We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
Ranked #2 of 9 Salen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely few days”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed a few days in one of the lodges at Glenforsa hotel, we found it to be comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful in organising a boat trip for us with one of the local tour boats. Overall a lovely place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    52
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
36
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of us on a motorcycle tour of Scotland stayed for two nights at the Glenforsa Hotel to tour Mull and Iona, The hotel room was pretty basic but OK and comfortable. The location was great for an enjoyable ride to the ferry to Iona, and taking a tour around the island. The food was very good but would have liked to have haggis on the menu. Drinks were a little pricey but not too bad and they produced a fantastic birthday cake for one of our party. Overall a nice stay at a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMJeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Glenforsa Hotel to tour Mull and Iona, The hotel room was basic but pleasant. While the hallways were chilly in the rainy, dark weather, the room itself was comfortable.
The location was great for reaching the two ferry ports, Iona, and taking a driving tour around the island.
The two best things about staying at the Glenforsa for us were the excellent quality of the meals served in the restaurant there and the service provided by the hosts (and Stella the black lab).
We ate in the dining room one night and in the bar the next. Both meals were extremely good, reasonably priced, and attractively presented. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Glenforsa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of family and friends had rented a cottage at nearby Fishnish and visited the Glenforsa for food and drinks on two occasions. We found the hotel to be more than pleasant and full of character and the owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Both the restaurant menu and bar meals were delicious and good value for money, as was the service. If holidaying in Mull in the future we would definitely revisit this lovely hotel again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerrydoorstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Simple but attractive and cheerful. Nice restaurant and very good bar with well priced and well cooked meals. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Food is simple but imaginative and inexpensive. Good selection of whiskies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed a great week here, hosts friendly and place is relaxing. The shed was great!
Enjoyed the tour of the polytunnel and meeting the hens who laid yummy eggs for us to eat.
Only sorry we dont have a plane or helicopter to use the airstrip!
thanks for a great week
Mo and Dave
Colchester

Room Tip: try a seperate chalet for real quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here many times on annual flying trips to the West Coast. This time I had one of the best mussels and chips I have ever had looking at this sunset over the Sound of Mull. A great moment. Delicious fresh mussels in a fabulous sauce and perfect chips. Brendon and Alison bend over backwards to help in any way - from keeping the bar flowing to towing our aircraft out of a soggy patch of the airstrip. Without a doubt the best place to stay on Mull. Particularly if you fly!

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salen
8.1 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
9.4 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenforsa Hotel Mull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Property: The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Glenforsa Hotel Mull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull Salen, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing