We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of Coast”
Review of Fidden Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fidden Farm
Certificate of Excellence
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of Coast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Camped here for 4 days, reasonably priced, fantastic coastal location, large site with plenty of pitch options. Would be 5 stars if the facilities were more central on the site, however it wouldn't detter us coming back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It's a long way from anywhere else even on Mull itself (over an hour from the port of Craignure and more like 2 from e.g Tobermory or the wonderful Calgary Bay beach). But it's really worth it. The atmosphere is really relaxed, and although it was very busy when we were there, it never felt overcrowded, and there's definitely a family-friendly and dog-friendly atmosphere; you can also build your own campfires too.

You can choose your pitch, and many of them overlook the sea or have a view of the beach (there were even some tents even on smaller 'islands' on the beach, although these are cut off twice a day by the tide!). Surprisingly enough even though it faces west into the prevailing Atlantic winds, it never felt too windy when we were there, and we didn't see any tents having difficulty staying up! Do watch out though, as the site is fairly sprawling and there are lots of hidden dips and coves on the beach part, it's easy to lose your kids (the farmer helped us find ours on his quad bike though....!)

It would benefit from a bigger/second shower block and/or more portaloos, as there were queues at peak times.

Highly recommended, relaxed atmosphere, and we'd go again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JandRandTandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It's a long drive to get here but the site is great and the views stunning. Also no midges!
You can choose to pitch wherever you want but the sea view "pitches' were all taken when we arrived, some people moved to the vacant places in the morning as some campers left.
Ideally they need a few extra showers and toilets, there were only two showers in the mens block.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent a lovely night here. The views are beautiful from just about the whole site. It's right next to a beautiful beach, a mixture of sand and rocks. The site is large, with some pitches several minutes walk from the toilet block (although there are a couple of portaloos thoughtfully placed too). You pick your own pitch, which is great. There are just a couple of showers so sometimes a queue but hot and clean. It was busy in the school hols but the families all looked to be having a great time. Would definitely go back. Great location for the ferry to Iona.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodenowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amazingly beautiful place to camp. The scenery is spectacular, camping is on grass adjacent to a beach. Plenty of space and a great opportunity to relax in a stunning setting. I prefer wild camping to formal campsites, but this place was the best of both. There is enough space to enable you to find your own sanctuary, and the environment is rugged and remote, but if you do want to have a shower, the facilities are excellent and clean. We cycled from the tent to the local port (1.5 miles) to catch a ferry to Iona. There is a lovely-looking seafood restaurant (Ninth wave) a couple of miles away, however we didn't eat there as they have a no kids under 12 policy. We had a pretty decent meal at The Keel Row (1 mile away), but this place was busy and we had to wait over an hour for a table.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fidden (pronounced. Fid-gen) is as near to wild camping as you get BUT with excellent facilities.
Pitch up where you want to on the dune and sea facing site on cut (sheep cut) grass.
Plenty of room for all and as long as you respect other peoples space you too can enjoy a super pitch with a stunning view over the Sound of Iona. ( amateur campers please note please don't get too close!!)
Facilities are recent and good quality including chemical dump.
Watch the tide coming in and out, take a walk along the extensive tideline but beware nesting birds at this time of year.
The owners care for their customers and their super site which was enhanced by excellent weather when we visited. Well done Fidden

Room Tip: Have a good look around for a suitable pitch, there's plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RS500Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a lovely little campsite. Great location on the edge of Mull with a secluded beach, good facilities, stunning sunsets and plenty of farm animals running around to keep the little ones interested after stepping out of the tent. My only little gripe is that despite provision of a Freezer there is no fridge space which would have been handy as it is the kind of place you have to rely on having your own supplies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pluto83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tobermory
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fidden Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidden Farm

Property: Fidden Farm
Address: Fidden Farm Knockvologan Road, Fionnphort PA66 6BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Fionnphort
Also Known As:
Fidden Farm Fionnphort, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing