We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, relaxed, with amazing views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull
Ranked #2 of 9 Salen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This small (12 room) hotel separated from the Sound of Mull by Mull Airfield (Yes! Mull has an airfield) is built in the style of a log cabin. This means the rooms are a bit on the small side and dark (who would paint 100 year old pine logs magnolia), but the beds are comfortable (& huge), the hot water plentiful and we came to Mull for the scenery not the bedroom. The welcome is warm and relaxed. The hotel is run by the owners with a small staff to help them. The dining room has views through the picture windows of the Sound of Mull as does the small bar. Dinner is served on tables laid with white cloths these are replaced with blue ones for breakfast. The food is fresh and local and the menu changes regularily. For the three nights we were there we always found something new on the menu. The food is prepared with imagination and skill. Portions are reasonable and the kitchen is flexible. If anything lets them down it is the wine list which leans towards the expensive. I think in our visit we tried all of the wines on the list at £15 a bottle and we only had one bottle per night. As is fitting for a hotel on the edge of an airfield the bar has an aeronautical theme. You are likely to encounter someone who has flown in for the day or the weekend or maybe just a meal. The weekend we were there 4 Frenchmen arrived who had been turned away from a earby mainland airfield because they shut at 5pm. Alison, one of the owners, managed to accommodate 2 of them in the hotel and found a B&B for the other two. I think it says a lot that although they left the following morning they returned the next day and all 4 stayed in the hotel. On both occasions they dined in the hotel restaurant. This was a return visit for me, but the first time for my partner. We agreed that we would definitely be returning.
The Hotel is situated near to the Lochaline/Fishnish and Oban/Criagnure Ferrys. tobermory is about 40 minutes drive further north. It is centrally located on the island mking it possible to drive different routes each day. Alison and Brendan are congenial hosts and there hotel is just the job for a relaxed touring base. Be warned... there is no pool, spa, gym, hot tub, etc. There are no TV's in the rooms, but one in the resident's lounge. Fast internet is available also in the resident's lounge which has comfortable seating and enviable views up the Sound. At this time of year sunset can last for hours!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cabinlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

Excellent , food , accommodation and staff.
Very peaceful and great walks.
What more could I say but I will be back see you all soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelmerChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have returned to this hotel many times, why because the view, the food, the staff all are excellent and the aviation theme to the hotel, it helps being next to Glenforse airstrip,
makes the long trip all the more worthwhile.
If you want something different then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CirruspilotWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Had a great time despite the foul weather (heavy rain and high winds), food excellent, rooms clean and a very comfortable bed. Nice relaxed atmosphere, staff/owners very helpful and friendly, well worth the long trip up to Mull. Watched sea eagles from lounge. We will defiantly be going back next summer, hopefully the weather will be more friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordHuttonSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We were immediately turned off by the sourness which which we were greeted by the woman proprietor - a point with appears to accord with the comments of a number of other guests - and less than impressed at being royally overcharged for a light meal.

The hotel's shoddy appearance, as flagged up by others, I can easily forgive - but bad manners, or otherwise showing contempt towards customers, is unacceptable, and I would give any establishment a wide berth for that alone - which we subsequently did.

The 'Isle of Mull' Hotel is superior in every respect.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pfeiffer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

At Glenforsa we were met with a warm welcome. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are unique but lovely. The food in the restaurant is the best that we had on our trip round the West Coast of Scotland. While you are in Mull take a drive to Calgary Bay, it is a beautiful but deserted beach.



Anna and Margaret, Doncaster

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna7087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The welcome wasn't exactly welcoming, and things went downhill from there.
The room was dark and dreary (yes, I know, it's the 'cabin' look although the dodgy slipper chair wasn't in keeping), the blind on the window didn't work, the towels were tiny, and the bed the most uncomfortable ever (and it was a king size bed with a double duvet which didn't reach the sides / cover the occupants).
On the plus side, the breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenforsa, Owner at The Glenforsa Hotel Mull, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

I don't really know here to start with thisone.
First of all, I am sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay at the Glenforsa, we do work very hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time, and as our guests comments at http://www.glenforsa.com/glenforsahotelguestbook.html show, mostly we get it right.

The whole hotel is made from at least 100 year old Norwegian Pine that has darkened with age, which our guests tell us is one of the best features of the hotel.

Our beds are all new this season and are 6ft x 6.5ft, our duvets are 7ft x 7.5ft.
Our 500g towels 2.5ft x 4.5ft.

I have to own up that the slipper chairs are not my favorite either, so we will replace them this winter, and the blind, now that I am aware of it, I have fixed myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salen
8.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
279 reviews
13.1 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#3 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
8.7 mi away
Craignure Inn
Craignure Inn
#1 of 4 in Craignure
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenforsa Hotel Mull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenforsa Hotel Mull

Address: Salen | Aros, Salen PA72 6JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Salen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salen
Price Range: £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glenforsa Hotel Mull 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Glenforsa Hotel Mull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenforsa Hotel Mull Salen, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing