We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic return visit to Mull and this Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Nicki G
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic return visit to Mull and this Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our 2nd trip to this Cottage and it was as perfect as the first time, the cottage is spotless, well equipped and definitely feels like a home from home experience, we have already booked to return next year! Jean is such an fantastic host! Excellent base to explore the Island.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Hello to you all,
Thank you for your great review for Oakfield Cottage. It is really good to know that you all enjoy your visits. Thank you very much for booking for next year - we will look forward to seeing you all next May.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrypayn...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The nicest way to stay on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Isle of Mull is beautiful and the only town on the island, Tobermory, is a delightful place to stay. It is undeniably picturesque, has interesting shops and good restaurants. So it is a very popular place and can be quite crowded on the loch-side. Oakfield Cottage provides a superior way of staying on Mull. The front garden provides a lovely view of all that is going on the water. We slept well in the comfortable bedrooms whose windows can be left open and yet still be perfectly peaceful. A comfortable lounge. A well equipped kitchen.
But, best of all, is that the owner is always on hand to help and advise.
Even before we had arrived we were making frequent enquiries and Mrs Maclean responded without delay. When we were in residence she was always immediately available if we needed to talk to her.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owner, who was always unobtrusively on hand.
Liked least: This is really nit-picking, but the property could do with a repeater wifi router in the premises.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It was really good that you were able to enjoy the excellent weather to explore the island and that you enjoyed sampling the menus in several of the local restaurants.
It was a real pleasure to meet you all and we hope that we might welcome you back some time in the not too distant future.
We hope that you went home well rested.
Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
197yellow
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Jean and Alasdair have provided a spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage. You can start exploring the island on foot from the front door, and the main street is only 5 minutes away,down hill. Jean kindly gave us some very interesting information.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 May 2016
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oakfield Cottage. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may welcome you back at some time in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes from Tobermory,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James N
1 review
“Perfectly suited our needs”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely warm welcome from Jean,the cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Beautiful views from the garden and the lounge(looking onto the bird feeders). Comfy beds and rooms warm up quickly.Jean was very helpful and provided information about trips.perfect location for us,would recommend Oakfield to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the garden
Liked least: Feeding the meter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for your stay at Oakfield Cottage.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to see a lot of the island.
Its great to know that you are thinking f returning soon.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmax...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“terrific tobermory”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An absolute delight to be able to stay in oakfield. Such a warm lovely home. Everything you could possibly want and need. Only a ten min walk into town, a great selection of shops. A great bus service that can take you round the full island. Hope to return at some point in the future , thanks again for making my holiday so comfortable .

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfield Cottage and that you would like to return.
It was a pleasure to meet you and to hear about your holiday adventures. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Oakfield Cottage or Darach Beag - hopefully in the not too distant future..
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather f
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding yet again xx”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just back from out third visit to mull and Oakfield Cottage and it gets better every time. The cottage is in the perfect place to explore Tobemory and the rest of Mull with the most amazing views.

The cottage is really well equipped, comfortable and very safe if you have small children as stairgates can be fitted as well as cots and highchairs provided by Jean which makes the whole trip stress free. The children loved the wonderful garden and spent many happy hours playing there. We were lucky enough to get nightly visits from a hedgehog near the bird tables whilst we were sat in the lounge looking out to the garden.

The cottage is a short walk from all the amenities, there are plenty of good restaurants serving good quality food and everyone is very welcoming. Buses run close by too.

By far the 'grandest' house in Mull!!!!

I am going to miss our night time exploring walks so much but we will be back soon.

Best wishes to Jean and Alasdair xx

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very well equipped, if you need it, Jean had already thought of it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Hello and thank you very much for your very positive review. It was a real pleasure to see you all again and to meet the newest member of the family. We hope to see you next year.
Our very best wishes to you all.
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay on the Isle of Mull”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful Easter break on the Isle of Mull. The cottage exceeded our expectations - spacious, clean and very comfortable. The children (aged 4 and 1) really enjoyed their week especially being able to make use of the lovely garden and climbing frame and also the box of toys and buckets and spades provided. There is much to do on the island for a young family including visits to the amazing beaches and a trip over to Iona. Jean and Alasdair made us very welcome and even left Easter eggs for our Easter egg hunt - thank you!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hello Dawn
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a very positive review for your stay at Oakfield Cottage.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the children made good use of the toys and the garden.
Hopefully we will see you all again in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes from Tobermory
Alasdair and Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.