We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic...again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fionnphort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Fionnphort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic...again!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our second visit to this lovely B&B and it was just as good as our first. Jane and John are so welcoming and friendly, the perfect hosts. The bedrooms are cosy and very comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean. We were thoroughly spoiled with delicious breakfasts and evening meals. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank weegranni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
302
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a pleasant stay in Fionnphort, the B&B is located just in front of the harbour, and there is an incredible view on the bay and Iona, from the breakfast room.The location is great and so romantic (sunset on the beach) !
The bedroom was nice and clean and confortable, but very very small ! As we were travelling by motorbike, we had the suitcases and the motorbike gear, and everything had to fit in this small bedroom, but it incredibly did !!! Although we didn't have the view on the sea (for one night we didn't care), we had a good rest because it's a quiet place.
The breakfast was really good, as usual in Scotland there was too much food, but we could taste a different kind of breakfast with kippers for instance. Congrats to the chef !
We had a warm welcome from John who gave us a lot of information about the place, the weather (very important for bikers !), the food, and even a pronunciation lesson in Gaelic.
However, we said "hello" to his wife who didn't seem to care a lot about people coming here, she seems to be quite distant and away from the B&B activity.
Although it was very pleasant, it feels like this B&B is a kind of "tourist factory", you really feel the owners do that for money. In other B&Bs we were welcomed most of the time by the couple of owners, in Seaview you only talk to John, it lacked a little bit of authenticity. In a place like that, you expect more...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John N, Owner at Seaview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear highlandbikers7364,

Thank you for taking the time to review Seaview Bed & Breakfast following your stay with us in August this year and for your comments. We are happy to hear that you found your stay pleasant, location great, bedrooms nice, clean and comfortable, breakfast really good, warm welcome from John etc.

I am however a little perplexed at your title ‘Good place but lack of authenticity’ and your negative and personal comments towards the end of the review as they are inconsistent and unjustified. For the benefit of other TripAdvisor readers I would like to point out:

The rooms at Seaview are indeed small but they still exceed the minimum requirements set by the Quality Assurance Assessor at VisitScotland who inspect us every year. We are rated 4 star GOLD by VisitScotland which has been achieved by us through years of hard work, effort and investment in our business. Our home was built in 1860 and is a typical 1 ½ storey Hebridean cottage and so the clue is in the word ‘cottage’ which is advertised throughout our website and on TripAdvisor as well. As you made the booking online in September 2012 via our website and personally chose the room you stayed in, I think it is fair to assume you were fully aware of where you were coming to stay – but then maybe not! I see from all the other reviews you have left following your grand tour around Scotland on your motorbike, you seem obsessed about the size of the rooms you have stayed in. If room size is important to you (with all your motorbike luggage and equipment) and clearly in this case it is, here is some advice for you - if you ever come to Scotland again on your motorbike, try and do a little more research on the places you are staying at and then you won’t be quite so disappointed in the room sizes. Personally we feel the size of the welcome is far more important.

As for ‘lack of authenticity’ – perhaps the meaning of ‘authenticity’ has been lost in translation? How much more authentic do you want? – you chose to stay in a small remote fishing community on the Isle of Mull, in a 160 year old traditional Hebridean cottage, hosted by a genuine, warm, generous and authentic Scottish west coast islander called John, (the only Scottish B&B owner in the village by the way, and a retired crab & lobster fishermen with a reasonable knowledge of Gaelic and tons of local knowledge and information which he generously shared with you), serving real, local and Scottish breakfast fare (remember those kippers?) Not forgetting the porridge, haggis, local eggs, salmon, and all the other food products sourced from local and regional suppliers.

Tourist Factory? – dear oh dear, what a mean-spirited comment!!! Unlike many places we do not insist on or impose a minimum 2 night stay policy and so when you booked with us you chose to stay for one night only (you could have stayed for 2, 3 or even more nights), arriving at 4 pm and leaving the next morning by 10.30 a.m, a stay totalling 18 hours! Touring Scotland in this way (in fact touring any country in this way) must indeed feel like a ‘Tourist Factory’ – for us as hosts as well as our guests, but I don’t suppose for one minute you gave us any consideration when making such a comment. Please remember however, this was your choice and not ours.

As for doing it for money – er, hello! Yes of course we do it for money – this is a business, this is our livelihood and this is how we earn our living! Had you stayed longer then you would have noticed that there are limited employment opportunities in our community and we work very hard being self-employed. We are not a charity, we don’t run a B&B as a hobby, or for pocket money, and we don’t have other jobs to supplement our income from the B&B, we do it professionally and to the best of our ability. What did you think we did it for? I could go on but I think you get my point.

And finally, your personal comments about my wife Jane are to be quite frank, cheeky and out of order, as well as being unfair and unjustified. I am astonished that you feel on the basis of a ‘hello’ to Jane you can make such an off-the-wall judgement and think it is appropriate to make such a comment. Jane and I share the work and responsibilities in the B&B and your comments clearly show you have no idea what is involved in running a 5 room (9 guest) 4 star GOLD bed & breakfast. The time and effort put into Seaview is astronomical and far from being someone ‘who didn't seem to care a lot about people coming here, she seems to be quite distant and away from the B&B activity’, Jane is at the very heart of running Seaview and she is one of the main reasons why our business and livelihood is so successful. As well as looking after our family, Jane is also responsible for the laundry (clearing rooms, washing, drying and ironing), housekeeping, stock control and food ordering, our website, marketing, advertising, emails, bookings, payments, and accounts, answering the telephone and all other administration matters, as well as menu planning, cooking the breakfasts, preparing lunches and evening meals plus much more. Remember that lovely nice clean and comfortable bedroom you stayed in and compliments to the chef for the breakfast??? That was Jane! I’m sure after all her daily work load, if Jane had the time she would love to spend more time with the guests however this is MY job and because she is working so hard behind the scenes, this allows me to spend a lot of time looking after our guests, welcoming them and making sure they have everything they want and need and to help them make the best use of their time while staying with us.

Please also note – do you remember that lovely email you received about a week after your stay at Seaview thanking you for staying here? That was written and sent by Jane. Maybe on your next visit to Scotland you will be a little kinder and more considerate about the places and the people you stay with.

With regards,

John Noddings
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The sheep grazing on the greens in the middle of town outnumber the locals probably 3 to 1. It's charm all over the place - neat little Bead and Breakfast, very clean, hosts are very responsive and helpful, hand location to the Iona ferry, the bus stop and a very good pub right next door. Views of the sea, the surrounding hills, we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Note - the B and B does not have a 'pool' - it has an ocean to wade in with an abundance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackhillslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Seaview with John and Jane and their lovely Labradors. Our room was beautifully furnished and appointed and the bed was super comfortable. The provision of both a torch and a hot water bottle in our room was both thoughtful and very much appreciated.

It would have been so easy to just sit in the beautiful conservatory/dining room all day long and admire the view of Iona just across the water, but it was almost as easy to catch the ferry on the doorstep and explore it for real.

The breakfasts were delicious - especially Jane's famous porridge - and we also enjoyed dinner on one of our nights there. John is a mine of information about the island and its stories which he was happy to share, and we were sad to leave such a beautiful place, but grateful to have had the opportunity to stay at Seaview.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlsgetaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wonderful accommodation overlooking The Sound of Iona.. from the moment we booked in Dec we were given a warm welcome with lots of advice about ferries and distances and time we would need to visit different destinations and islands.
We were met by John with a really warm welcome and enjoyed the wonderful meals cooked by his wife. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave good local advice and found information for us about activities we wanted to take part in. They really do have the best breaksast menu i have ever seen. Evening meals were superb. Wil definately be going back

Room Tip: Front rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had a great stay here, John and Jane were very welcoming and provided a lot of information on the area. My room looked out to Iona and had a lovely window seat - I was able to anticipate my trip over to Iona the next day. Breakfast room and breakfast was excellent with the chance to speak with some of the other guests. John provided a lot of information and directions for my trip to Iona which was very helpful. A great place to stop on your way to Iona or indeed as a base for travelling on Mull.

Room Tip: I loved the front room I had with a window seat, I am sure other rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutofSeasonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

For those of you making the trip to Iona please consider staying at Seaview B&B In Fionnphort. Our stay there in August was great and John was a wonderful host. We also enjoyed meeting and visiting with other guest from Holland.
John's knowledge of the area and his suggestions for dinner the evening of our arrival were very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ham_McDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fionnphort
27.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
368 reviews
23.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Iona
121 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
257 reviews
22.7 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Seaview Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fionnphort | Isle of Mull, Fionnphort PA66 6BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Fionnphort
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fionnphort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview is the home of authentic Scottish island hospitality, delicious food, good craic and award winning customer service. A genuine warm welcome awaits you at Seaview, here on the south west peninsula on the Isle of Mull overlooking the gorgeous colours of the Sound of Iona and her famous Abbey. Scottish Thistle Award winning Seaview is a traditional Hebridean cottage built from the Ross of Mull pink granite and is the home of your hosts John & Jane Noddings. As well as being the nearest 4 star GOLD B&B en-suite accommodation, close to the ferry for Iona, Staffa & Treshnish Isles, Seaview are also holders of the Gold Award for Green Tourism reflecting the commitment of John & Jane as ambassadors to environmentally responsible tourism. Renowned for our hospitality and home cooking, enjoy our famous 'Fingals' Breakfast and seafood dinners whilst enjoying the panoramic seascapes of Iona and its historic Abbey and surrounding landscapes from our breakfast room. As well as all the home comforts, we also offer cycle hire, a same day laundry service, free wireless broadband access, picnic lunches and much more. Short breaks also available throughout the year - ideal for wildlife, bird watching, walking, whale watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Bed & Breakfast Fionnphort, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing