We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage in a perfect location on the...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IngaScour...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage in a perfect location on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in Spey Cottage, it is one of the best cottages we have stayed in. Spey Cottage has lots of character, stunning views over Tobermory harbour from the upstairs windows, is beautifully decorated and is equipped with everything you could possibly need.

We loved the location of the cottage and being able to easily walk into Tobermory to the shops, for a coastal walk or for a meal out.

Our children enjoyed the aquarium in Tobermory and we had fun beach days at Calgary bay, Langamull beach and Laggan Sands. We went on a fabulous boat trip to Staffa Island and were lucky to see dolphins swimming in the sea.

The Isle of Mull is beautiful and so scenic, the views of the mainland and other islands from the coast is stunning.

Thank you for a fabulous holiday
Inga, Paul, Rowan and Finn

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of Spey Cottage and of Mull. We love it when our guests really enjoy their visits to this beautiful Island and it certainly sounded like you did just that.
Hopefully it wont be too long before you get a chance to come back. Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deeclark1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My parents, husband and daughter travelled to Spey Cottage from Glasgow for a week this summer. The cottage was outstanding in all respects. Beautifully decorated and equipped for our every need. It instantly became a home from home and we were extremely comfortable. Spey Cottage is situated in a perfect location, whether you wish to explore the many delights of the island or simply potter around Tobermory.
Cannot thank Iain enough, in all correspondence he was beyond helpful and attentive to my many queries and requests.
Highly recommend and we will certainly be returning for some more island respite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
"Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We really value reading positive feedback that our guests have enjoyed their stay on Mull and always try our best to ensure that the time you spend in the cottage and on the island is as trouble free and rewarding as possible. It would be great to welcome you back at Spey Cottage in the future. Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee7...
1 review
“A lovely, clean, well equipped cottage, with nice views from upstairs; we would love to come back.”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was great to be able to walk to Tobermory in the evening. The shops are selling quality local produce. Ideally located to explore Mull. The weather this week was not good but the cottage was warm and dry which meant tag we could dry out in between excursions. The new bathroom was a real luxury treat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really value our guests opinions and its always heartening to know that our efforts in ensuring a great stay for our guests is appreciated. Thanks again.
best wishes from Tobermory
Iain & Susan Maclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timcallag...
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect location in Tobermory the cottage has everything, space, up to date facilities, a great garden.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfect location in Tobermory 10 mins from Main Street. The cottage is large and comfortable with every facility you need for a perfect stay.Newly refurbished and decorated with a view to die for ! Garden is excellent and private. We will be back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are always thrilled when our guests enjoy their visits to Mull and we're glad that your stay in Spey Cottage added so much to your holiday. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again.
Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S
1 review
“Brilliant Place”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from a lovely week on Mull staying in this "home from home" cottage. Lovely place to stay, the children didn't want to leave... neither did we!

Shall certainly look to book again in future when we return to Mull after such a great week on the island with so much to see and do we only managed to scrape the surface.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Hi Rob Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a positive review for Spey Cottage and Mull. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future so you can get more time to explore this fantastic island. Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R
Edgworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The place we'd always stay in Tobermory!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Spey Cottage. We thought the cottage was great the first time. But this year we were even more impressed as various renovations have been made including a very smart new bathroom and shower. The cottage is well situated on the road parallel to the front. It is extremely quiet and there is ample road parking. There are also sea views from the bedrooms. The garden is at the rear.It is absolutely beautiful and has all the equipment you could need for outdoor relaxing and dining. The inside of the cottage is spacious and is very well (and tastefully!) furnished- log fire, posh TV, bedlinen from Marks and Spencer, crockery from Habitat, really nice pictures on the walls etc. There are ample facilities for cooking and for washing and drying clothes. All in all, the owners have kept the character of the place whilst making it extremely efficient and comfortable. The owners themselves are extremely supportive and pleasant to deal with. I don't think I've ever stayed in a cottage (or gite) which has given me so much pleasure and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Tobermory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review for Spey Cottage and we were delighted to welcome you back once again. We really get a lot of enjoyment in making sure our guests have a great time and that they love their stay on the beautiful Island of Mull. We're delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you approved of the many positive changes we have made and we hope to welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future. Very best wishes from Tobermory. Kind regards Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan I
1 review
“Something old/Something New”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Having spent the last five years at Spey Cottage, we arrived once again in April to enjoy the delights of Tobermory. The recent upgrades to the property were immediately noticeable and work brilliantly with the existing characteristics of this old house. Modern, clean, with period features this is a great house for a family getaway right in the heart of Tobermory. We love it, I'm sure you will too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Hi Alan
Really nice review, thanks so much. Its good to know that our guests appreciate the new touches that have been made.
Thanks for your continued custom over the years. We really value our returning guests and appreciate your continued custom. hopefully you'll be back before too long. Best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards Iain & Susan"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing