We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly excellent food”
Review of Highland Cottage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our group of travellers celebrated a birthday with dinner at Highland Cottage. The food was outstanding. I couldn't fault our meal. The wine list was small but well crafted. The dining room was charming. They also arranged an excellent birthday cake!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tenbillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Not only did we get to stay overnight at Jo and David's wonderful B&B, we also got to eat Jo's cooking! I had to pinch myself to remember that we were not in a fancy five-star big-city restaurant. Jo cooks with flair, finesse, and creativity, even when she's got to satisfy the demands of a vegetarian diner. Everyone else at the table eyed my main course with more than a touch of envy. I did not offer to share.

David is a delightful host — well traveled, knowledgeable, and witty into the bargain. We enjoyed visiting with him while Jo was working her magic in the kitchen.

The accommodations were delightful as well. Clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated — and there were fully stocked bookshelves in our room and in the public areas! Despite having a room right on the street, we slept without any disturbances at all.

The Highland Cottage was one of the highlights of our two-week trip. If you have the opportunity to stay there, take it!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank tiggywinkle1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Well run small hotel . The Curries have built up their hotel over 17 years and it shows.
Personal attention to every detail and the menu can be amended at short notice to suit particular requirements. David is a fount of information regarding outings on the island and much else besides. Jo's cooking is accomplished in every aspect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Elegance on a small scale. Run by David and Jo with an obvious wealth of experience and attention to detail. David is the consummate host. Interested and interesting. Jo's cooking skills are only equalled by her charm, which she has in abundance.

And abundance was what we experienced. Even if you don't stay on the charming rooms with home style comfort and a touch of old fashioned quality hotel management - but why wouldn't you when it is so good, please at least come for dinner. You will not be disappointed.

We stayed a week and dined enough times to have to let out one notch on my belt, despite walking at least six miles every day.

That's how good the food is.

I can't recommend it highly enough. Oh and Mull and Tobermory are brilliant too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivymillphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Highland Cottage, Joe and Dave were brilliant. My wife and I enjoyed 3 nights at the cottage. The room was fine, with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. Breakfast was just what we needed, very nice indeed and a great start to the day. We had dinner there once, and it was absolutely amazing! We enjoyed every crumb.
One could say that it is not the cheapest place, but lets be honest and have a look at the other places in Tobermory, i believe the Highland Cottage has one of the better quality/price ratios.
The same goes for the dinner, if you do not wish for a special great quality 3 course meal, then go somewhere else. There are plenty of other Pubs/Restaurants within a short walks distance.
We loved and enjoyed all of it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris37_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

David and Jo were the perfect hosts when my partner and I held our wedding reception at the Highland Cottage. The venue was perfect, quiet and intimate as we had wanted. The meal was fantastic and the reception was just fantastic from start to finish which made our very special day even more memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our first trip to Mull was made memorable by our stay here. Ably hosted by Dave and Jo, who are kind and highly experienced hoteliers, we relaxed in the upstairs sitting room with wifi, an honesty bar and loads of good books before an aperitif and homemade canapés in the conservatory.

Scotland was was hot and glorious last July and so having windows and French doors flung wide in Tobermory was rather special. We had booked to stay overnight and have dinner and did not need to go any further! We chose the road-facing Tiree room for its size and king-sized ziplock bed. It was airy, comfortable and very thoughtfully furnished and equipped.

The restaurant was well patronised by residents and guests alike; many awards and commendations over many years are proudly yet discreetly displayed in the dining room. The elegant dinner menu is both composed and cooked by Jo and we ordered scallops, steak and halibut, accompanied by Dave's recommendation of a lightly chilled red Sancerre. Everything was delicious and plentiful with chatty, pleasant service. We repaired to the conservatory with a variety of Tobermory whisky where lots more Scottish books and wildlife guides kept us happy.

On leaving the following day to catch the ferry to Ardnamurchan peninsula, we rather felt like we were departing a stay with favourite relatives. Both our hosts had been happy to chat and crack jokes and then just leave us in peace. This hotel is really intimate and welcoming and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is 'profiled' on their website to permit you to choose the most suitable. 'Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.3 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
429 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
87 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Cottage

Address: 24 Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Highland Cottage Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing