We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay on Mull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Isles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We spend a most enjoyable few days on this magical island and the hotel was comfortable and well appointed. The food was excellent and service pleasant and efficient. Views from rooms and the restaurant were idyllic and we'd certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scotstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed three nights at this very comfortable hotel and enjoyed the restaurant breakfasts and evening meals. We had a lovely view of the harbour from our spacious room on the first floor. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is improving some of the rooms but this did not spoil our holiday in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for sea or harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Ate here in the conservatory one evening. They seemed slightly surprised someone should eat so late (8pm) but they seated and served us without a problem. The view is wonderful and worth eating here for that although the room was rather echoing (there were other people still eating too). The food was fine but nothing special.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 1 night and much improved on last stay 9 years ago. Room 3 - nice spacious double with superb sea view. Dinner very good with nice menu in dining room overlooking the bay. Staff very good especially as they took trouble to quickly clear best viewing tables rather than point guests to nearest available set table.
Lounge area and conservatory could be better but they are getting there.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gdnross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in the Western Isles Hotel in June 2011.The hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking Tobermory. The views from the bar are amazing. We had booked three rooms in the hotel. One of our party is disabled and finds it difficult to travel upstairs this made things difficult as the hotel had no lifts.The hotel placed him on the lowest room possible located on the first floor but due to the age of the building there was a lot of stairs to make it to the first floor. Our other rooms however were located on the third floor which with added suitcases made it a long walk to the top. One of the rooms was a harbor view but the view was out of a tiny window located in the corner of the room. The other looked out onto the car park. Reception informed us that this room had a leak in the ceiling but would be fine if it didn't rain but this being Scotland it did and soaked my clothes that were on the dressing table. Dinner wasn't much better the soup was nice but the mains let the hotel down the pork was dry and the veg overdone. For dessert we had cheesecake which was soggy and a cheese board that had a tiny amount of crackers on it. When we came down for dinner the manager directed us into the bar to have drinks before dinner as soon as our drinks arrived on the table a female waitress very rudely demanded that we go for dinner now despite the managers instructions. This waitress served us breakfast the following morning and continued her rude behavior. We found this behavior unacceptable. We informed the manager about our wet clothes and the fact that the roof leaked again he gave us that night in the hotel free but we think that there shouldn't be that many short comings with one hotel.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room and eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewer1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

every thing it says
delightful staff
comfortable rooms and good food cant wait till all the renovatoins are finnished
think this will be a we gem in the west of scotland

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Old hotel, full of character, sitting on a hill overlooking Tobermory. As mentioned in previous reviews it is undergoing a lengthy program of refurbishment and so some allowances should be made (or best to go somewhere else).
Our sea view room was wonderful – more like a suite – with 4 windows, loads of room and a large bathroom all overlooking Tobermory harbour. Bed was comfortable and everything we needed was to hand including complimentary bottled water replenished daily. Only drawback was that our room was on the top floor – 70 stairs and no lift! One of the lads schlepped our bags up for us without demur which was good. It was still a long hike up after breakfast and dinner but the view compensated somewhat.
There was a status report in the room folder regarding progress of the refurbishment which was interesting and helpful. The room was very clean and one made allowances for grouting etc showing its age.
The reception areas have plenty of charm and lovely views. A window seat in the dining room or conservatory has lovely views out over the harbour. The lounge is more of an inside room but very comfortable. They should be running tours of the gents’ loo inside the front door – it’s like a time capsule!
The staff were all friendly and hardworking and the food for dinner and breakfast was fine but little things niggled: our reservation being given away in error at dinner, having to eat off a tacky table in the conservatory, having to wait fifteen minutes to have our breakfast order taken when we were in a hurry. It made us wonder where the owners were – are they so caught up in their project that they neglect what is probably the most important part of their business – the evening trade? I would have thought that one of them might have been acting as maitre d’ to keep an eye on things and give the relatively inexperienced (but keen, friendly etc) staff the supervision they needed. With a little attention it good be a very good hotel instead of just good.
Would I return? I’m very happy to have stayed there and experienced Tobermory and Mull but once in this hotel was probably enough unless they pull up their socks.

Room Tip: worth paying to get a sea view but need to balanc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El_Timon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#3 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: £67 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing