year at the back end of the summer and we will hopefully get to sit in the garden most nights as the weather should be better than in November. Colin the owner was I mine of information when I rang him just before our stay and couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage costs a bit more than other properties in Mull but my wife and I are firm believers in you get what you pay for. This cottage was worth every penny. We wouldn't hestitate to recommend this property to anyone heading to Mull. One final thing which is a major plus point is that Fionnphort's pub is literally a two minute walk from the cottage AND it let's dogs in. What more could you want.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and do hope you return soon.
Kind regards
Colin & Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing