We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Cottage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A small hotel with a massive heart, warm friendly welcome & exceptional food. A great place to escape too & enjoy the Isle of Mull. It's not a hotel that would suit a large family of small children but great for couples, young & old and anyone who loves good food.

Room Tip: We had room with a great view over Tobermory bay but I'm not sure if all the rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    18
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
94
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is run by the owners and their message is that nothing is too much trouble. Furnished in a victorian style with large bedrooms and bathrooms, sitting room looking over the bay and a 'Dining Room' rather than restaurant.
Sparkingly clean. Honesty bar in Sitting Room.

The hotel functions as a result of the efforts of the owners and their dedication to service.

Food is excellent but I have included this in a separate restaurant review. Breakfast enormous and full of flavour.

Room Tip: Extra payment for a bay view is worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our recent two night visit to the lovely Highland Cottage was fabulous!
Food superb,hospitality just as good and our room although a touch small had great character and was a bit quirky. Jo & Dave are great hosts. All in all we would highly recomend !
Gail & Howard

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very comfortable hotel room had every thing you need luxury toiletries, robes, bottles of water, homemade shortbread on the coffe/tea tray, iPod dock and fully functioning TV a rarety in the highlands two sitting rooms were a haven of calm? Dave and Jo made us very comfortable. Had dinner both nights delicious local food superbly cooked by Jo and served by Dave. I can highly recommend Highland Cottage to anyone.

Room Tip: I did not see all rooms but judging from my own they are all the same. On a very quiet street. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The welcome was warm and friendly; our two night break got off to a good start. From there it just continued to improve, the room was comfortable and cosy with little extras. There was a pleasant residents lounge with a computer for guests. Then just when you thought things couldn't get better we went for dinner and realised that Jo was a hidden gem, there in the kitchen she produced food of an exceptional quality, it was fine dining comparable to grander, more expensive establishments. Her husband Dave was an excellent raconteur playing "front of house" completing the excellent team. The weather during our stay (May 2013) wasn't particularly clement but the sunshine shone within the walls of Highland cottage with its high standards and value for money. Not the cheapest stay but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirralwanderer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I never write reviews, but I actually feel it is my duty to write a review on highland cottages. I will do my best to write an unbiased point of view with as much honesty as I can summon. Basically, the long and the short of my review without complaining about each and every annoying little detail is that highland cottages is SO overpriced that no matter how many good things there are you will always leave feeling totally and utterly duped. Yes Jo is lovely and her food is comforting and yes David is a condescending, tired old curmudgeon and the towels were damp and musty-smelling, but the cost of 2 nights and 1 dinner for 3 of £850 was ludicrous! No ifs, ands, or butts. I feel like a jerk saying it, but I hope their business fails just so they might see the light, lower the prices, and continue to do a pretty nice job. But don't take the mickey David and Jo, it's mean. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Llarson98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Having first visited Dave and Jo at the Highland Cottage over ten years ago, our return visit to dine did not diminish in its pleasure and excellence . Jo's standards have only got better, if that were possible and I cannot think that there is a more satisfying venue to enjoy good food in Mull. Cheap it is not, even for the extensive menu, amuse bouche's, et al and has been commented to charge extra for coffee when the set price is quite full might be reviewed. Dave's Scottish humour and attention to your needs compliment the whole experience. If you can afford it, then Highland Cottage is a must in Tobermory

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.1 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
671 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#9 of 28 in Tobermory
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Cottage

Property: Highland Cottage
Address: 24 Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Highland Cottage Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing