We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wild "Camping at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fidden Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fidden Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“"Wild "Camping at its best”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fidden (pronounced. Fid-gen) is as near to wild camping as you get BUT with excellent facilities.
Pitch up where you want to on the dune and sea facing site on cut (sheep cut) grass.
Plenty of room for all and as long as you respect other peoples space you too can enjoy a super pitch with a stunning view over the Sound of Iona. ( amateur campers please note please don't get too close!!)
Facilities are recent and good quality including chemical dump.
Watch the tide coming in and out, take a walk along the extensive tideline but beware nesting birds at this time of year.
The owners care for their customers and their super site which was enhanced by excellent weather when we visited. Well done Fidden

Room Tip: Have a good look around for a suitable pitch, there's plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RS500Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a lovely little campsite. Great location on the edge of Mull with a secluded beach, good facilities, stunning sunsets and plenty of farm animals running around to keep the little ones interested after stepping out of the tent. My only little gripe is that despite provision of a Freezer there is no fridge space which would have been handy as it is the kind of place you have to rely on having your own supplies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pluto83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Bliss. No fuss no frills. Excellent toilet block. Clean, hot water.
We pitched on the beach fantastic views to Iona. No fixed pitches, total freedom. Thankfully NO HOOK-UPS, which excluded all the groups which rely on TV etc.
Really peaceful, everyone there just out to "chill", some with canoes, or small boats, some swimming, fishing, walking.
Still a working sheep farm, so the campsite is a sheep field.
It is a bit of a walk to the toilet block but we choose to camp on the beach, we could have pitched much closer to the toilet block but then we would have had a long walk to the beach! We preferred to unzip our tent and just look out onto the shore.Super sandy beach with some rocks and pools, idyllic.
It can get really windy, so sturdy tent pegs are needed. In one week we got sunburned and nearly blown away!
The farmer and his family were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoast2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I loved the location of this place.

the checking in process was VERY easy and quick, with no hassle at all. we did get a sharp comment about stroking one of the dogs that was running around though.

the location is right on the beach, overlooking Iona and absolutely perfect for snorkelling and/or kayaking.

the shower block was lovely - really warm, with really hot showers, but there seemed to be an issue with the lack of water - not sure they are on mains water. if you want to pitch up near the seafront, its a fair walk to the toilet block, but worth it in all.

it was also quite a quiet campsite, so you could get a good nights sleep and not be disturbed by other residents.

will def choose this place in future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night in June based on good reviews. On arrival at the campsite we were slightly taken aback by the rather curt greeting and matter of fact no chat checking in process - very different to all the other campsites we have stayed in. The location itself is fantastic and we set ourselves up literally next to the beach and had great views over the bay. The services are all quite new and in good order but it would be useful to have some Electric hook ups available.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinhoe
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This campsite is right on the coast overlooking Iona. Perfect setting! The site was busy and there are no set pitches but we managed to park up our large motor home. It's quite a walk to the toilet block (v nice and clean with ample hot water) if you pitch on the seafront area but well worth it for the views alone. My 3 year old safely played on the beach and in the shallows for hours.
My only wish would be that they installed electric hookups

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tobermory
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
292 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fidden Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidden Farm

Property: Fidden Farm
Address: Fidden Farm Knockvologan Road, Fionnphort PA66 6BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Fionnphort
Also Known As:
Fidden Farm Fionnphort, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing