We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage in a great location”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CHarte198...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We've stayed in Tobermory a couple of times but I think we've found our favourite place.
There were 4 of us in the cottage and it was brilliant. It's in a great location (that hill from the centre never gets any easier!) with good parking and amenities.
We go away as two couples and always struggle to find somewhere that has 2 double bedded rooms rather than 1 double and 1 twin so we were on to a winner. The rooms were spacious with good storage and comfy beds.
Having such a big utility room was handy, and whilst we were on holiday I did a few washings purely because it was so hot it was good to wash things rather than leave them sitting for the week.
What made the holiday so good was having a garden to sit out in - we had cracking weather and were able to sit out until 8pm each night (before the dreaded midge appeared) Lovely little BBQ spot and very private.
The bathroom is well equipped and my husband said if there were awards for showers - this one would win. I think that says it all.
We had a great time and actually rebooked for September whilst we were there.
Thanks for a wonderful stay & see you again soon.

We do sometimes bring a Dog with us when we go away but it's a shame the owners have had to make the difficult decision to not allow pets any more due to the minority spoiling it for the majority. Please if you're a dog owner clean up after your dog when staying in cottages like these. Dog friendly accommodation is a rarity in Tobermory as it is.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Hi Claire
Thank yo so much for your fantastic review of Spey Cottage. We are really glad you had a great time which as you say was enhanced by the scorching hot weather that week. I totally agree with your husband about the shower and only wish our own one was as good!
Its great that you're coming back in September and hopefully will again have a wonderful holiday on this beautiful island.
All the best from Tobermory
Kind regards
Iain & Susan Maclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandiemoo...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spey Cottage - Excellant Loction for our Holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A lovely cottage in an excellent location, clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated.
We had a great boat trip to Staffa – I would highly recommend- the Puffins are well worth the wait.
We had a lovely holiday on the island and would highly recommend Spey Cottage and Mull as a great place to relax and unwind. Thank you Iain and Sue .
Mandie Mooney

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Hi Mandie
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had such a nice time at Spey Cottage and that you enjoyed your holiday on Mull. I totally endorse your recommendation of a boat trip to Staffa and a visit to the Puffins. Not to be missed! Please come back again.
All the best from Tobermory.
Kind regards
Iain & Susan Maclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny A
2 reviews
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Fabulous cottage with all that you need for a wonderful holiday in Mull. Exceptionally clean with lovely decor and layout.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thanks so much for your lovely review Penny. We really appreciate your feedback and will pass this onto the lovely lady who is responsible for keeping the cottage looking fabulous for our guests.
All the best from Tobermory
Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rab123201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical Mull”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We recently spent a wonderful week at Spey Cottage in Tobermory. The cottage is generously equipped and very spacious and comfortable. The garden to the rear is a suntrap in the afternoon and a lovely place to sit a plan the next day's adventure. It would comfortably sleep six as there is fold down beds in both rooms which have lovely views over Tobermory bay. Everything you need is two minutes drive in the car. You can walk (although the hill is pretty steep both going down and coming back up!).
The was a pleasure dealing with the owners and their is a comprehensive pack informing of everything to do in the area. We couldn't praise this enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Hi Robert
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Spey Cottage and of Mull. We love it when our guests really enjoy their visits to this beautiful Island and it certainly sounded like you did just that. Hopefully it wont be too long before you get a chance to come back.
Very best wishes from Tobermory.
Kind regards Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbnberwic...
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Home From Home”
Reviewed 17 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Really great accommodation. Everything you could ask for to make a comfortable “home from home” stay. Really well appointed, extremely comfortable and excellent value for money. Really could not fault anything. Certainly first on our list for our next stay in Tobermory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you John for such a positive review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay on Mull and that you found Spey Cottage to your liking. We'd be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
All the best from Tobermory
Kind regards
Iain & Susan Maclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B
1 review
“Great week”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We love the cottage, it was great to come back to after a daylong walk and put the fire on and our feet up.
Well equipped and very cosy.
Thoughouly reccomended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Hi Jason Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review for Spey Cottage. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future. Very best wishes from Tobermory. Kind regards Iain & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillykell...
lillykelly
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay ”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed here for a week in October, we settled in to the cottage well. the Cottage was clean and welcoming, but a little cold which was soon sorted with the lovely log fire.
The bedroom where lovely, comfortable and well decorated
The lounge was comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped.
The only thing I think would improve the stay would of been a welcome basket with some milk, tea bag/coffee and a biscuit. We had been traveling for 9 hours and the local shop was being renovated and had very little in.

On our first full day we had a car crash it was a very nasty accident and we ended up in A&E. The police, firemen and a&e staff were so helpful offering to take us shopping, offering us support to sort things out.

The local people are as helpful and friendly as ever and I couldnt be more greatfull

We were in the house for a lot of our holiday and we were very comfortable and would recommend a visit.

Booking was very easy and the owners were friendly and helpful

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really value our guests opinions and its always heartening to know that our efforts in ensuring a great stay for our guests is appreciated. Thanks again. Iain & Susan Maclean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing