We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
Ranked #2 of 9 Salen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you don't mind being ripped off, being overcharged at the bar and generally being given a poor welcoming this hotel could be the one for you. The owners clearly have had little experience in being hoteliers.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor, while we value genuine feedback from our customers ,on this occasion we are inclined to believe that you may have confused us with another establishment nearby.
We are sorry that you had such a bad experience while visiting our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    50
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
35
79
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Glenforsa for 3 nights, its in a lovely, peaceful location but good centrally for exploring the rest of the island. Our room was spotlessly clean, with plenty of space and a lovely view. The staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay even easier by offering us a packed lunch when we went to Iona for the day, a very nice touch. The bar meals are very reasonably priced with generous portions and the Scottish breakfast is delicious! A lovely place to stay and I would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury nz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were wet and cold after a visit to Iona, and had a two hour wait to catch the ferry back to Oban. We decided to go looking for food. Eight of us arrived at the Hotel, and they couldn't have been more helpful. We needed to be fed and on our way within an hour and we were served the most delicious fish, crunchy light batter, and beautifully cooked fish, and homemade chips. Thank you for your kindness and efficiency.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed a few days in one of the lodges at Glenforsa hotel, we found it to be comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful in organising a boat trip for us with one of the local tour boats. Overall a lovely place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of us on a motorcycle tour of Scotland stayed for two nights at the Glenforsa Hotel to tour Mull and Iona, The hotel room was pretty basic but OK and comfortable. The location was great for an enjoyable ride to the ferry to Iona, and taking a tour around the island. The food was very good but would have liked to have haggis on the menu. Drinks were a little pricey but not too bad and they produced a fantastic birthday cake for one of our party. Overall a nice stay at a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMJeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Glenforsa Hotel to tour Mull and Iona, The hotel room was basic but pleasant. While the hallways were chilly in the rainy, dark weather, the room itself was comfortable.
The location was great for reaching the two ferry ports, Iona, and taking a driving tour around the island.
The two best things about staying at the Glenforsa for us were the excellent quality of the meals served in the restaurant there and the service provided by the hosts (and Stella the black lab).
We ate in the dining room one night and in the bar the next. Both meals were extremely good, reasonably priced, and attractively presented. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Glenforsa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of family and friends had rented a cottage at nearby Fishnish and visited the Glenforsa for food and drinks on two occasions. We found the hotel to be more than pleasant and full of character and the owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Both the restaurant menu and bar meals were delicious and good value for money, as was the service. If holidaying in Mull in the future we would definitely revisit this lovely hotel again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerrydoorstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salen
9.1 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenforsa Hotel Mull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Property: The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull Salen, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing