We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lucky find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Cottage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a lucky find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in mid June 2014. Our room was small but was perfectly formed, right down to the homemade shortbread bics to go with a drink, loved the honesty bar in the up stairs lounge. The food was excellent, perfectly cooked and served - try the Rusty Nail Pudding, Yum.
I recommend this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    18
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
93
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This really is a little gem of a place. Set back above the main street it is a short walk down to the harbour. The hosts David and Jo are delightful people who take a real pride in their establishment. The rooms are cosy and comfortable with a four poster bed in ours There is an excellent upstairs lounge for guests with an honesty bar.
What sets this place apart is the food it is spectacular. s one would expect the breakfast is good but the dinner is even better and excellent value at under £40 per head for three courses plus Jo's extra hors d'oeuvre and amuse bouche.We stayed or three nights and ate there everynight .
You will probably never meet nicer people running a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Highland Cottage in early June. It is a lovely, homely,
little place. Run by the owners, David & Jo. David looks after the guests and his wife Jo, cooks the food. Both do their tasks to the highest level. We booked this hotel based on its 2 AA rosette
rating and must say we were not disappointed. Jo's cooking is of the highest order, everything was delicious. The wine list was good too. We would highly recommend this lovely little hotel. We will definitely be back, if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turbotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is fine dining in Tobermory. We both had mussels followed by scallops, all of which were excellent. A very pleasant place to have a special celebration. The service was top class, which added to the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scothernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our group of travellers celebrated a birthday with dinner at Highland Cottage. The food was outstanding. I couldn't fault our meal. The wine list was small but well crafted. The dining room was charming. They also arranged an excellent birthday cake!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenbillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Not only did we get to stay overnight at Jo and David's wonderful B&B, we also got to eat Jo's cooking! I had to pinch myself to remember that we were not in a fancy five-star big-city restaurant. Jo cooks with flair, finesse, and creativity, even when she's got to satisfy the demands of a vegetarian diner. Everyone else at the table eyed my main course with more than a touch of envy. I did not offer to share.

David is a delightful host — well traveled, knowledgeable, and witty into the bargain. We enjoyed visiting with him while Jo was working her magic in the kitchen.

The accommodations were delightful as well. Clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated — and there were fully stocked bookshelves in our room and in the public areas! Despite having a room right on the street, we slept without any disturbances at all.

The Highland Cottage was one of the highlights of our two-week trip. If you have the opportunity to stay there, take it!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiggywinkle1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Well run small hotel . The Curries have built up their hotel over 17 years and it shows.
Personal attention to every detail and the menu can be amended at short notice to suit particular requirements. David is a fount of information regarding outings on the island and much else besides. Jo's cooking is accomplished in every aspect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.1 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Cottage

Property: Highland Cottage
Address: 24 Breadalbane Street, Tobermory PA75 6PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Highland Cottage Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing